We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean and absolutely in the center!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cavour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cavour
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice and clean and absolutely in the center!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Hotel Cavour is located in the heart of Bologna, exactly next to Via Indipendenza, one of the most central streets of the city. It is not very cheap, but it is worth it if you think that you will not need to pay any taxis or buses to get there (except from/to the airport of course). The rooms are very big and comfortable and also very clean. The breakfast is very good too (containing good italian cappuccino or espresso). The personel is kind and warm. It also has a lovely garden but I wondered why the breakfast is not done there (maybe it is during summer though).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank efou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    214
    42
    14
    9
See reviews for
108
152
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed in Hotel Cavour for 2 nights during September as part of a 2 week holiday in Italy. The location is very convenient for sight-seeing as you are very close to the central part of historical Bologna and within walking distance of a number of attractions.
The reception staff were welcoming and helpful with one particular receptionist recommending a local restaurant that we enjoyed. The number of staff available at breakfast on one morning was inadequate and the girl who was serving was rushed off her feet trying to take orders for coffee, clear tables etc.
We had a very large room on the top floor which I suspect is an attic conversion because of the location of windows etc. This was not a drawback and we both enjoyed the space and views we had over neighbouring rooftops. The room was very quiet at night. The room had plenty of cupboard and wardrobe space, a separate table with 2 chairs, fridge, safe, flatscreen TV and ensuite bathroom with shower. There were ample towels and toiletries. The room was very clean and the daily housekeeping service was effective. Wifi is available for a fee in standard rooms or free of charge in reception.
Overall I would say that there was nothing exceptional about Hotel Cavour. There was nothing that disappointed us or caused us problems but also nothing that particularly excited us either. It did 'what it said on the tin' and was a good price for the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenboat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Very central with very pleasant staff. We had one of the top floor rooms which was massive. It was exceptionally clean, with a large comfortable bed with nice toiletries & hairdryer. Only had a shower in our room and we walked so much might have liked to soak my aching legs! However if it matters to you put in a pre-request for a room with a bath. There was also a fridge. Only improvement would have been tea making facilities however the girls on the reception were very happy to make a tea or an expresso or capuccino for you. They gave us a remote control for the air conditioning but we never used it as we prefer opening the windows for fresh air. Breakfast was very good - loads of choice. One day was exceptionally rushed for the young lady serving but we still got everything we needed.
I enjoyed Bologna and the Cavour and would return. A taxi from the airport costs around Euro 12. Train station 20 mins walk away though with cases we got a cab which hotel called and arrived in under 2 mins and was under Euro10. Excellent value for money - I would return

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraMart7, Proprietario at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
We thank You so much... that's very kind of You!
We Hope to have you soon as our favourite guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I recently stayed there with my son and grandson. It is well situated and reasonably priced but the rooms are big, bare and have no atmosphere and the air conditioning is very inadequate in the summer. My son left his wallet with credit cards etc. in the safe and we phoned the hotel 3 times about this and they looked and found nothing. Suddenly, they phoned to say that they had found it and guess where, in the safe! It took them nearly 2 weeks to find it and it has now been 2 weeks since then and they still haven't sent it. This hotel is understaffed with just one poor woman rushing around doing everything at breakfast and only one person at reception, dealing with guests, the phone etc. They've promised several times to send my son's wallet but it has still not been done. Would you recomend this hotel? Not me. Lyn

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Spent 2 days at this delightful Hotel nicely located near the centre of Bologna. A really nice room but the overwhelming impressions was the helpful staff and that made the stay in this delightful city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DFerdinando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraMart7, Proprietario at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Thank you... your words fill our hearts with joy.
If you came antoher time in Bologna, We will be very happy to have you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed there for a week. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a " double superior room" (293) which was at the price of a standard room. It was very spacy (far beyond the standards of a three star hotel) and quiet, although the window was at via Marsala, a narrow back street. There were cosy places for our baggages and cloths and a lot of drawers and closets. The only drawback of the room was the refrigerator, in which the water was froze and the faulty light over the bath mirror.
A few steps outside the room there was a beautiful inner terrace with small tables and chairs, where somebody can take his coffee or drink watching one of the famous towers of the city.
The buffet breakfast was very rich, not the usual rather poor italian breakfast, almost with everything somebody might need and the coffee was freshly made cappuccino or espresso or any other coffee you liked to ask.
The location of the hotel is very central, a few minutes walking from almost all interesting piazze and buildings of the old city. You can stay out even late at night, feeling safe. If you like to have one day trips to the picturesque neighbouring cities, it takes about twenty minutes walking under the beautiful "portici" of the via dell’ indipedenza to the railway station.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Albergo Centrale
#24 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#35 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
BuonHotel
BuonHotel
#38 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
San Vitale
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#13 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#12 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavour

Property: Hotel Cavour
Address: Via Goito 4, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavour 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing