We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel in Central Bologna”
Review of Albergo Garisenda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Garisenda
Ranked #53 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I was lucky to nab the last room available in this great little hotel. The double room I stayed in was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The owner was really friendly and I enjoyed my breakfast with the perfect cappuccino. The shared bathroom and toilets were also clean, so no problems there. It's in a great location, close to the two towers and the main piazza. Would definitely recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Infatti281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at this hotel and it is right in the center of Bologna. The room is very a large one, very clean and comfortable.. The owners are very pleasant and helpful and give good advises.
I will highly recommend this hotel not only for the price but also for the situation of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 week and thought it the perfect place.
it is across the road from the famous two leaning towers and less than 5 minutes walk from the main square. The residence is on the 3rd floor \ piano and there is an exellent lift.
We had a large room with comfortable beds, plenty of storage space, chairs and desk, a good bathroom with excelent shower. The room looked out into the central well area and was quieter than the busy main street at the front. Breakfast was Italian -simple - with excellent coffee, a plate of ham, toast or Italian croisant, fruit cake and yogart. there was excellent free wi-fi in our room. The man and woman in charge were very helpful and friendly. There was a supermarket COOP very nearby on the other side of the 2 two towers
There was a very efficient old fashioned ceiling fan. There was also air conditioning but we did not need it. The residence is part of a very old building and it feels a privilege to stay in such a place.
We could find no fault and would definetly stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My husband and I recently spent four nights at this b&b in bologna and can't recommend it highly enough. As people have noted the location is absolutely perfect, you're right in the centre of the city. What we really enjoyed though was the friendliness and warmth of the owners. They were both lovely. The rooms are really generous in size, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The feel of the place is quite old world and charming. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat. Highly recommended and great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andschmidts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Albergo Garisenda on Via Rizzoli is right in the centre of Bologna, a short stroll from Piazza Maggiore. It’s a B&B with 7 rooms and the owners live on-site. It’s on the 3rd floor of a large building with other commercial activities on lower floors, serviced by a lift.

We stayed for 3 nights B&B, paying €250 for an en-suite double-room. Our room was clean, comfortable and reasonably spacious, with a lovely parquet floor. TV is Italian channels only. No air-con, but the silent ceiling fan was surprising effective. Our bathroom was compact but fine, the corner shower has excellent water pressure.

Breakfast (8-10), served in the small bar, is a simple buffet affair – orange juice, yoghurts, corn flakes, apples, brioche, toast (on request) – with excellent coffee.
The owners are pleasant, with good English (tho’ we always try our own miniscule Italian out of courtesy) and helpful - suggestions re restaurants, ordering taxi, printing out airline boarding “cards” etc..

One minor “drawback” is the need to ring the bell downstairs in order to be buzzed in. Also check-out is 10.30am which seems a bit early.

Our favourite restaurant nearby was Trattoria Leonida (you need to book for weekend nights) and the best slice of takeaway pizza in Bologna is at the small “Due Torri” on Strada Maggiore (about 100 yards), opposite the church.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peteramolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We weren't sure where to stay in bologna. We found there were so many different hotel and b&b options and mixed reviews across those in our price range. Albergo garisenda could not have been better. Perfect location. Big clean rooms. Very clean. Lovely, hospitable owners. And good value. This was an easy choice after all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ten22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

You can't find a better location in Bologna. For the price you get a lot, as the other reviews have noted. If you need air conditioning you're out of luck, but we found the ceiling fan good enough during a heat wave. The proprietors are very nice and aim to please. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Panorama Hotel
#28 of 102 in Bologna
290 reviews
Porto
BuonHotel
BuonHotel
#46 of 102 in Bologna
268 reviews
Santo Stefano
Albergo delle Drapperie
Albergo delle Drapperie
#47 of 102 in Bologna
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Hotel
#63 of 102 in Bologna
565 reviews
Santo Stefano
Hotel Pedrini
Hotel Pedrini
#55 of 102 in Bologna
284 reviews
Albergo Centrale
#23 of 102 in Bologna
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Garisenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Garisenda

Address: Galleria del Leone 1, 40125 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £54 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Garisenda 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Albergo Garisenda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garisenda Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing