We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, relaxing, and close to everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Cappello Rosso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Al Cappello Rosso
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing, and close to everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We decided to spend two days in Bologna at the end of our trip but had no great expectations - so we were enormously surprised and pleased with the city - no crowds, amazing restaurants, unique shopping (more than the usual international chain stores), interesting historical sights. What made our time especially wonderful was this hotel. Al Capello Rossi is small enough that we got individual attention, recommending superb restaurants (after talking with us about what we liked) and making reservations, providing advice and answering all our questions. Also, I am severely allergic to cigarette smoke, and the previous guest has smoked in the room - they immediately moved me to another room and apologized profusely, explaining that some guest have still not accepted the non-smoking laws.

The location was perfect - in the old section of the city so we could walk everywhere. Each morning we ate breakfast in the attached small restaurant - the buffet was absolutely delicious with good selection. The room was lovely and well appointed with a large comfortable bed. Everything about this hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    288
    47
    15
    6
See reviews for
79
370
39
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

What a delightful hotel! Each room a unique little jewel - we were in the BILBOLBUL room - clean neat & comfortable. The hotel is just a quick walk to the Piazza Maggiore. The staff was incredibly helpful (big shout out to Yarno). Their restaurant is small but packs a terrific breakfast (heard from other guests that dinner there was quite good as well). Would certainly stay again, just to try another room!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adpm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Mass
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This staff handled everything from room change to umbrellas to wheelchair for my elderly father with care.

Great location steps from piazza maggiore.

Not for people looking for nice lobby and front desk. This is slightly awkward space with odd contemporary furnishings.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaoMarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very central, convenient location, everything you'd need within easy walking distance. My "room" turned out to be a whole apartment, larger than my California home! Large bedroom, bathroom, full kitchen, 2 dining spaces, large living room. Pay the extra 10 euros for lovely hot breakfast buffet in hotel cafe! Staff extremely helpful & multilingual. Hotel was closing for week of remodeling last week of July...didn't see much need for remodel of my space! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingoink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We found The Al Cappello Rosso whilst searching for a hotel in Bologna, for our Honeymoon. Not knowing anything about Bologna beyond the Tourist information, we chose the hotel based on it's vicinity to the main square (Piazza Maggiore) and the themed bedrooms/suites.
When we arrived in Bololgna we immediately had 'lost' luggage issues. The staff at the hotel helped us resolve this and had out luggage to us within 12 hours. Our bedroom was based on a typewriter (to my knowledge it was designed by local artists to coincide with a festival, that had passed by the time we arrived.)
Breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant which was located just to the right of reception. The food was entirely continental, with no hint of British influence (not a complaint, I was happy for the change!) coffee was made fresh to order; including the beans being ground FRESHLY. The serving staff were brilliant and although very professional, they gave a warm, personal service; like you were a regular.
What was quite novel is the elevator floor changed daily and the fresh floor mat had the day printed on it.
All in all, my wife and I were very happy. The service, the location & the memories made.

On a side note, the restaurant of an evening is also open. The food is fresh and packed with those authentic flavours that the restaurants in the UK can only dream about recreating. They also serve Birra Ronzani. A locally brewed blonde beer, in a tall brown bottle. By far, the single greatest italian beer.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in the Olivetti room and it was much better that the one which we had been booked in at a greater price as although smaller it had natural light, rather than being under the eaves.
Staff were helpful but one did not like the comments I made about our difficulties getting there by car from the airport as directions on the website did not start so far away and city centre driving is highly regulated. Hopefully directions from the airport will now be included on the website, or advice given to go by taxi and then go back to the airport if necessary to pick up a car rental and continue trip around Italy. Altogether the cost may work out as garage cost would be saved too.
Nice breakfast and helpful staff, but some international newspapers rather than purely italian one would be welcome for this quality of hotel.

Room Tip: wifi is rather erratic and not readily available in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigitteM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Booked for a night in the apartment from Expedia. No info provided when booking to advise that the apartment is actually in separate building to the hotel - until we receive the email confirmation (after paying) Very disappointed upon arrival to find that the apartment is quite a walk away from the main hotel, in a totally separate building where you feel completely stripped away of any luxury atmosphere that a four star hotel is meant to offer. Poorly lit staircase and elevator, then greeted by an underwhelming apartment equipped with cheap furnitures, dusty thick curtains and a mouldy smelling poorly lit bathroom.
Did I mention wifi password provided is 30 characters long of impossible string of upper/lower case alphabets and numbers?
Reception was helpful in swapping us to a room in the main hotel at a cost for the junior suite.
We settled in quickly until the bath started leaking and water pressure playing up.
All in all, hotel staff resolved the issues efficiently but the quality of room is definitely NOT four star quality.
The apartment advertised is misleading and definitely should not be the same price as a room in the hotel.



Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locandiera R, Direttore at Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mr Paplow,

first of all thank you for the review.
We are sorry that you did not have all the infos upon reservation. We have already asked Expedia to solve the problem with the apartments' descriptions: they have some setting problems that they will try to overcome so as to make the description more complete. We really care about giving all the infos and if you check our website you can see that everything is stated very clearly.
The password was very long because we had just changed the wifi system. We changed all the passwords since then so that now they all are more simple.
As for the rooms in the hotel, we showed you both a Theme room and a junior suite. To overcome the fact that you did not like the apartment we did not charge you the full price for the junior suite.
We hope you will come back and see you soon to leave you a better memory of the hotel.

Kind regards
Marianna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Commercianti
#8 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Cappello Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Cappello Rosso

Property: Al Cappello Rosso
Address: Via De' Fusari 9 | Piazza Maggiore, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#11 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Al Cappello Rosso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Al Cappello Rosso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Cappello Rosso Bologna
Al Cappello Rosso Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing