We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, helpful staff and good location”
Review of Holiday Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Hotel
Ranked #62 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This hotel is well located for access to the centre of Bologna. In a quiet street, only a couple of minutes from a good selection of restaurants and bars. Rooms are a good size, with a comfortable bed and an excellent shower. Yes, the breakfast area is small, but what more do you need? Good selection of breakfast items was available.
The staff were all very helpful and spoke good English, especially Roberto who served us a nightcap at the bar every night. Highly recommend this hotel for a budget city break.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riad_Safran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2010

We had a romantic trip with wife to Italy/ Our main goal was Rome,
but we bought tickets to Bologna (cheaper), and spent a day there before taking train to Rome. The hotel was in old Jew quarter, near old channel. Those Italian little streets, they are so romantic! The room in a hotel was small and cheap (40 EUR), but very good - air conditioner, king-size bed,
a view of that immedately lead to the thought of sex, that we accomplish at once with :-)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

i stayed at the hotel holiday for a conference and also had my daughter with me-11 year child. the hotel is in the historic zone so right next to the main historic sites, perfect for exploring these. the hotel is relatively old, the rooms were clean and well kept, the main problem was the smell coming from the bathroom- the first night was horrible, worst smell ever, the hotel had sth. done the next day, it was better but not gone entirely. the bathroom was also in need of updating, the breakfast area is the smallest area one can imagine with a lot of tables squeezed together which made eating a challenge. its location is good, rooms are clean but the bathrooms smell and the breakfast area very small.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesstraveler036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Really great place, good location, good breakfast, good room!

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank BarbaraN6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

The street the hotel is located in could be used as a filmset for a horror movie. The hotel lobby looks good, and the staff is friendly.

When we came up to the room, it looked clean and neat, but was horribly decorated. The walls were painted in some shade of green that one would think was left back in the 70´s. But we generally were surprised by the size of the room, quite big. The bathroom was very nice and clean.

But the bed and pillows were just awful! Not a king size bed but two singles pushed together and extremely hard as well as the pillows. Thin walls and noisy Italians next door didn´t really help. Didn´t sleep too well.

Then the staff would wake you up to clean the room, and it didn´t matter if the "do not disturb" sign was up. The next day they woke us up to tell that the water would shut off in 10 minutes and be gone for hours, only one of us got time to shower. The day after that there was no hot water. Extremely annoying.

Breakfast wasn´t bad, missed good whole-grain bread and good tee thou.

Total impression not very good...

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr_panzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

The hotel is conveniently located, the breakfast is very good, the staff is very friendly (I speak Italian so I had no language issues), the rooms are clean and of a good size but the hotel is a bit tired and need a bit of a freshening up.
All and all our experience was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fontanafratta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Great location, easy to reach from airport shuttle bus. Reception area fine, staff friendly all spoke some English. Within easy reach of all the tourist sights and some excellent restaurants. Although the street the hotel is on is a little off putting with a sex shop at one end and a lot of graffiti, didn't feel threatened in anyway throughout our stay. The room we were given was a family room, which was accessed via very steep stairs with peeling plaster, was tired and needed modernisation. Although there was kitchen equipment in the room, it was under lock and key, when we asked if we could use it to make a cup of tea, we were told that we had only paid for a standard room, and therefore could not use it. This seems miserly and short sighted. Breakfast was in area off the reception and was very cramped. It consisted of pastries, cereals and bread, no fruit or yoghurt, great if you like carbs.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuluSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Panorama Hotel
#30 of 102 in Bologna
267 reviews
Nuovo Hotel del Porto
#33 of 102 in Bologna
925 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#14 of 102 in Bologna
751 reviews
Porto
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
#22 of 102 in Bologna
565 reviews
Grand Hotel Elite
#48 of 102 in Bologna
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Hotel

Address: Via Bertiera 13, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range: £52 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing