We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COUNTRY INN AT EDGE OF CITY CENTER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

With only 43 rooms in a mostly residential area at the edge of the city center, devoted management and staff skillfully operate a three star hotel at a four star level. Inside and out all is fresh and bright, including the charming small courtyard leading to narrow lanes and small to moderate sized rooms on three floors with elevator, imaginatively decorated in the manner of a country inn. Full HD TV, firm beds. Nicely appointed baths. Everything very clean. The smoothly functioning proceedings are overlooked by several cats patrolling the property with great authority and confidence. A compact breakfast room, itself a pleasure to the senses, serves fresh delicacies including hot items. Friendly and professional front desk staff are ready with recommendations and directions to the medieval city center that continues to be overlooked by so many visitors to Italy who bypass the city on the same mainline tracks leading to Florence, Rome, and Venice. Located about 15 minutes on bus #33 from the station, with another 10-15 minutes walk to the center on a nearby main street. Be sure to sample the famous Parma ham (but don't bring any into the United States.) The equally renowned Parmigiano Reggiano cheese (which IS allowed entry into the US) is available everywhere at a fraction of the cost in a US or Canadian supermarket. In every respect, Hotel Porto San Mamolo is fully deserving of the rave reviews from TA admirers.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms are quiet but the entire area is appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeromeoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel Porta San Mamolo is a perfect choice if you decide to stay in Bologna and there are plenty of reasons to justify the statement.
First of all, I would like to highlight the exceptional service level. The staff is very kind, helpful and professional, they all speak English very well and you always can see even the hotel owner Roberto carrying luggages or bags of the visitors himself or trying to provide the best he can for you to feel like at home.
Secondly, the food is very delicious. They provide breakfast till 10 am and you can choose between various types of fruits, omelette, baked buns, pies, yogurts or sandwiches. They always offer amazingly smelling espresso or cappuccino for a great start of the day.
Thirdly, the location is so close to the city centre that it takes you only 10 minutes by foot and you already reach the Piazza Majore. It is also very quiet and safe to walk even during the night time. I find it very important.
Eventually, the interior of the hotel is very lovely and the inside garden is very beautiful. They both create the coziness which adds the value for everybody's choice in choosing the place to stay.
So, if you have an opportunity to visit Bologna, I dearly recommend to stay in hotel Porta San Mamolo!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzigelyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a good, quiet location that is an easy walk from the city centre. Staff are friendly and Roberto really goes out of his way to accommodate his guests. The breakfast area is lovely but was quite busy - a bit of a wait before we could sit.Unfortunately, it was cold and quite rainy when were there so we did not get to experience the hotel and the city in a way we would have liked. Our ( my friend and I) only complaint was the rude guests staying in the room above ours ( ours was The Iris Room). They had three children and they ran around the room and up and down the stairs creating so much noise that we had to raise our voices to speak. I would recommend you ask for a top floor room if you are a light sleeper:-)

Room Tip: The Iris Room is really nice but you can hear every sound from upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Great Small And EXTREMELY accomodating And Well Run Gem Of A Place Just 10 Minute Walk From Everything. Entire Hotel Staff Could Give Lessons In Hospitality..Hard To Find Better Than This For Double The price

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miketaxguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is a friendly and unassuming hotel just a few minutes walk from the main centre of Bologna. We found the staff welcoming and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble and there was always someone on hand to help. The location is lovely, as you are literally in a residential street amongst the locals. The only slight downside is that there are no tea making facilities in the rooms and, being English, I can't do without my cuppa. However, I only had to ask if it would be possible to get a cup of tea and I was not only presented with a tea tray with a pot of tea, as requested, but also cake which was a lovely treat that I hadn't asked for.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKBontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is a beautiful and quiet hotel with a lovely garden. The most impressive experience my husband and I had was with the owner, Roberto and his staff. Our GPS was unable to figure out how to navigate the one-way streets surrounding the hotel and the lovely receptionist ran out to our car, directed us into a parking space, then started at work taking our luggage up a flight of stairs to our room. My husband had contracted some kind of throat infection, so they called a doctor who came to our room and examined him and wrote a prescription. From that time on everyone on the staff, and especially Roberto, the owner, constantly asked after him to see if he needed anything at all. When he finally was able to get out of bed at 10 the next morning, we went to the patio and sat for about 40 minutes, and when we went back, they had miraculously cleaned up the room, changed the towels, and made the bed! And these people are smiling and friendly - it's not as if they are being forced to take care of the guests - they exude warmth and that special Italian sweetness. When you come in from a restaurant at 11 at night, just as you reach to tap on the door, it clicks open. Every time. The night man is not sleeping but attentively watching. Then he will ask how my husband is feeling and if we need anything special. Just amazing! I will never stay anywhere else in Bologna as long as the Hotel Porta San Mamolo is there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chieko476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel with the most welcoming and attentive staff and owner. They went out of their way on a number of occasions to accommodate myself and 2 sisters. The rooms were clean and elegant, the breakfast buffet was excellent and the location was just a short walk from the center of town. It was also excellent value. Overall, it is highly recommended as a perfect place to stay in Bologna. Thank you Roberto and all your kind staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eavan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,584 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,572 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Touring
#6 of 102 in Bologna
1,668 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#26 of 102 in Bologna
1,495 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Address: Vicolo del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £81 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing