We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Bologna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Great stay in Bologna”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were a party of 7 and needed 3 rooms. All three rooms were clean and well appointed. The hotel is charming, the breakfast was delicious and the staff was very nice and helpful. We are already trying to figure out when we can return. Lovely place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    378
    69
    18
    9
See reviews for
253
677
92
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A beautiful charming hotel with so much character, it sent me back to a time where life was obviously simple and homey. Located within a 10 minute walk from the action near San Stephano Square and the Tower and lots of shops, restaurants and bars, San Mamolo was the perfect spot. Comfortable rooms with true Italian charm that were clean and comfortable, and a staff of such friendly people who went out of their way to welcome you to Bologna. A garden paradise was what greeted you to morning breakfast with the most beautiful flowers and birds singing. Fresh breads, baked goods, eggs, prosciutto and cheeses along with coffee and juices of your choice was a great way to begin your day. If you are looking for a place that reminds you of home, yet close to everything, this could be a beautiful find. We were with a group of 15, and even the owner, Roberto Condello, sent help and helped us carry our luggage from the main street and back to our bus. Now that's what I call service and hospitality.

Room Tip: The original building has an elevator, the adjacent building is a good hike if you are not on the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

OK, this isn't quite a 'boutique hotel' in terms of the highest standards that phrase evokes, but it's a friendly, charming, well-located and comfortable 'shabby-chic' hotel in central Bologna at a good price.

Beds: comfortable but a touch firm; pillows are synthetic and not great.
Location: Excellent (5-10 min walk from centre of town).
Breakfast: Above average.
Service & welcome: Excellent.

Rooms are pretty basic, but combining service, charm and location.... I'd definitely stay again and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location at edge of city center located down a romantic street. The hotel staff was friendly & courteous, the desk clerk parked our car for us. Sometimes you have 2-3 people helping you at a time. Breakfast included delicious baked goods served in a quaint garden room. Our room was nicely appointed and overlooked the small street in front which was always quiet & peaceful. At the end of the block is Al Sangiovese Restaurant...EXCELLENT! Roberto, an owner, carried our bags to the car. If Roberto is reading this, "we enjoyed the 3 bottles of wine we purchased from you & hope you can import it here to the USA." When in Bologna...eat...eat...eat! It is food heaven. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I am woken up each morning by the most beautiful song of a bird, and the smell of baked goods wafting up into my window from the garden breakfast room below. I slept great each night in my comfortable, quiet room of The Hotel San Mamolo. The friendly, accomodating staff greet me with a smile and bend over backwards to accomodate any request I may have, in order to make my stay a most pleasant one. The boutique hotel with it's 48 rooms that surround a peaceful garden and breakfast area is situated in a neighborhood that is just a 10 minute walk to the center of everything to be seen in Bologna. I have one more night left here of my seven and I am already sad to be leaving. I would definitely recommend enjoying a stay here at The Porta San Mamolo while in Bologna!

Room Tip: Email the friendly staff for their recommendations regarding a type of room request, as the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was a great choice of hotel for us - we had 3 nights in Bologna. The hotel is about 15 mins walk from the centre through the picturesque old town. There are two really excellent restaurants on the same street, one serving fish, the other typical Bolognese dishes. All the staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The little garden was an oasis with beautifully scented plants - it was a lovely start to the day to have our breakfast there especially as there was a very loud songbird serenading us . A variety of food was served at breakfast catering for all tastes. A fantastic find we would really recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a view - it worked for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great location and good quality hotel. We had a room with a large, furnished balcony overlooking a garden courtyard. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. However, there were no tea or coffee facilities or room service in the hotel. It would have been nice to get a hot drink after our daughter had gone to bed. Lovely fish restaurant over the road though.

Room Tip: Room 204 has the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula13807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 103 in Bologna
1,499 reviews
Hotel Touring
#6 of 103 in Bologna
1,583 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
871 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,181 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 103 in Bologna
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Property: Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Address: Vicolo del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing