We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No standard for Sheraton at all”
Review of Flyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flyon Hotel
Ranked #67 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“No standard for Sheraton at all”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at the hotel which is located back of the Bologna Airport but little far from the town and hotel provided shuttle bus service (the driver was very friendly)
First of all, once we arrived the hotel look abandon and very dirty place, the garden area is bad noone take care for years all rubbish around.

Checked in there is no one welcome at the door and I walked inside to the reception. The receptionest girl was horible no servicemind at all, we asked place to go or restaurant nearby hotel. She doesn't recommend any restaurant which actuually there was one very good restaurant nearby hotel.

Room is small but that was ok as I booked for standard room, no internet in room but provided at reception area. Once entered to the room you can forgot for Sheraton's name and though staying in local budget motel.

Restaurant in hotel was closed at 2pm I arrived and will open again at 7pm, during that you can order room sevice which charge extra 10Euros per person from the menu.
Forgot about minibar in the room, there was empty fridge really.. nothing in there, just 2 bottles of drinking water.

Well...Im sorry but i won't return to this Sheraton hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice_Ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    194
    193
    74
    50
See reviews for
43
115
50
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I do not normally give a 1 rating but the frustration was so high. Being a business traveler it is critical to have internet access. I talked to the front desk multiple times but unless you want to sit in the lobby you were out of luck.

Other than that critical item the rest was fine, I like the food and service in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the 4th floor, could hear people from the bar in your room until late night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Mike_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bologna hotels

Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

No Internet, no services, three people on staff, beat up facilities...better than a Motel 6 for airport overnight.

I stay in SPG hotels monthly. This is the worst one ever that I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world.

Simple suggestion: fire everyone. Gut the pig. Start over. Do better. This is a mess.

If you want to wallow in guano, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDaveed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

If you need to fly out early from Bologna this is your hotel. Shuttle service to & from the airport plus limited shuttle service into the center of the city. Perfect property with super great rates if you are willing to pre-pay your room. Have stayed here several times when the only connections leaving early were out of Bologna. The airport is also recently remodeled and runs very efficiently. Have also eaten at the hotel; food was very good. Will use this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

As other reviewers have said, this is a property ripe for redevelopment.

It is very close to the airport (pick the shuttle bus up just outside arrivals) and this is a good factor. The bathroom was clean, but just had that feel of an old place in need of a deep clean (tired flooring, mould stains on the ceiling)

Shower pressure was ok, but nothing amazing.

Staff were very helpful for a couple of requests and spoke and understood English well (phew!)

Note that the shuttle bus is likely to be full if you are on the first flight out. Taxi to the airport at 04:45 was €15.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iksloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

As the only real option near the airport for an early flight, I stayed there for one night. The best of all is their staff: professional, friendly and willing to help you; 10/10 for them. But the facilities are in desperate need of some investment: dirty old carpets in the halls, walls in need of some painting, dirty and old bathtubs. The breakfast was good, slightly above the average for this type of hotels. One more thing: if you want internet in your room it will cost you $19 Eur!!! The free wifi in the lobby works very well. My guess is that they are too complacent with themselves as there are not many options for someone who needs to be sleep close to the airport and the hotel seems to have high occupancy even with its problems.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Alberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIREZIONESHERATON, Direttore at Flyon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dera Guest,
thank you for your comments.
As I already mention on this site we are in the process of refurbishing the hotel.
I hope during your next stay everything will be 10/10.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

I booked a stay here for one night given my late arrival (after midnight) at Bologna airport. Unfortunately, the last hotel shuttle picks up at the airport around 11:30pm. Fortunately, it's a relatively quick taxi ride to the hotel, but cost me 11 euro.

There's nothing wrong with the hotel per se, it simply feels like it could use a bit of a refresh. The carpet in my room was frayed in multiple places. The fitness room did not have any towels or water available. The computers downstairs had such an old version of Internet Explorer installed that Gmail refused to load. And so on.

If you're looking for a convenient hotel by the airport, the Sheraton will certainly suffice. Just expect average.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank lunpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIREZIONESHERATON, Direttore at Flyon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments.
As a direct result the computer will be checked and upgraded as necessary.
we look forward to welcoming you back
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bologna
Borgo Panigale
Hotel Bologna Airport
Hotel Bologna Airport
#36 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Hotel Brianza
#2 of 3 in Calderara di Reno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Amadeus Hotel
#47 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo Panigale
Hotel Del Borgo
Hotel Del Borgo
#60 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Borgo Panigale
My One Hotel Bologna
My One Hotel Bologna
#28 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Savena
Best Western Plus Tower Hotel Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flyon Hotel

Property: Flyon Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Aeroporto 34/36, 40132 Bologna, Italy (Formerly Airport Palace Hotel Hotel & Conference Center)
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Flyon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Bologna Hotel And Conference Center
Sheraton Bologna Hotel Bologna
Bologna Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing