We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful hotel, but...”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #29 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very beautiful hotel, but...”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The hotel is in the central area of Bologne, although the small road it's situated on is a bit hard to find. It's on the top floor of a residence building, and the hotel itself is very beautiful, just as the pictures show. The room is spacious and beautiful too, overlooking city sceneries. Bathroom is spacious, spotlessly clean, even the curtain is pretty. In the morning, you can have a tray of breakfast in your room. Everything is great but...seems the people are a bit distant. I'm not sure if that's because I'm Asian, they showed that kind of look as if I were from another planet, or maybe I don't speak Italien like all other guests do? I encountered several women living in this building when I tried to open the elevator, the look on their face was definitely alarming and not a bit friendly...It's really a pity because I like the Toscany area a lot...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeyondRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    96
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
68
43
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Great experience- We stayed 1 night at the hotel Panorama in a big double room with a wonderful view of the "Colli Bolognesi". The hotel is equipped with wi-fi and ac though has only 3 bathroom for all the guests. Sharing bathrooms wasn't a problem at all because they were perfectly clean and fresh. The staff is the value-added component of the hotel, they are super friendly and always ready to satisfy any request therefore making your stay at the hotel a enjoyable experience. The breakfast is served every morning in the lobby and is very rich, different kinds of fruits are served as well as croissants, orange juice, youghurts, nutella, tea and coffee. I would stay in this hotel again. A+

Room Tip: Central, value for money, friendly staff, clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Great value of this place just off of the main street and walking distance to Piazza Maggiore. Sort of tough to locate, even though it is right 'downtown'. The hosts do not speak English and occasionally you can hear them arguing in Italian to each other; however, it is somewhat charming. Decent breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had 4 nights at Hotel Panorama in a massive 4 bed family room. The staff are lovely, the hotel is spotless and even though there was no bathroom in our room (there was a sink) we never had to wait to use one of the 3 communal bathrooms which were always perfectly clean. Our room faced towards the road so was a little noisy but the location of the hotel, the helpfulness of the staff and our overall experience at Hotel Panorama made up for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
None, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a spacious double room. Sharing a Bathroom is never a hassle -- the facility is really really clean. Thank you so much for the house-cleaning/maintenance team and the decency of all fellow travelers. Breakfast was great -- Fuji Apple, Banana, Croissant and other Pastries, yogurt are the staples. There is a machine that can make caffe, cappuccino, and caffe lungo and the like at your service. I tried the host Lisa's mama home-made cake one morning -- it was delizioso.

Our room offers a nice view of the city -- we saw birds hovering around and a colorful garden downstairs. It was quite most of the time -- only occasional loud bang of door and walking down the common corridor by some absent-minded guests.

Our host, Lisa, was warm, friendly and very helpful. Her tips on where to eat were spot-on. All ladies at this fine hotel were really friendly and nice -- despite I basically have no command of Italian language, only able to recognize a limited set of expressions, we chatted with an old lady in Italian and she spoke to us. (I finally realized my class of Latin roots in English Vocabs class paid off.) I wish it would have offered free wifi at the hotel, it would have made the trip easier. But the upside was I enjoyed my vacation even more without surfing in the cyberspace. Did I mention the hotel is off the main streets Via Ugo Bassi and Via Dell' Indipendenza? Ugo Bassi which becomes Via Rizzoli is a nice pedestrian only zone on the weekend that I stayed at Bologna (I suspected it would restrict car traffic on special occasions, weekends, or both.) That is a nice place for sauntering. I would recommend you visit the local library at Piazza Maggiore, which is sitting on top of an ancient roman ruins where you can visit on a voluntary donation. I love it there -- some reading in solitude and quietness after fun exploring of the city. All in all it was a wonderful stay and great value for money. Thank you so much for Lisa, Lisa's mama, Mei Ling (I apologize if I get your name wrong), and the sweet old lady who chats with us -- you made our time at Bologna memorable and fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksumserg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I had to stay in Bologna an extra day because my bags didn't make it on the same plane as me. The tourist information desk at the Bologna airport recommended this hotel and I was more than pleased. The location was excellent - in the middle of the old town and you can walk to everything. The room was spacious and even had a sink. The shared bathrooms were very clean and the staff was excellent. My only complaint was the noise from the street and early morning construction, but it wasn't too bad. If I go back to Bologna I will most certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights here and found it more than adequate for our stay. It's a family run place and very homey. The rooms are very large, and we got a room with a private bathroom for 65 euros a night, which was an unbeatable deal with the hotel being so close to the main piazza. The rooms were also very clean. Breakfast was Italian style with croissants, toast, and spreads. When you walk into the lobby, make sure you take the elevator just to the right of the stairs when you walk it. It's easy to miss if you don't know what to look for - it's a old style elevator where you have to manually open and close the doors, but it works. If you miss it, you'll have to climb up 4 flights of stairs.

The owner lady doesn't speak too much English but the daughter Lisa can, although both are very helpful. It's around a 5 min taxi ride from the train station which is useful if you dont want to lug your luggage with you. They no longer have free wi-fi, although it's still affordable at 3 euros for 24 hours. However, there is free internet at the Sala Borsa (library) near the PIazza Maggiore.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCTH_PhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Albergo Centrale
#21 of 103 in Bologna
681 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#6 of 103 in Bologna
432 reviews
Porto
BuonHotel
BuonHotel
#36 of 103 in Bologna
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Elite
#48 of 103 in Bologna
1,183 reviews
San Vitale
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#13 of 103 in Bologna
731 reviews
San Vitale
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Livraghi 1 | Adiacente Piazza Maggiore, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Panorama Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi and rooms with an LCD TV, Hotel Panorama with only 10 rooms and family run but Multilingual occupies a central position, just 2 streets from Piazza Maggiore. Rooms have a classic design and feature parquet floors and a private bathroom or shared. Some are equipped with air conditioning and views of the hills. The Hotel Panorama is located in a restricted traffic zone and offers discounts for a nearby car park. The hotel is also 500 meters from the Basilica of San Petronio and the Two Towers, the symbol of the City. We are four bus stops (line 25) from the train station, it stops just by our building as well as the Aerobus runs every 15 minutes from the airport to the city center. All lines of City bus have a stop in Via Ugo Bassi, adjacent to the hotel. We remind you that Bologna is a city of arcades, in the center there are 40 km and give you opportunities for walking even in bad weather. Centrally in the city, just 300 meters from Piazza Maggiore and the Two Towers, the symbol of our city. We are in the museum area, some even in the open, spread throughout the center. Within a radius of five hundred meters away we can count more than 40 restaurants, to suit all needs, as well as some cheap fast food, more elegant. There are also two distinctive markets. Movies, local entertainment and shopping area are all around us. The oldest university in Europe is just 600 meters away Check-in is from 7 to 21 and check-out from 7 to 11am , the input and the output from the hotel is free at any time of the day or night. It offered customers a free catering is available 24 hours where you can enjoy hot drinks such as coffee, tea, hot chocolate, served also dry biscuits and fruit. The rooms are cleaned daily as well as the change of towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing