We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent week in Bologna”
Review of Hotel Accademia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Accademia
Ranked #46 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent week in Bologna”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Accademia at the end of May for 7 nights. Beautiful room but about an hour after we arrived the A/C died. Maintenance couldn't fix it so we changed rooms to another nice room, although without a carpet. Very professional. Desk staff pleasant and knowledgeable and able to easily accommodate small requests like early breakfast when we had an early pickup. Excellent breakfast buffet - meats, cheese, bread, toaster, jams/jellies, prunes, sweet and savory pastries, cereal selection, 3 juices and milk. Several coffee styles to order. Only warning is on Fri & Sat, people on the streets in this neighborhood are LOUD until very late (it's near the University) but other nights were very quiet. Walking distance to everything; less than 10 minutes to the towers. Excellent restaurant down the street (Trattoria Belle Arte at #14 Via Belle Arte - ask to sit in the garden)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Direttore generale at Hotel Accademia, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I am really glad to read You enjoyed Your stay in our hotel and for having described the quality and richness of our complimentary breakfast, suitable for any taste, with plenty of selection of products, fresh food and hot drinks served at the moment by our staff. We hope to host You again soon in occasion of Your next visit in Bologna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    202
    95
    18
    8
See reviews for
82
138
43
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I booked for 3 nights for a weekend break. Easy walk from bus stop for BLQ route from airport, €6 each way.

I booked a single room, and the bed was about 4 feet wide, so very comfortable and roomy. Clean, good bed linen, towels thin (more like tea cloth material) but spotless and did the job. Small fridge, desk. Double windows with external shutters to keep the heat out. Very good 4 piece bathroom; loo, bidet, basin and a really large shower enclosure so you don't bark your elbows turning. Good water pressure, a bit fiddle to get right temperature. Excellent wifi. Really good aircon - effective, remote control, and quiet enough to leave on and get to sleep. No lift, but low rise staircase so easy climb. Bag storage for late checkout/early arrival. Unfailingly pleasant and helpful desk staff.

Breakfast buffet, no hot dishes but enough to set you up for the day. No vacuum flasks of stewed coffee - someone takes your order, makes it fresh and brings it to your table!

Nice courtyard with chars, table and ashtray under a colonnade for after breakfast coffee for smokers, out of the way of non-smokers.

5 minute walk, 10 minute saunter from two towers/piazza maggiore. Plenty of local bars and restaurants - there is a restaurant next door which does a €13 two course lunch, and damn fine it is too.

Would make this my first choice for a return visit.

Yes, the students can be a bit noisy at night, but hey - this is Italy! Go with the flow, and embrace the vitality of local life.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Direttore generale at Hotel Accademia, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank You for having described with such a detailed description our service, location and establishment. I am really glad to read you enjoyed Your stay in our hotel and that it will be Your first choice for a return visit. We look forward to hosting You again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nice hotel, very well restaurated. Big rooms. Super welcome, very kind and helpful personnel doing their best to help you at any moment. Good location near the city center and many excellent restaurants. Free wifi access available for everybody. I really recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side of the hotel (side of Via del borgo di san pietro) At the front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Direttore generale at Hotel Accademia, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank You for having so well resumed and appreciated our service, location and our staff.
We 'll look forward to hosting You in occasion of Your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barga, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We came to Bologna to see the exhibition " the girl with the pearl earring" about the Dutch Golden Age. The city centre was crowded with tourists. I would normally rate this hotel as Very Good, had it not been for two irritating issues: the noise in the street at night (students partying and drinking and singing in the street until the early hours of the morning - la movida - as it is sometimes called by Italians) and the odour of gutter in our bathroom.
I discussed both problems with the receptionist -a very friendly young lady- who assured me that the movida is a known problem in this part of town, but is limited to the weekend (Friday and Saturday night) and only in the spring season (students are gone in the Summer recess, and in the winter it's too cold to be outdoors). Another solution is to ask for a room facing the courtyard. As far as the stench in the bathroom goes, I was assured that this is a temporary problem specific to this room, and that it is being solved.
So I do want to recommend this Hotel, yet I suggest that during spring weekends you ask for a courtyard room!
The staff has been very helpful, telling us where to find a good restaurant away from tourist traps, where to park the car for 9 EUR FOR 24 hours, what to see in Bologna (dont miss the SETTE CHIESE at Santo Stefano, ...). The room was clean and spacious, breakfast good and the location ideal even if you come by car!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the couryard to avoid the movida during weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pietro b b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Direttore generale at Hotel Accademia, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank You for the time spent in reviewing my hotel and I am glad to read You enjoyed Your stay. We will be glad to send You our best offer for a Superior room facing the inner courtyard for Your next visit in our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorient, France
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant comfortable hotel. Ideal for the university, but nicely close to the historic centre. It is an easy stroll from the station. No lift, but that is not really an inconvenience. Good cappuccino at breakfast. Some nice restaurants in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GCW56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I stazed on this hotel on a Saturday night. The hotel has been booked through Internet. The price was not particularly low but OK. Room was nice and relatively spacious, hotel staff friendly and breakfast quite good. Street below was quite noisy on Saturday (it is close to University) but with the window closed level of noise was acceptable. Wifi is free and available also inside the room. On the less positive side, the towels in the bathroom were few and small (I could have asked for more but I was rather in a rush); also when taking a shower I had to leave the tap open for a while before getting hot water.
Apart for this it was a goop experience for 1 night stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank maury001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I visit Italy regularly for three or four weeks at a time. I had visited Bologna but never stayed. Last Autumn I spent 10 days at this Hotel. Very clean and comfortable rooms. A very good buffet breakfast. The staff were so pleasant and helpful they could not do enough for us. They booked taxis and even helped us to visit a very good Pharmacy when my (disabled) father needed some medication. The owner is a delightful lady who talks to all her guests at
breakfast and her recommendations for eating both in Bologna and the surrounding cities are excellent. I look forward to staying here again and can recommend it as a very well centrally placed hotel for this city.

Room Tip: If you dislike the sounds of an Italian city in the evening then ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
University Hotel
#93 of 103 in Bologna
303 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#31 of 103 in Bologna
261 reviews
San Vitale
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 103 in Bologna
453 reviews
Porto
BuonHotel
BuonHotel
#43 of 103 in Bologna
252 reviews
Hotel Internazionale
#27 of 103 in Bologna
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Accademia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Accademia

Property: Hotel Accademia
Address: Via delle Belle Arti 6, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Accademia 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Accademia is located in the heart of the historical centre town, a few meters from Piazza Maggiore, the main square, and the central rail way station. Nearby the University area and a few kilometers far from the Fiera District and from the Guglielmo Marconi Airport (BLQ).Provided with 28 comfortable rooms, all of them equipped with air conditioner, satellite television, mini-bar, telephone, hairdryer, noiseless double glasses windows and wifi. At disposal of our guests our private car parking and the possibility to access to the ZTL (limited traffic area). Our 24 hour staff will be glad to satisfy all your requests to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Accademia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accademia Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing