We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool Rooms”
Review of Al Cappello Rosso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Al Cappello Rosso
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Each room in this hotel has a different theme and design. We stayed in one that decorated by graphic novel artists. Not only were there framed illustrations but there were also illustrations on the walls. It was quite neat. There was a "Click" drawn next to the light switch. The bed was comfortable, The bathroom was quite nice and the safe was big enough to fit our iPad. The front desk people were nice and quite helpful. The location was just off one of the main squares and near the main street running through Bologna. It was a nice place to stay and worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovinghusband2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely hotel ,all the staff were friendly and helpful ,the room was clean and comfortable.It is really well placed to all the places of interest and some great restaurants not to mention there own .brilliant breakfast would stay again no probs

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chas5058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is very close to the centre of Bologna so it is very convenient for sight seeing. The hotel itself is very comfortable. Our room was on first floor over reception. It was quite despite looking out over the side street in font of hotel and being opposite the lift. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked well the bathroom facilities were very good. My partner was particular enthused by the quality of bed linen and the fact it was changed everyday. My only complaint was the free WiFi. It worked in some parts of the hotel but not others and it responsiveness was often very poor in mornings and late evenings, probably due to it being overloaded. We did eat breakfast one day but felt it did not offer good value for us being vegetarians so had breakfast at nearby bars instead. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locandiera R, Direttore at Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Arjem,

we are so happy you had a nice stay at the hotel. It is wonderful to read such a great review, and we are particularly pleased about the linen: we changed it a few months ago, so you confirm it was a good choice.
As for the WIFI we have changed the provider and we will shortly be upgraded so that the line will be efficient during overload.
Thank you so much for pointing out about vegetarian breakfast: we will try to ameliorate the service, and please if you'd like to suggest some products we would really appreciate it.

We hope to welcome you soon.
Marianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We arrived in the city after a few hectic days sightseeing and travelling by train so were in need of some comfort when we arrived at the hotel. It was perfect! The reception was welcoming and the rooms very comfortable, the bonus being a pillow menu where you were able to select a different one if the one on the bed was not suitable. I chose a softer one and it was delivered to our room in a few minutes. The location of the hotel is fantastic and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Bologna.

Room Tip: Ask for a themed room as they make your stay a bit more special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suec716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locandiera R, Direttore at Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Suec716,

wow! What a wonderful review.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for what you say about the comfort.
We are pleased you noticed the pillow menu (which is present in every room) because we take good care in the quality of the sleep for our guests.

We hope you will come back and visit us soon.
Marianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay here. We loved it! We stayed in the SHOCK PINK room, which was really quirky. The hotel is in a great location right next to the square.
All of the staff were really friendly and helpful. It was a bonus to get free wifi in the rooms too.
We didnt'nt eat in the restaurant, however the breakfast choice was good. We will definately be returning in the future.

Room Tip: We had the Shock Pink room and loved it, there are other unusual rooms to.! Makes you intrigued to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

we booked a family room and only upon checking in found out that the room was actually an apartment to a nearby private building therefore I can't really rate the hotel except for the breakfast which was good.
The apartment itself was nice and clean and even had a kitchen area (who in his sane mind would actually cook in the hotel room while visiting one of the food capitals of the world?), i just think we should have been told beforehand that we were not going to stay within the hotel property.
Location is very good as mentioned in many other reviews. Unless you have a Smart car or any other tiny car I wouldn't recommend using the parking as it is in a basement and parking here would be one of the most challenging parking you have ever attempted.
Staff was nice so overall this property is good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locandiera R, Front Office Manager at Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Mr Francesco,

thanks for the review and for the compliments to the staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
As for the fact that you did not know the apartment was in a nearby building, we had clearly stated both during the phone calls and by email (you can also check the email I sent on 5th June) that the apartment was outside the hotel. The reservation was made directly and in Italian and so we never talked about a “family room” (also because we do not have family rooms!)
What you write then is a bit of a disappointment to us because we always take good care to describe our rooms and apartments clearly.
As for the parking, being in the heart of a medieval city almost all of the spaces are in the basement, and some are small, but we all the same consider it a great plus to be able to park in the city centre!
Thanks again and we hope you will come back and stay in the hotel rooms (for families we have intercommunicating rooms – but they were not available during your stay as clearly stated on the phone).
Deborah – Front Office Manager - Hotel Al Cappello Rosso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lovely hotel in the heart of bologna. Helpful reception with nice bar restaurant next door.very close to all major attractions and great restaurants. Free wifi and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms.didnt have breakfast but enjoyed bar next door with good selection of wine

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmhMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#9 of 102 in Bologna
1,570 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
913 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Commercianti
#12 of 102 in Bologna
546 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Cappello Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Cappello Rosso

Address: Via De' Fusari 9 | Piazza Maggiore, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#11 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £107 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Al Cappello Rosso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Cappello Rosso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Cappello Rosso Bologna
Al Cappello Rosso Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing