We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap stay, but very good service, very clean room”
Review of Arcoveggio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arcoveggio Hotel
Ranked #56 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Lou, KY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap stay, but very good service, very clean room”
Reviewed 14 July 2010

The room in Hotel Arcoveggio was very secure, second floor, with a balcony, private bath, and large room. It was clean, and simply furnished. The hotel lobby was in the building two doors down, and this is where breakfast was held each morning (the hotel owns two buildings, both of which are very clean and modern). The staff is very friendly, and very helpful to find things on a map for you, and point out bus routes. The hotel is very close to a main bus route, leading straight to the historical center of Bologna.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbtduluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcoveggio, Responsabile reception at Arcoveggio Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear Guests,
thank you for attention; thanks because you appreciated our very good location. See you next time in Bologna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    94
    44
    10
    10
See reviews for
24
94
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Stayed at this hotel in November and were assigned a room in the dependance, which is 2 buildings next to the main hotel building. 20 min walk from train station, and the start of the old town. Buses are nearby. Nice and quiet residential street. Sketchy free wi-fi available, free in-room safe, very good breakfast, very nice staff.

Only cons, which made this an average hotel instead of very good, is not being able to change temperature in the room, and we were a little cold during our stay; wi-fi connection which is so-so..., shower which has a very, very weak flow; paper-thin towels provided, only one set of plastic glasses are given, so don't throw away your dirty ones on your first night like we did.

Overall: good hotel, good price, don't expect too much, but would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcsklabrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Hotel Arcoveggio is located just outside the city centre. Traveling between Arcoveggio and Bologna city centre is easy by 27 a/b/c-buses. The hotel is basically an apartment house with rooms, and it is located in a quiet neigbourhood. The staff were happy and helpful, although all of them didn't speak english.

The room was very clean, cozy and the decor was modern. No air-conditioning, unfortunately. The bathroom was quite roomy and well-lit. The only thing that bothered us was the sound-proofing of the house, you could actually hear everything that the neighbors did.

Breakfast was ok with croissants, cold cuts, fresh juice and cereals.

In May 2009 there was a construction site right next to the hotel. The noise
was really loud at times, but of course this wasn't Hotel Arcoveggio's fault in any way.

To sum it up, nice work Argoveggio!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_10237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

This hotel is in a very quiet area, simple rooms but clean and pleasant. The staff are extremely helpful and we had a wonderful time. Walking distance, 15-20 minutes, to anything you wish to see

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Hotel Arcoveggio is located just outside the bussling city center and is accessible to Piazza maggiore by the 27 bus.

Great breakfast - particularly by European standards.

The front desk was extremely helpful! Even one who didnt speak a word of English was able to communicate to us the answers to all our questions. They really went above and beyond.

the rooms were definitely bigger than any other place we stayed at on our trip and the bathroom was a decent size as well.

The hotel offers free wireless internet which was nice to have to send a quick report back home!

  • Liked — location, room size, internet
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

I guess Bologna is known for a lack of reasonably priced accomodation, so my boyfriend and I were pleased to pay 65 euro for this place. We checked out their website, which made the place look quite modern and goregous, and when we got to the hotel, it didn't really have the same appeal, but was still nice.

Good points:
Cleanliness, no complaints here.
Breakfast, really good for Italy's standards. Buffet selection of sweet and savoury. Good coffee as well.
Location, relatively close (15min walk) to train station.

Bad points:
Price, for Bologna, it is decent, but you feel like you're paying more than you should be.
Style, the room was rather "institutional", especially after seeing the website.

Overall, I would reccomend this place, but definitely wouldn't give it a must stay status.

  • Liked — Breakfast and Location
  • Disliked — Value
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tip_the_canoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2005

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Arcoveggio, on the fringe of the city's central core. The hotel is named after the Arcoveggio racetrack down the street, inactive and used as a quiet city park for the week we were there.

The staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient; the room, lovely, with a balcony overlooking a garden with flowers and tall, leafy trees. The economy of the place is not reflected in the service or accommodations, which are superior.

The No. 27 bus will get you to the Piazza Maggiore (and back) in 10 minutes for the cost of a single euro; it arrives at the corner every 15 minutes. But we liked the local neighborhood a lot, which is without tourists and really indicative of life in Bologna for most of its inhabitants. The night-time quiet and uncrowded streets is much to be appreciated. The big excitement "in the 'hood" was when the Bombardieri (firemen) zoomed in to put out someone's stove-top fire. Everyone was on his or her cellphone, supervising their arrival.

The Le Rose Restaurant two blocks away is a major find for authentic, family-prepared cuisine (and the local hangout). There's also a cozy, friendly bar; a supermarket; all sorts of small shops (Cherie bought gorgeous silver and one of a kind dresses at discount); and a general air of hospitality.

Bob & Cherie

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_Jacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Panorama Hotel
#35 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Navile
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#73 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Navile
Hotel Tuscolano
Hotel Tuscolano
#63 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navile
Hotel Centro Turistico Citta di Bologna
Hotel Imperial
#29 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Holiday Hotel
#61 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcoveggio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcoveggio Hotel

Property: Arcoveggio Hotel
Address: Via Lionello Spada 27, 40129 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Navile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arcoveggio Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family hotel situated in a peaceful area of Bologna. Our 23 rooms are divided in two separate three-storey buildings nearby (no lift). In the front of the hotel you can find a garden in which you can enjoy relaxing atmosphere and refresh yourself with a cold drink after a day of sightseeing in our beautiful city. The free wi-fi connection is available in the entire property. Please remember that the reception is open from 07:00 a.m. till 11:00 p.m. The check in time begin at the 02:00 p.m. and ends at the 11:00 p.m. After this time reception is closed so it will be impossible to make registration and to take the room. Since May 2015 we are family run business and we strive to provide the best service. Our friendly and international staff is multilingual. We will be glad to assist you during your stay. If you wish we can help you to organise your sightseeing, trip to some other destination like Venice, Florence, Milan, Rimini etc., to rent a bike or just recommend you a nice place to try a real Italian cuisine. Arcoveggio Hotel is located in city area of Bolognina, good known specially for the Ippodromo dell’Arcoveggio – the hippodrome of Bologna where you can watch the horse racing (5 min walking). Our hotel is also conveniently situated near the Central Train Station of Bologna (10-15 min walking) and near the BolognaFiere Fair District (about 20 min walking). To reach the historical downtown you need to walk about 25-30 min or simply take a bus from the bus stop nearby (10 min). We are also very close to the well known private clinic of Villa Erbosa (10 min walking). In our neighbourhood you can find also many small italian and international restaurants and fast-foods, shops, supermarket and a park with playground for children. We do our best to make you feel like home during your stay in our hotel. If you’re travelling with your family please remember that we accept one child for free (up to 6-year if sleeping with parents), offer free cribs for the youngest and free breakfast for all the children up to 6-year. We will be happy to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Arcoveggio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcoveggio Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing