We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but basic”
Review of Zanhotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zanhotel Regina
Ranked #89 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Located half-way from the main train station and the main piazza, which was great. The room was small and basic, the bathroom, tiny tiny. Everything was clean though. Staff were okay, one receptionist in particular was lovely but the others were a bit unfriendly. We had to take breakfast in the adjoining 4 star hotel, it wasn't great. Overall, a functional central hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunzerDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Pros:
Located at 5min walking distance from the Piazza Magiore.
Attentive personnel

Cons:
Double room was small. Almost no space to walk around the bed.
Carpet and walls start to need a refurbishing.
Paid WiFi with one hour free access.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I don't recommend staying here. The room I stayed in was dusty -- including spider webs. The heater was very loud. The shower was the smallest one I have every experienced in my travels and leaked onto the bathroom floor every time it was used.

One of the electrical outlets blew while I was staying here as well. I initially thought it was the light bulb and told a member of the house keeping staff. When I returned I saw the lamp was plugged in a different outlet. I tested the initial one and it didn't work.

The most disappointing thing though was we had someone at the front desk call Ristorante Diana to see if we needed a reservation. We were told no reservation was needed. Our last night there we went to Ristorante Diana only to discover a reservation was necessary.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not the best around town. The breakfast is great, but the room and the overal cleanest is not that gread. The low price and the prime location make it perfect for a cheap 1 night stay in Bologna.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polys_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Booked the Regina for a 1 night stay in Bologna, we live locally but wanted to spend the night in the city without worrying out getting catching the last train home.

We received a professional welcome from the male receptionist – who gave us the card to our room. After arriving on the 3rd floor the room was made up as a double – we had requested a twin room. We were then given another room on 4th floor – but found that the room was not ready. We then left our cases at reception and went for lunch. After we returned the room was clean, tidy and overlooked roof tops, there was no noise from the main street. The air conditioning did not really work and was very noisy at high speed. The bathroom was a reasonable size but the shower cubicle was tiny – with the shower attachment well overdue for changing. We slept with the window open and got little sleep due to the warm night.

Breakfast was served on the ground floor and we arrived at 9.15 am to find just one table in the room was clean all others were occupied or littered with dirty crockery. The breakfast offer was pretty good but the stocks had been allowed to run down – so tinned fruit, cheese, ham and only a few pastries remained plus many types of dried biscuits. The waitress on the cafe bar provided hot coffee and also a few extra pastries but as more guests entered the breakfast room – they were forced to clear the tables to sit down. A change of shift then took place with the older waitress finishing and the new younger waitress taking over at 10.00 am. She then cleared the tables and replenished all of the food items. A shame as breakfast stopped at 10.00 am and many guests had left. We left promptly at 11.30 am and the receptionist was happy to keep our cases until we returned later in the day to catch our train.

We have stayed at Regina before and know that it is not the best hotel but price V location and it is pretty hard to beat. We paid €60.00 including breakfast online plus tourist tax of €3. You will pay approx €20.00 more for Tre Vecchi next door and the standard is not much better although they call it a 4 star. Regina hotel is well over due for an overhaul of it’s interiors and some of it’s staff.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the main street - which can be very noisey. If you are booking for Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ianthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Like most buildings in Italy the hotel is not new, so don't expect a shiny new environment. The facilities are not spotless, but they are adequate. The complementary breakfast had a good variety, but not always the freshest. However, for the price, you really can't beat the location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rozanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Our rooms were incredible hot. The air-condition from the 80's clearly didn't work so our rooms held a temperature of 30 degrees all day and night, it was almost impossible to sleep. We couldn't open our windows because of the traffic outside and could not have the air-condition on full speed cause then it sounded like an diesel aggregate. In the morning when going to breakfast not a single "Hello" or "Good morning" was uttered from the staff, they did not even look at you. The breakfast hall was small and the food was simple, only cheese, ham and bread rolls. Almost all the tables were not cleaned from previous guests.
When checking out we told about the defect air-condition and the receptionist just shrugged his shoulders. The price was 84 euro per person, per night + city tax. They did not thank us for the stay, or welcome us back. All in all this is a terrible hotel, with an unwelcoming staff, and we would not recommend this to anybody. And surely we will never come back there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Zanhotel Tre Vecchi
Zanhotel Tre Vecchi
#59 of 102 in Bologna
705 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
497 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Bologna De La Gare
#38 of 102 in Bologna
1,655 reviews
Hotel Europa
#55 of 102 in Bologna
545 reviews
Porto
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#85 of 102 in Bologna
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanhotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanhotel Regina

Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 51, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range: £280 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zanhotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zanhotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanhotel Regina Bologna
Zanhotel Regina Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing