We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close in, elegant, convenient & hospitable.”
Review of Al Cappello Rosso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Al Cappello Rosso
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very central, convenient location, everything you'd need within easy walking distance. My "room" turned out to be a whole apartment, larger than my California home! Large bedroom, bathroom, full kitchen, 2 dining spaces, large living room. Pay the extra 10 euros for lovely hot breakfast buffet in hotel cafe! Staff extremely helpful & multilingual. Hotel was closing for week of remodeling last week of July...didn't see much need for remodel of my space! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingoink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
There are newer reviews for Al Cappello Rosso
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We found The Al Cappello Rosso whilst searching for a hotel in Bologna, for our Honeymoon. Not knowing anything about Bologna beyond the Tourist information, we chose the hotel based on it's vicinity to the main square (Piazza Maggiore) and the themed bedrooms/suites.
When we arrived in Bololgna we immediately had 'lost' luggage issues. The staff at the hotel helped us resolve this and had out luggage to us within 12 hours. Our bedroom was based on a typewriter (to my knowledge it was designed by local artists to coincide with a festival, that had passed by the time we arrived.)
Breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant which was located just to the right of reception. The food was entirely continental, with no hint of British influence (not a complaint, I was happy for the change!) coffee was made fresh to order; including the beans being ground FRESHLY. The serving staff were brilliant and although very professional, they gave a warm, personal service; like you were a regular.
What was quite novel is the elevator floor changed daily and the fresh floor mat had the day printed on it.
All in all, my wife and I were very happy. The service, the location & the memories made.

On a side note, the restaurant of an evening is also open. The food is fresh and packed with those authentic flavours that the restaurants in the UK can only dream about recreating. They also serve Birra Ronzani. A locally brewed blonde beer, in a tall brown bottle. By far, the single greatest italian beer.

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in the Olivetti room and it was much better that the one which we had been booked in at a greater price as although smaller it had natural light, rather than being under the eaves.
Staff were helpful but one did not like the comments I made about our difficulties getting there by car from the airport as directions on the website did not start so far away and city centre driving is highly regulated. Hopefully directions from the airport will now be included on the website, or advice given to go by taxi and then go back to the airport if necessary to pick up a car rental and continue trip around Italy. Altogether the cost may work out as garage cost would be saved too.
Nice breakfast and helpful staff, but some international newspapers rather than purely italian one would be welcome for this quality of hotel.

Room Tip: wifi is rather erratic and not readily available in rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BrigitteM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked for a night in the apartment from Expedia. No info provided when booking to advise that the apartment is actually in separate building to the hotel - until we receive the email confirmation (after paying) Very disappointed upon arrival to find that the apartment is quite a walk away from the main hotel, in a totally separate building where you feel completely stripped away of any luxury atmosphere that a four star hotel is meant to offer. Poorly lit staircase and elevator, then greeted by an underwhelming apartment equipped with cheap furnitures, dusty thick curtains and a mouldy smelling poorly lit bathroom.
Did I mention wifi password provided is 30 characters long of impossible string of upper/lower case alphabets and numbers?
Reception was helpful in swapping us to a room in the main hotel at a cost for the junior suite.
We settled in quickly until the bath started leaking and water pressure playing up.
All in all, hotel staff resolved the issues efficiently but the quality of room is definitely NOT four star quality.
The apartment advertised is misleading and definitely should not be the same price as a room in the hotel.



Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank paplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locandiera R, Direttore at Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Mr Paplow,

first of all thank you for the review.
We are sorry that you did not have all the infos upon reservation. We have already asked Expedia to solve the problem with the apartments' descriptions: they have some setting problems that they will try to overcome so as to make the description more complete. We really care about giving all the infos and if you check our website you can see that everything is stated very clearly.
The password was very long because we had just changed the wifi system. We changed all the passwords since then so that now they all are more simple.
As for the rooms in the hotel, we showed you both a Theme room and a junior suite. To overcome the fact that you did not like the apartment we did not charge you the full price for the junior suite.
We hope you will come back and see you soon to leave you a better memory of the hotel.

Kind regards
Marianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Each room in this hotel has a different theme and design. We stayed in one that decorated by graphic novel artists. Not only were there framed illustrations but there were also illustrations on the walls. It was quite neat. There was a "Click" drawn next to the light switch. The bed was comfortable, The bathroom was quite nice and the safe was big enough to fit our iPad. The front desk people were nice and quite helpful. The location was just off one of the main squares and near the main street running through Bologna. It was a nice place to stay and worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovinghusband2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely hotel ,all the staff were friendly and helpful ,the room was clean and comfortable.It is really well placed to all the places of interest and some great restaurants not to mention there own .brilliant breakfast would stay again no probs

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chas5058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is very close to the centre of Bologna so it is very convenient for sight seeing. The hotel itself is very comfortable. Our room was on first floor over reception. It was quite despite looking out over the side street in font of hotel and being opposite the lift. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked well the bathroom facilities were very good. My partner was particular enthused by the quality of bed linen and the fact it was changed everyday. My only complaint was the free WiFi. It worked in some parts of the hotel but not others and it responsiveness was often very poor in mornings and late evenings, probably due to it being overloaded. We did eat breakfast one day but felt it did not offer good value for us being vegetarians so had breakfast at nearby bars instead. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locandiera R, Direttore at Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Arjem,

we are so happy you had a nice stay at the hotel. It is wonderful to read such a great review, and we are particularly pleased about the linen: we changed it a few months ago, so you confirm it was a good choice.
As for the WIFI we have changed the provider and we will shortly be upgraded so that the line will be efficient during overload.
Thank you so much for pointing out about vegetarian breakfast: we will try to ameliorate the service, and please if you'd like to suggest some products we would really appreciate it.

We hope to welcome you soon.
Marianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
885 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Commercianti
#13 of 102 in Bologna
524 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,471 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Cappello Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Cappello Rosso

Address: Via De' Fusari 9 | Piazza Maggiore, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#11 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £118 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Al Cappello Rosso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Al Cappello Rosso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Cappello Rosso Bologna
Al Cappello Rosso Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing