We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find and location”
Review of Al Cappello Rosso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Al Cappello Rosso
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great find and location”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Really nice, modern, comfortable hotel right off the Piazza Maggiore, we found it very convenient for exploring the city. Staff was helpful with taxis and dinner recommendations. Clean, all the amenities. Rooms, are somewhat small, but typical of city accommodations. 2 women checking in and they still give us a "matrimonial bed." lol In this room, you could not even maneuver the luggage around the bed. But we were able to change it to a twin and there was a bit more room to move. Nice tub and great shower. Nice breakfast buffet,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    297
    49
    15
    7
See reviews for
82
380
40
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

I expected more from the hotel because of the reviews. However the rooms are dated and small. Breakfast was ok. The location was great right in the city Center of Bologna.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank UGenya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

What a cute place! Friendly staff, modern decor, and very clean. Nice breakfast, too. We liked that it was off the main street, but very close to the main piazza.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments run by the hotel in the next building. Our Apartment was clean, small, equipped OK with a nice bed, wifi and large modern bathroom. The kitchen was really a hot plate built into a countertop and the refrigerator was a mini bar stocked with their items that was inconvenient for cooking or keeping leftovers. Now for the positives - the hotel and apartments are perfectly located. On a quiet street in a traffic restricted area 25 yards from the Piazza Maggiore. Right around the corner from shops, restaurants and from Sunday to Friday afternoon, very quiet. The negative - the apartments are located in a building with a partially covered center courtyard that has a couple of small shops and an Italian Coffee Shop/Bar. All week, the courtyard was quiet with only minor noise starting at 7am coming from the coffee shop. On Friday, the bar part takes over and from 3pm until 1am, it is filled with people, much noise, and pounding techno pop. We had to leave at 5am for the airport on Saturday and were not pleased with the disturbance. I know it is not the hotel's fault, but you need to be warned. We did not stay a Saturday night but could be the same. If we didn't have to leave, we might have gone down to the bar, sounded like people were really enjoying themselves!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M2hra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We loved the location and ease of access! It is located in a quiet street very near to one of the main squares.
Rooms were clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy, just what you need for a few days break. I suppose they could do with a bit of modernizing. Very nice bathroom and shower with all the necessities. It was lovely to be offered selection of teas and coffees in the room. Also very sweet gesture to leave little chocolates on the pillow every night.
Hotel in general looked very clean and cared for. Plenty of room in the nicely decorated lobby area.
Breakfast was not included when we booked so we ended up paying for it. To be honest with you it was a bit pricy for what it is! Still it was an easy option as we did not fancy looking for breakfast every morning. We found the breakfast very blend and repetitive. Everything was supermarket bought stuff, nothing thrilling at all.
Food in Bologna was absolutely fantastic so it was not a big deal to miss out on one mean!
Hotel stuff was extremely friendly, cheerful and proffessional. It was pleasing to come across such friendliness.
Overall, I would definetely stay in this hotel again. It is a lot more than a boutique hotel and offers a perfect stay in the heart of Bologna.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countmypearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amfissa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

the hotel is in the heart of the town, is renovated and so fine decorated.we stayed at the pink room and even is so in fashion i liked it too. The bathroom clean and spacious,the breakfast sufficient and fresh.Bologna is amazing town for having walks and enjoying the italian atmosfere. i think i will be back.many thanks to the staff that was so helpful and polite.

Room Tip: the pink room is ideal for fashionable persons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aXilleasKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

This review is rather late but better late than never! I stayed here in late August of last year. The hotel is very conveniently located and was beautifully cool during the very hot weather. We had continental breakfast every morning which was fairly standard.

The staff were excellent and we were provided with a plethora of literature about the city when we arrived, also we were able to buy our tickets for the bus to The Sanctuary of Madinna San Luca at reception.

The Little bar/restaurant attached to the hotel is delightful and we had dinner there one night which was excellent and we had a nightcap there most nights after coming in from other restaurants.

Stayed August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#8 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Art Hotel Orologio
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Cappello Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Cappello Rosso

Property: Al Cappello Rosso
Address: Via De' Fusari 9 | Piazza Maggiore, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#11 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Al Cappello Rosso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Cappello Rosso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Cappello Rosso Bologna
Al Cappello Rosso Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing