We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cheap, very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Hotel Bologna
Ranked #87 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I had a reservation for only a night.My experience was realy good. It was a small price, and the breakfast was included. It is so near to the train station and the downtown of the city. There is a very good restaurant near of it (Il piccolo gambero). Th wrong thing was that at 0730 the administration turns off the conditioner air, without any reason.

Room Tip: The breafast was very good, the room are calm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmcuencaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hotel is just a short walk from the train station in a quite area & not so far from piazza maggiore. Staff were kind and helpful, room was comfortable and spacious, would be a bit dodgy if 2 persons had stayed in, on booking, prevent having the rooms close to the lift, i was exactly near it and every time it was called, i was woken up. Apart from that, id gladly recomend it.

Room Tip: as previously said, ask for rooms further away from lift..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kthg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The hotel is very well located, 5 minutes to the railway station- where the airport shuttle stops, but in fact Bologna is such a small city that everywhere is walking distance :). The room we had was in a separate building, in the courtyard of the hotel. Although it was not at basement, the feeling was exactly this : it was facing a parking of another building so they didn't put the window at the regular height, but much more higher-- we felt like we were in a basement, without natural light :)). The bathroom was a bit dirty in some places, with an antique shower. Would not go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the same building with the reception, not in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena-Viorela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Highly recommended! Everything was great in our apartment, starting with huge bed, clean and new bathroom and grat location. If you add tasty and varied breakfast, you get the perfect place to stay in Bologna!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loocasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I spent a night at this horrible hotel and absolutely regretted it. We were given the attic room. The only one which had not been renovated. Moreover this was a triple room not a double as we requested.

The hotel wasn't full so I don't know why we were put in that room. My qualms with the room were first we had to carry our heavy luggage up a flight of stairs to get to the attic. This was just a small issue. My major issue was the heating in the room.

It simply did not work!!! We had to call thrice to inform the staff about it. They kept telling us they would check it but never did. Finally after 30 minutes, I called and insisted they check it for us. The electrician who checked it assured us it would work. However, it never worked at all and it was freezing cold the whole night!

The staff at the hotel are horrible. I expected this as I read previous reviews with similar complaints. They are inefficient (due to the heating incident) and extremely inhospitable. When checking out, they simply took the key and city charge from us and completely ignored us after that. There was no word of thanks or goodbye.

All in all, do not stay here!!! It's not even worth half a star! Or if you still do, make sure you do not take the rooms on level 4!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Secondi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I would not recommend this hotel, I would suggest that you pay a bit more and stay somewhere else. The receptionist was rude and every day they turned the air con off at a central point for hours When I complained they shrugged their shoulders and said there was nothing they could do about it because it was on an automatic timer. This is a lie. It was funny how it was always freezing in the staff areas! It wasn't until I started speaking and complaining in Italian did they do something about it. From that point on the air con was not turned off 'automatically' and we had great air con all the time. I felt sorry for all the other guests who would have been hot and with no air con.

If you choose to stay here make sure that you get to the breakfast early because they run out of food quickly and do not top up the food very quickly if at all. The breakfast food is average but ok.

The location is ok if you want to be close to the train station but it is about a 15 min walk into the city centre. Don't bother to use the free bikes that they have because they are dangerous, the seats and the bike chains fall off and the brakes didn't work.

The furniture was old and worn but clean enough. The room was big but the shower and bathroom was small. Our room had a ludicrous excercise bike that was made out to be a feature of the room, it was even promoted to be a special bonus. It made a great rack to dry our clothes on.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whole-lotta-moxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

For a short stay in Bologna, and considering day trips into Pisa/Lucca, Venice, or traveling on north it is a great location. Short walk from the station with comfortable spacious rooms, very clean bathrooms, and rooms cleaned daily it is a great option. Few local eats locally but closed on Sunday/Monday, (only pizza places open). Staff are friendly. Breakfast is good and plentiful (breads, cold meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurt etc). Highly recommend for couples. Consider booking in advance on trenitalia to get promo fares to Venice if planning day trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Navile
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#71 of 102 in Bologna
214 reviews
Holiday Hotel
#63 of 102 in Bologna
571 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#30 of 102 in Bologna
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nuovo Hotel del Porto
#35 of 102 in Bologna
996 reviews
Porto
Millennhotel
Millennhotel
#74 of 102 in Bologna
788 reviews
Best Western City Hotel
#29 of 102 in Bologna
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Bologna

Address: Via Fratelli Rosselli 14, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range: £44 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astoria Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bologna Astoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing