We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stylish and well located.”
Review of Albergo Garisenda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Garisenda
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very stylish and well located.”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed in these rooms on a recent trip - 2 couples. The location is excellent - right beside the two towers in the heart of the old part of Bologna. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. They are a few flights up but there is a lift so no problem. The owner and her staff were very, very helpful and breakfast was good quality. The rooms had that Italian flair and were very comfortable - felt like staying in a large house. Parking in the area is difficult but they give you a 24 hour parking voucher - we parked quite close by so no problem.
The owner reccomended a resturaunt nearby (we would not have found it on our own) and we had the BEST pasta Bolognese we have ever tasted - unanimous ! Ask about it.
If we return to Bologna we will use these rooms again.
Great value and well worth considering.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on the inner part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    59
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
60
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

The Garisenda was great! The staff was very friendly and it was in a great location for shopping and seeing the sights of Bologna. The food markets are a must see in this city. And some of the best food in our trip to Italy was had in Bologna! The cost of the room was low and the staff spoke English which was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_to_Travel_60885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. Excellent location to walk to most places. Room is perfectly adequate. Sparse but had everything you needed. Very clean. We were the only Americans which was nice. The owners English was good enough to communicate what was needed.
Japanese, French, Spanish and Italians made up the guest list. The family lives in rooms off the entrance so I felt a little like we were intruding. Also was concerned about coming back late as i did not want to disturb them. Our window opened up to a court yard. We kept the window open and every morning i was wakened by bird song - lovely!
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzeontheRoad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
689 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

You need to take a bus from the station to the centre of Bologna. Good signage and an old fashioned lift ensure that one arrives at Garisenda. The hostess and owner, Laura, was most welcoming. The room was spotless and spacious although without a view. The basin in the room is most practical. The room had a TV so I could watch some dubbed films in Italian. The clean, white towels were of good quality. Two very clean bathrooms between about five rooms. The hotel is a stone throw from the two towers, Garisenda, in the centre of Bologna and conveniently located to excellent restaurants and the local food market – which the hostess all informed me on. I walked everywhere in Bologna.
Breakfast is quite substantial with fresh fruit, juice, tea, cappuccino, cereals, milk, croissants, bread, chocolate spread and jams. The cappuccinos are marvellous! The supplies were topped up during breakfast. Laura was most helpful with advice of what attractions to visit and where to eat. She is an astute businesswoman who takes a sincere interest in her own hotel.
I loved the central location and the cappuccinos!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kardoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

The location was both good and bad - it is as central as it gets, but because of this very noisy. There is a McDonalds right outside the door, not exactly what you want while on vacation!
Rooms were very spacious and clean. Two large restrooms shared on the floor - both very clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chevellechick71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed here for three nights and thought it was excellent value. Our room was large, airy, and charming; facing the courtyard, it was completely silent at night, even with the terrace door open. The 24-hour desk service was unfailingly friendly and helpful. The ceiling fan was totally adequate for keeping the room cool in July. We've recommended the hotel to other people and, the next time we visit Bologna, will be absolutely sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sant_Ubaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Recently, my fiance and I went to Bologna and we stayed at the Garisenda for its amazing location right in the heart of Bologna. We stayed in a double bedroom using a shared bathroom. The room was really spacious and very comfortable, and as it contained a wash basin and mirror, we only needed the shared bathroom for showers and for the toilet. We had no issues with the shared bathroom as there were two which each contained a shower, and toilet, so they were more than adequate and one was always free. The breakfast in the morning was really good too, as it was a bit self-service (apart from the coffee - which was freshly brewed), and so you could grab as much or as little as you like (ie different from the regular italian breakfast of only biscuits of a croissant with the coffee). Laura was very helpful with restaurant suggestions, and helped us get bookings very close to opening times. My only suggestion is that you learn a few Italian phrases here, as Laura was very helpful through me being able to speak a bit of Italian. In all, the rooms were great, the breakfast was yummy, the price was very fair and the location for central Bologna cannot be beaten.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottBodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Panorama Hotel
#32 of 103 in Bologna
260 reviews
Albergo Centrale
#24 of 103 in Bologna
703 reviews
Art Hotel Orologio
#9 of 103 in Bologna
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Accademia
#46 of 103 in Bologna
449 reviews
Porto
BuonHotel
BuonHotel
#43 of 103 in Bologna
252 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#11 of 103 in Bologna
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Garisenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Garisenda

Property: Albergo Garisenda
Address: Galleria del Leone 1, 40125 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Garisenda 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Garisenda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garisenda Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing