We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Garden Retreat in Bologna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elegant Garden Retreat in Bologna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

After arriving in Bologna, this hidden gem was a retreat for rest and relaxation in an elegant and roomy space. The hotel staff was not overly friendly, but was always kind. The room was decorated with beautiful fabric wall covering, and luxurious linens. Beautiful Italian tile adorned the bathroom and sparkled in the bath of sunlight streaming from the skylight. Located just outside the city center, it offered a quiet solitude to retreat to every evening. Compared to the equivalent rated hotels in the City of Bologna, this hotel offered the same elegance for a great value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    363
    66
    15
    8
See reviews for
241
647
89
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

My wife and I stayed here in October 2010 for two nights. The staff were friendly, and the location good, about a ten minute walk to the main square in Bologna. Buffet breakfast was superb and the grounds of the hotel well maintained with trees and greenery. Our room was upgraded at no cost. Certainly a great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
270 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at this great hotel in Bologna and had a great experience. We were very tired when we arrived and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful upon our arrival. Our room was just off of a small courtyard, right near the breakfast room. Our room was big and spotlessly clean. It included a big bed, desk/chair, and small sitting area. The bathroom was huge - complete with one of the largest bathtubs I have seen; even by American standards.

Breakfast in the morning is included in the price and was very welcome as there isn't much in the ways of cafes, etc in the immediate area. The neighborhood is outside of the city center and very quiet. There is a great restaurant right on the corner (Al Sangoviese, see my review).

Our only complaint was that we had no English channel on the TV, and calling that a complaint is a strong word. Not that we came to Italy to be in our room, but it would be nice to be able to keep up on current events.

The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful and the room was fabulous!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HIltonMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

I have just returned from a stay in this hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff were lovely and incredibly helpful; the breakfast was unusually substantial for Italy and it was very good value. The hotel is charming, with a lovely courtyard.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mckeownsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

A delightful little hotel with the friendliest and most helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble, from restaurant bookings (they gave some fabulous recommendations) to changing my pillow for a softer one and a very warm welcome to my little dog. We booked a junior suite which was worth every euro. The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Bologna which means that you are not surrounded by constant noise, which is a bonus for me. The streets are narrow but we have a large car and had no problems. If you are looking for all the amenities of a 5* hotel then this is not for you, but if you like a 'boutique' feel, then I would recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomoGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We only stayed here a couple of nights before leaving Italy, but it was a lovely night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, and there was a beautiful courtyard with a stone path and flowers surrounding the breakfast area. Lots of choice at breakfast. It was very close to a restaurant you should check out when you go: Ristorante Falcone Hostaria. It's owned by a lovely couple, the food is amazing, and be sure to try one of their homemade desserts. Also look for a bar called AB - it's a younger crowd, very cool interior, and some happy hour finger foods.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allurala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

I stayed in this wonderful small hotel for an extended period and I would definitely stay there again. A great staff. Hotel Porta San Mamolo is located in walking distance from the Piazza Maggiore, the Two Towers, where there are some particularly good shops, and the Bologna's bustling food market.
Even if the hotel does not have a restaurant there are plenty of choices just a stone's throw away.
Easy to reach by car, even if parking is limited. I just love this hotel. The hotel is great and the staff are even better. If you are staying in Bologna you must stay here!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VesuPuntoVio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Hotel Touring
#5 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Property: Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Address: Vicolo del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing