We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in downtown Bologna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A little gem in downtown Bologna”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Thanks to other tripadvisor reviewers, we decided to overnight at this great little hotel which is within walking distance to the center of Bologna.
The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful to us. Rooms were super clean and spacious. There was free wifi access throughout the hotel and it worked great. Breakfast was also very, very good and included in the room price.
All in all, this was a wonderful experience and we'll return to this cozy little hotel soon!

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    373
    68
    17
    8
See reviews for
249
669
90
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
443 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We stayed here based on the #1 rating for Bologna B&Bs on Trip Advisor. Although very nice in some ways I am not sure it deserves a #1 rating.

Pluses:
Very competent and helpful staff. Very polished. Roberto the owner is on site and actively managing.
Located very close to 2 or 3 extremely good restaurants. It is so nice to walk out the door and to dinner 2 or 3 minutes away!
Breakfast room and breakfast offerings are very nice. These were the only scrambled eggs we had on our trip that were really good!

Minuses:
The walk to the Piazza Maggiore is not far, but it is not close if that is important. Sometimes it was just farther than I wanted to walk at the end of a long day or in the evening.
The bed and pillows are OK but not great.
We paid for an upgraded room. I think I wrongly assumed that would get us a room with some extra space. The room had a balcony but the room itself was small. Not worth paying the extra if what you get is a balcony. And we could not use the balcony anyway because of the weather.

Enjoy your stay here but I if you decide to upgrade see what the room options are first. Maybe there are some rooms that are a little larger than what we had.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

i am a world traveler, and stay principally at 5 star hotels, but my very favorite hotel in europe is the San Mamolo. it has something that no large hotel has, the charm of the being someone's guest, the nooks and crannies as the story books write, are almost enchanting.
each room is different, with beamed ceilings that have that real european touch. not only is the hotel charming but the owner Sr, Roberto is unique as a hotelier. he will do everything from park your car, to pick you up at the airport, to carry your bags down the stairs at the no elevator train station. The rest of the staff, headed up by the lovely GM, Miss Irene, is as accommodating as you could ever wish. breakfast is delightful. there is free internet, which i can not believe that larger hotels still get away with charging for. The Hotel San Mamolo is Bolonga's number one hotel for me as you are not a vistor but always a guest.
Beverly Feldman
Beverly Feldman Shoes

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lipstickpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The hotel was quaint, very affordable and had a good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanormbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Porta San Mamolo for 4 nights. This small gem of a hotel is run by an exceedingly helpful and accommodating staff. Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast each morning. We would definitely recommend the hotel. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the center of Bologna, and a bus ride away from the train station.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwibblesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington state
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

This is an excellent, lovely and well kept small 3-star hotel on the outskirts of Bologna. It is walking distance to town center. Accomodations were wonderful and well priced. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was attentive, helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qirebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Perhaps we were expecting too much of this hotel which was highly rated on your site. Although overall the hotel was pleasant, we would advise your readers not to book a junior suite (small and lacking charm) which for us was definitely not good value for money. Although the hotel is within walking distance of the centre of Bologna we found it to be an inconvenient distance to return to the hotel when exploring other parts of the city , and searching out restaurants. (There is however an excellent fish restaurant opposite the hotel entrance) The hotel breakfast room , though in theory charming, was very overcrowded and the staff looked as though they would much rather have been somewhere else. Overall, we were left with the impression of a successful hotel which had gradually expanded to the point where its original charm and personal service was beginning to wear a bit thin, and where perhaps the profit motive had begun to become predominant.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visiting-doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,376 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,458 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Touring
#5 of 103 in Bologna
1,548 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Property: Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Address: Vicolo del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing