We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Staff In A Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What you'll immediately notice about the Hotel Porta San Mamolo is just how welcome you'll feel by the superb staff. They were all very friendly and incredibly helpful, giving us more than the usual advice on where to eat and advice on transport as well as other things to do and see around Bologna. The room was very nice and comfortable & very good value. The garden is stunning and a perfect location for breakfast or just relaxing in the day. The location is also very convenient to walk into the city centre and has a couple of very nice restaurants literally within 30 seconds walk from the front door. I can also recommend the very reasonably priced bottles of wine they sell too! I wouldn't hesitate about staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

The position
For those coming with a car, the hotel is very conveniently located in the neigborhood of the ring road. I had no experience with the hotel parking, so I cannot say. From the railway station: if you walk, you have to cross all the inner Bologna north to south. Take a taxi, it will run you along the ring road.
The venue
The hotel consists of a number of old low buildings around a court
The garden
The court is in effect a garden, very pleasant and charming to look at; the are chairs to sit in the garden; of course, if people are talking late, you will hear them from your room. Charms have a price to pay.!
The brekfast
Complete and satisfactory. In the garden. You may use some tables in the open air (if you come first). Pleasant setting.
The room
Had a large bed, comfortable. The room was quite large.
The bathroom
Small but.. there is everything, like in the Sputnik. Shower box ample, could accommodate two (just in case).
Kindness
Kind and flexible. Service in the breakfast room
Would come again?
Yes, pretty sure I will manage to come again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arzillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A city hotel with an beautiful internal courtyard garden. Such a lovely surprise. Rooms are charming and full of character and old world charm. All staff were friendly and most helpful. The breakfast room is a conservatory style space with an outdoor terrace under a fig tree- no nicer way to breakfast. Great value and well located with a selection of good restaurants nearby. Would highly recommend it even for a one night stopover which is all we had. Hope to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alivealiveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have flown into Bologna may times on holidays but only saw the airport so this year we decided to stay for two nights on our way home and are we glad we did. Hotel Porta san Mamolo was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there previously. What a quirky little hotel fine rooms much bigger than you would think on arrival and a beautiful little courtyard and garden for afternoon drinks. So peaceful and quiet that you would never feel you were so near all the action in the historical city. The main sites are only 10 mins walk. The owner and his staff are so friendly and helpful he is available to his quests at all times. The breakfast was very nice with a good choiceand very fresh. We would certainly return and would recommend this hotel without any doubt.

Room Tip: I feel all rooms would be good certainly no problem with sleep as rooms very quiet we had a lovely l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeirdreSkerries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were a party of 7 and needed 3 rooms. All three rooms were clean and well appointed. The hotel is charming, the breakfast was delicious and the staff was very nice and helpful. We are already trying to figure out when we can return. Lovely place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A beautiful charming hotel with so much character, it sent me back to a time where life was obviously simple and homey. Located within a 10 minute walk from the action near San Stephano Square and the Tower and lots of shops, restaurants and bars, San Mamolo was the perfect spot. Comfortable rooms with true Italian charm that were clean and comfortable, and a staff of such friendly people who went out of their way to welcome you to Bologna. A garden paradise was what greeted you to morning breakfast with the most beautiful flowers and birds singing. Fresh breads, baked goods, eggs, prosciutto and cheeses along with coffee and juices of your choice was a great way to begin your day. If you are looking for a place that reminds you of home, yet close to everything, this could be a beautiful find. We were with a group of 15, and even the owner, Roberto Condello, sent help and helped us carry our luggage from the main street and back to our bus. Now that's what I call service and hospitality.

Room Tip: The original building has an elevator, the adjacent building is a good hike if you are not on the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

OK, this isn't quite a 'boutique hotel' in terms of the highest standards that phrase evokes, but it's a friendly, charming, well-located and comfortable 'shabby-chic' hotel in central Bologna at a good price.

Beds: comfortable but a touch firm; pillows are synthetic and not great.
Location: Excellent (5-10 min walk from centre of town).
Breakfast: Above average.
Service & welcome: Excellent.

Rooms are pretty basic, but combining service, charm and location.... I'd definitely stay again and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,573 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,259 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Touring
#6 of 102 in Bologna
1,650 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,470 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Address: Vicolo del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £82 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing