We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprised”
Review of University Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
University Hotel
Ranked #92 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I had booked a place and hate it and I went online to search for a place to stay, I came across this hotel and I loved it. I did not like the road leading to the hotel but when I got here it was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were clean and the staff helpful. Would have been good if they had a juice machine as I was thirsty in the night and the juice in the fridge was too expensive. It's good value for money if you on a budget. Oh they have free wifi that works good

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed two nights here whilst looking for student accommodation for our daughter. It's clean and tidy, the water's hot and the air condoning works well. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We did think it was very noisy outside at night but, overall, it was good value for money. As long as you're not expecting The Ritz for the sort of money you'll pay, you should be ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackcountry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Good value hotel, close to many attractions. Comfortable and friendly. A little noisy in the street at times but that's because it's near the university and there are a lot of young people about giving the area vibrancy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelbourneBomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay.
Good points:
- great location: under 10 min walk to city centre. Wonderful selection of restaurants and bars around the hotel. The osteria just a few doors up ("the bear") served excellent (and great value) dinner.
- friendly and helpful staff at the reception
- free wifi in the hotel. We had no problems accessing it or with its speed
- rooms very clean and comfortable.
Bad points:
- none really! Wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Three of us shared a room with 2 beds. The beds were comfy and clean. Staff was very pleasant and helpful, the breakfast was better than others and had a nice selction of fruit, cereals, baked goods, and coffee.

The location is great, except that also means you have street noise as there are bars and restaurants everywhere.

I found this hotel to be perfectly acceptable and at a good price. Even though it is not fancy it more than satisifed our needs for a 2-night stay in beautiful Bologna.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yorweerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

university hotel offers well equipped clean rooms, a very good location, friendly and helpful staff for a reasonable price. the only problem for me that they provide the weakest breakfast i ever see in italy. even the capuccino was tasteless. many two star hotels or b&b s serve much better breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlparslanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The location of the hotel is great, very easy access to everything in the city centre. The train station is a short walk away which makes it very convenient.
Good complementary services in the room, but the rooms could do with a refurbishment.
the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was good on the sweet side, but very poor on savoury options.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MiRa938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Hotel Accademia
#46 of 102 in Bologna
463 reviews
San Vitale
Albergo Rossini 1936
Albergo Rossini 1936
#83 of 102 in Bologna
267 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#30 of 102 in Bologna
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Hotel
#62 of 102 in Bologna
552 reviews
Porto
BuonHotel
BuonHotel
#44 of 102 in Bologna
257 reviews
San Vitale
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#13 of 102 in Bologna
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Hotel

Address: Via Mentana 7, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £67 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato nel cuore della cultura Bolognese, a due passi dalla più antica università del mondo, a fianco del teatro comunale e della pinacoteca nazionale, l'Hotel University è un vero e proprio salotto in città per chi cerca un ambiente elegante e la calda atmosfera che solo le piccole strutture sanno dare.A piedi ed in pochi minuti è possibile raggiungere tutti i punti più interessanti della città: le due Torri, le chiese di Santo Stefano e San Francesco, Piazza Maggiore con i suoi palazzi Medievali e la Basilica di San Petronio.Il quartiere ospita numerosi ristoranti osterie e trattorie tipiche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing