We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel last year already. So when needed to choose a hotel for this short trip to Bologna, I had no doubts - Hotel Porta San Mamolo was my No1.

All the expectations to get a nicely decorated room, friendly and helpful service, delicious and diverse breakfast, quiet time to relax - everything met and even exceeded!
Also I need to say that the location of the hotel is just perfect. It's in the walking distance from the city centre, so you can reach main sites in 10 minutes. But most importantly it's a bit further from all the spots where noisy students hang around in the night time, therefore good night sleep is guaranteed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Dalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

As soon as you enter, you are warmly welcomed by the staff and they take your bag to the room, as soon as you sit you are asked if everything is ok and being offered a cup of coffee! It is absolutely a lovely place, where the staff make sure that your stay will be perfect and the stunning environment just guarantees that! The hotel Porta San Mamolo is full of greenery and peacefulness that is truly vital for a pleasant stay! I will never forget the beautiful mornings with the plates of yogurt and fruit as well as delicious cakes freshly made at the hotel. I will always remember reading the book in the gorgeous garden in the day! I will never forget the assistance of receptionists, their problem solving skills and the quiet room where I could rest for the night! Thank you for the beautiful moments and I can reassure that this hotel in the heart of Bologna definitely deserves the best evaluation as it is the place for excellent holidays. Thank you STAFF for the best stay! I can’t wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our first trip to Italy, we traveled with friends that have been numerous times, however, their first trip to Bolonga, to our surprised, actually to everyone's surprised, this hotel was unique and quaint. Again, we asked the staff about the history of the hotel, very interesting, actually dating back to the 1600's or so, the lobby is small but in it's own way very authentic Italian, when you walk pass the lobby, you will be in for surprised, you will walk into a court yard with a well, continue walking pass what looked like a greenhouse at one time, the breakfast room, very pretty, continue into another courtyard and up to where we stayed. Again, the building are very old, so stairs to go up to your room. The rooms are good size and again very authentic.

The hotel is tucked away in what looks like a residential area, good restaurant at the corner, always full of locals. We walked around the city a bit, lots and lots of college age students, as it has a great University. Would recommend it. Staff was great, very helpful and pleasant.

We also found lots of americans staying in the hotel as well as British visitors.

Room Tip: Did not stay long to find anything bad, we stayed for one night. Parking may be the only issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlg214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

An attractive little hotel,especially for the delightful courtyard garden.Lovely breakfast room and a friendly waitress who served us delicious hot coffee with a smile.Excellent choice for breakfast given this is a small 3 star hotel.Reception staff were helpful and pleasant.Our twin bed room was fine.The shower was the only thing I'd complain about -poor shower head that was rather weak.However the water was always hot and everything about the room and bathroom was clean.
We felt it was good value for money and would recommend it.

Room Tip: There is one we noticed with a balcony overlooking the courtyard area.We were in one overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millicento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Staying here was a major factor in really enjoying our week in Bologna. The staff were charming and helpful at all times. The breakfast was consistently delicious, especially fresh fruit, and the setting in the garden room with tasteful upholstered painted chairs gave a really pleasant start to each day. The location, in the southern part of the old city, is quiet, and only a 15 minute walk to the centre, yet being near the ring road is convenient for the regular circular bus route to the train station, which we used to visit Modena and Ferrara. The only drawback for us was that we were placed in what was probably the least attractive room, next door in fact to that of the previous reviewer. The hotel occupies a building on Vicolo del Falcone and the corresponding building on Via Mirasole, the parallel street. Our room 404 was on the ground floor, backing on to Via Mirasole, with just a small barred window on to the street. However, there were no problems, otherwise the room was very comfortable, and we were so happy with the hotel that we did not bother to request a change.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Having seen the Porta San Mamolo so highly rated we expected more. Whereas they have a wonderful staff and outstanding breakfast, our room (403) was very modest compared to that in the photos. It was semi-underground and therefore damp. Although it was a warm day the heat was on to control the dampness. Not at all what we had anticipated.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank RetiredSpanishProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our room overlooked a central courtyard and came complete with a balcony. Bed was comfortable and room was quiet. Breakfast room is located in the the central courtyard and breakfast was very good. The hotel staff were very helpfull and provided lots of useful about what to do, where to go and where to eat in the neighbourhood. There were several good restaurants in the neighbourhood. We would definitely go back again. Bologna is a very interesting city and we also took day trips to Ferrara and Ravenna which are also well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,582 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,568 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Touring
#6 of 102 in Bologna
1,667 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#25 of 102 in Bologna
1,494 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Address: Vicolo del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £81 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing