We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Al Cappello Rosso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Al Cappello Rosso
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This hotel was very nicely located in the center of Bologna. The rooms were very quaint and the hotel was a small and boutique feel. The staff was extremely helpful when we arrived late and was always willing to help when needed. This is a hotel that I would recommend for the location, service and kindness of the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    297
    48
    15
    7
See reviews for
81
379
40
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Decent but not high class, comfortable and well situated but not at the level it is recommended on Internet sites...
I had a upper class room reserved, non-smoking, including breakfast; my mistake, I arrived in the evening when the hotel was fully booked. It is quite clear that they rented everything and I get the last room, not the one I deserved.
The room was exactly the picture that was on their site describing the basic standard room (40% cheaper) and obviously not the one, upper range, I took from the picture... but the staff confirmed that was mine... Plastic bath, shower in the bath, painting not well done..not best bathroom I have seen. Air conditioning oriented straight on the bed (impossible to keep on during the night, feeling you sleep in the wind...)
Disturbing odour of smoking (that really annoyed me to the point it was difficult to fall asleep)...and simply a false surprise from the staff ... when the laminated floor in the room was an obvious sign that the room is usually dedicated to smokers... When I complained, they had a nice smile to tell me the hotel was full.
Minibar had been visited by somebody of their staff as some bottles were obviously opened, partly used and "refilled" with water. This happened again after they were changed, when only me and the cleaners had been in the room...
Despite all of this, and after I had my (included in the price)(very elementary) breakfast, I checked out recording them that I had some problems, I had to pay not only the full price of what I reserved (no compensations) but they charged me with the breakfast !!

There are lot of nice hotel around.
I recommend for example the "Hotel of Roma", just in front of Capello Rosso: cheaper and equally as good (my friends went there...)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We paid for a junior suite. If this is a junior suite, I'd hate to see a mere room. It was, in a word, small. there was a single window to the side overlooking a dank and smelly courtyard, so the room felt dark all the time. The furniture was laminate and cheap. The breakfast of a morning was often disorganised, with plates running out, dwindling food after 8.30 or 9, and a constant absence of either milk or butter. The reception staff was varied; one man was surly and disinterested, another with glasses and a beard was very good. Overall though, the reception seemed unable to assist with recommendations for tours etc, pointing instead to the tourist office as a default response.

On the upside, the housekeeping was excellent. Toiletries were replaced daily as were towels and our bed was beautifully made with fresh linen daily. However, our bed was so old that when you sat on one side, you almost rolled to the floor. As mentioned here by others, the hotel was really well placed and I could not have been happier with the location.

Overall this hotel could descend into shambles or a good general manager could whip it into shape in a budget cycle. But I could not recommend it on current levels. It was not poor, but barely OK for a four star.

Oh, and a tip: don't misrepresent a 'larger' room as a junior suite.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citikitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with well furnished rooms and - for Italy - a sensible breakfast. It is great fun to drive there by car, because you are allowed to use only few streets (and most of the streets are one way). So you have to have the map from the hotel to show you the way. The garage - they come with you after unloading - is very near, but because of the one way streets it's another sightseeing tour of the old center.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stayed at al Cappello rosso during a business trip to Bologna and I would never stay there again.The service was very bad and the room was small and dark.They overcharge me wihout offering anything back.There is no decent lounge area and the photos on the website are quite misleading.I would never recommend it to anyone
There are better hotels in the same location and much less expensive

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locandiera R, Direttore at Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissima signora Simona H, prendiamo atto di quanto da lei descritto con grandissimo rammarico e in seguito alle sue rimostranze ci teniamo a specificare quanto segue per lei e per i nostri futuri ospiti:

- Le foto pubblicate sul nostro sito e sulla nostra pagina web sono assolutamente corrispondenti alla realtà e potrà eventualmente verificare anche con le foto fatte da altri Ospiti proprio qui sul sito di Trip-Advisor;
- Al momento del check-out (la camera era già saldata in quanto non rimborsabile) le è stato chiesto il saldo della tassa di soggiorno che come specificato anche nella conferma da lei ricevuta è da saldarsi in loco alla partenza in quanto tassa comunale.
Le è stato chiesto inoltre il saldo relativo al pranzo per 2 persone consumato il giorno del suo arrivo al il nostro ristorante.
La disponibilità e la trasparenza rispetto ai costi che i nostri Ospiti devono affrontare sono fattori di primaria importanza per la nostra azienda e mai ci permetteremmo di fare pagare quello che non è dovuto o di comunicare all’ultimo momento eventuali sovrapprezzi per servizi non usufruiti o non richiesti: sarebbe scorretto e, al tempo del web 2.0, un pessimo strumento di marketing.

Speriamo pertanto di avere chiarito la nostra posizione e ripetiamo che siamo davvero dispiaciuti che non si sia sentita a suo agio con noi durante il suo soggiorno. Possiamo infine assicurarle che ci impegniamo quotidianamente per cercare di migliorare e che anche in questo caso terremo conto delle critiche che sono sempre costruttive e ci aiuteranno a fare ancora di più.

Cordialmente
Marianna, Yarno e Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My husband and I spent a two-night weekend at the Al Cappello Rosso just before Christmas. As mentioned, the location is excellent. We also appreciated the welcoming ambiance and the professional staff, who were friendly, helpful and multi-lingual. They gave us good restaurant recommendations and promptly made reservations and responded to other requests.

Our room was well appointed, clean and quiet, although it was difficult to walk around the bed if the other was sitting at the desk. But the bed was a very comfortable king. There was plenty of storage space and a drawer sized safe. Bathroom with modern furnishings and plenty of hot water.

Housekeeping was discreet and thorough. Breakfast was decent for Italy (go for the cappuccino, fruit salad and seeded croissants).

Overall an excellent stay--highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franco-americaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#8 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Art Hotel Orologio
#9 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Cappello Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Cappello Rosso

Property: Al Cappello Rosso
Address: Via De' Fusari 9 | Piazza Maggiore, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#11 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Al Cappello Rosso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Cappello Rosso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Cappello Rosso Bologna
Al Cappello Rosso Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing