We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, Very Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Service, Very Comfortable”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This lovely hotel came to our rescue when we missed our flight back from holiday due to bad traffic on the approach to the airport and we had to stay overnight in Bologna. We had a very large room with 2 double beds (junior suite ?) on the ground floor which was very comfortable and very reasonably priced. The breakfast was plentiful and good quality, the children loved all the little nooks and crannies around the courtyard and the location was good. We walked into the centre of Bologna and also to the large park (in the opposite direction to the city centre). Also decent WIFI which was free and the Air Conditioning did a decent job of keeping the temperature reasonable in the stifling August heat. But the nicest thing about the hotel was the service. Admittedly the hotel was quiet (downtown Bologna is very quiet in August as everyone is at the beach) but the staff on the front desk went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. It all made a potentially stressful end to the holiday very relaxing and we really enjoyed our day and a half in Bologna.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlackFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    371
    68
    16
    8
See reviews for
247
661
90
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Quirky hotel in a good location but difficult to find due the one-way system and the directions provided by the hotel aren't quite correct. We enjoyed staying here mainly because we could walk into the centre and the staff were really helpful. Nice breakfast.
Only negative was the surprise 20Euros/day for parking.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We had a very good week at this hotel. As previously mentioned by other guests, it is situated in a nice quiet area of the old city but still convenient for the centre. Having walked around the whole city I don't think there was a better area to stay in Bologna. The garden was very pretty and a tranquil place to sit. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and they were able to provide me with gluten free items on request. The room was a good size and decorated in a shabby-chic style. One small criticism was that, although it was clean and comfortable there were some stains on the carpet and for this reason I could not give the full five star rating. We did have a few minor problems during our stay but these were dealt with quickly by the very helpful and friendly staff and management.
If you arrive by air you can get a bus to Bologna immediately outside the Arrivals Hall for six euros - this takes about twenty minutes. Get off the bus at Piazza Maggiore and then the hotel is just ten minutes walk directly South. Bologna is a beautiful city with lots to see, both in the old town and in the hills south of the city, and due to the number of porticoes (covered walkways) would be fine whatever the weather. It is possible to visit other local towns by train - (the station is about 25 minutes walk from the hotel). We also went further afield one day to San Marino - by train and bus - which made a lovely day out. Another day we went by bus to Monteveglio, a rural village with a monastry on a hill, which made a change from the bustle of the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeKalb, IL
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The property was as gorgeous as the pictures. I was happy to spend my time in the courtyard while my husband was at his convention. We were just a block away from the bus lines that circled the city--very convenient if your destination is near the perimeter. Excellent restaurants were nearby and the hotel was blessedly quiet in a city that can be raucous. The neighborhood around has obviously been gentrified and was graffiti-free. You are a short walk from the central piazza and the upscale shopping streets. Also close to San Stephano and the Santa Margarita park. The staff was wonderful: friendly and very helpful, even providing us with daily bus tickets and reasonable laundry service. The breakfast buffet was in a courtyard pavilion and was definitely upscale. I would love to go back. I found this property on TripAdvisor and am grateful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Sorry this is going to sound repetitive- but we echo what previous reviewers have said! This is a great hotel. We had a lovely junior suite- 2 big rooms and lovely bathroom- very clean. The breakfasts were great and lovely to sit in the relaxing courtyards. The staff were very helpful and always knew our names when we came back from our sight seeing. Not sure if this has been mentioned but we really enjoyed using the hotel's bikes- free just take from the courtyard. Great way to get around. Lots of the centre of Bologna is either traffic free or limited- so bikes rule. Definitely hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotsonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Hotel Porta San Mamolo could not have been more charming! My mother and I traveled in for a convention and booked on the recommendation of other TripAdvisor patrons. We were not led astray. The hotel is located about 10 minutes from the central area of Bologna. Be prepared for a nice walk if you are looking to go back and forth to the train station, as they are essentially on opposite ends of the city. There is a bus system that is very easy to learn and extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend staying in this part of town, as the hotels closer to the station tend to have A LOT going on at night. Porta San Mamolo was very quiet and peaceful.
The staff is friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area. They recommended almost every restaurant we went to during our week stay and we were never disappointed. My mother is a huge fan of Italian ceramics, so the hotel even helped us arrange a day trip to nearby Faenza, which is where the International Museum of Ceramics is located. The room was spacious and VERY clean. Breakfast was a full spread of typical Italian fare, which the hotel took great pride in presenting every morning.
I couldn't recommend this hotel (or Bologna) more. It is the only place in Bologna we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megn2music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester,UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I've just got back from a week in Bologna and I will definitely be heading back. The hotel was fantastic. Our junior suite was cleaned thoroughly every day, beautifully decorated and had a big bathroom too. The breakfasts were outstanding - fresh fruit salads, cakes, croissants, pain au chocolats, scrambled eggs and meats, coffee, tea, hot chocolate etc. The seating areas in the courtyards were fab for afternoon reading and glasses of wine and cheese before dinner. The staff at the hotel could not do enough to help us and were really interested in our holiday itinerary. The hotel is a 10 minute stroll from the main square which feels like less because it's such a nice area and you hit the shops after about 3 minutes! Gorgeous big park (with trampoline area for children) and huge grassy sunbathing area a 5-10 minute walk too (Gardini Margherita). The restaurant at the end of the road (Al Sangiovese) is AMAZING! Massive portions, really friendly staff and it's open every day apart from Sunday. Other restaurants we'd recommend are La Mela (just off main square and great for Pizza, pasta and fish); Alice (just round the corner from the hotel and serves great Bolognese); Cafe Zamboni (on Via Zamboni near the two leaning towers and great value for lunches and drinks). If you choose this hotel I would arrange a taxi from the airport as the train station is at the other end of the city (having said that we went to the station twice during our stay and it only took 30-40 minutes down shop lined roads). The taxi costs 20 Euros and can be arranged by e-mailing the hotel. We just picked one up at the airport thinking it might be cheaper but it still cost us 19.50 and we didn't have the comfort of knowing we had it all arranged. We had a great stay and loved every minute of our time in Bologna. It's a gorgeous, stylish city with lots to do.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KittyBobsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,336 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#12 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Property: Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Address: Vicolo del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing