We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and close to centre of Bologna”
Review of Hotel Cavour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cavour
Ranked #35 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value and close to centre of Bologna”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very good value hotel and rooms spacious. This 3 star hotel is close to the centre of Bologna (5 mins walk) and is in an excellent position for exploring the city. The staff are very helpful and the breakfast is good and what one expects in Italy.
Lots of good bars and restaurants close by - very good food everywhere and reasonable prices. We loved the covered porticos in Bologna which allow you to shop and walk to the various churches, museums and eateries etc in the dry - it did rain all of one day when we were there but not a problem. No traffic allowed in the centre at weekends but taxis can get to the hotel via the back streets. Would recommend the Hotel Cavour.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor - only 5 rooms on that floor so no external noise. Lift fine and no waiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bryan10king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    230
    48
    16
    11
See reviews for
122
168
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Came here with expectations of small rooms and tiny corridors and no lifts...like in Rome. Boy were we suprised. huge entrance and our room was very large with a big bathroom also. The breakfast buffet is crammed with sweet and savoury delights. Love the location, service is great place is extremely clean, hots of steaming hot water.... Exepptionaly reasonable prices....we will definitely come back to this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone coming to Bologna

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank sonya1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were impressed by the reviews of this hotel and decided to book it. We were not disappointed. The staff are amazing! They are so knowledgeable and so kind. Mary on reception gave us excellent advise on which cities we could easily travel to - Ferrara and Ravenna-which we did and were richly rewarded in the process. They also recommended really good restaurants such as Tony's Trattoria. The rooms are large and the beds really comfortable . Our towels and bedding were changed regularly and all the bathroom complimentary shampoos etc were replenished, daily. A rug on the floor would have been good, though.
Breakfast was buffet style and although it was cold there was a generous selection and it went on until10.30am.There is a lovely courtyard / patio which is a [pleasant place to sit and have a drink.
It is the location of this hotel which scores most highly as it really is in a most convenient location for the main sites and the for all transport links. The hotel is clean and smart and above all I cannot help but repeat what charming and affable staff they employ at the Cavour.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back (No.82) which overlooked a small road. It was quiet and huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank franksept1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Excellent location, right off main street and 10 minutes from train station. Excellent staff, friendly and great restaurant recommendations. Excellent breakfast, excellent coffee and food selection. Excellent rooms, clean and very spacious. Excellent air conditioning. Will definitely stay again, just not in June. Temps and humidity too high for us from Las Vegas.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaItalia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

it is a good three stars, with one extra surprise: the bathrobe !
bathroom wide, good shower; the water closet table was not fixed properly
room wide enough, good bed; good position in a small (typical) side road; a very nice setting;
breakfast just correct for the hotel class and, maybe, ambitions; not unforgettable;
price entirely correct considering the fact that Bologna has one fair after the other, and hotel prices tend to rocket high

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Arzillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

2 adults and 2 teens stayed here in one room in July 2013. Our room was enormous - I've never stayed in a bedroom so large, let alone a hotel room - its the size of a big apartment. The double bed area and the twin bed area were separated by a long 'corridor' and a bathroom so perfect for us as a family. The TV was only viewable in the twin room section. The teens were wowed out by the size of the room and the division into separate areas. The location is fantastically central - only a few minutes walk from the main piazzas and great if you want to go back and cool down/rest/use the bathroom/change/collect something you forgot. We decided to walk from the train station to the hotel - it was so straight forward and even better most of the walk was under Bologna's famous covered walkways (Portico's). It only took about 15 minutes wheeling our wheeled suitcases to get to the hotel. We arrived in a heatwave and were grateful for such a central location. There is a fridge so you can put your own water in there to chill. I don't understand why other reviewers are complaining there is no English TV - seems a bit odd to me to want English TV on holiday and surely nearly everyone has access to the news via the Wifi (get the code from the front desk) on their own internet devices? Only negatives for me would be that so many light bulbs were not working and only clothes you could happily put away were hanging in the wardrobe in the twin bed section. little or no draws or shelves to use. So we mostly lived out of our suitcases but there was so much room it didn't matter. It would matter if we'd spent a lot of money on the room or it was a higher star rating, but for 3 star it was perfectly fine. Also the shower in the bathroom had no ooomph to it and was more like a being in a camper van shower cubicle without any pressure. You also had to hold the shower handle as there was no way to secure it in a position. Despite the few negatives I would stay here again because of the central location and the size of the room and, I forgot to mention, it was very clean. Great for family budget trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTeapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. Situated right in the middle of town, very near to shops and restaurants.

The staff were very helpful and overall we had a good stay and don t mind recommending this hotel.

The room was quite spacious but the old finish and furnishings make it look very tired. A part of the hotel has been refurbished recently so ask for your room to be one of the newly refurbished.

All in all it lived up to the expectations of a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dundrinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
BuonHotel
BuonHotel
#44 of 103 in Bologna
252 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#31 of 103 in Bologna
260 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 103 in Bologna
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Albergo Centrale
#24 of 103 in Bologna
703 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#10 of 103 in Bologna
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavour

Property: Hotel Cavour
Address: Via Goito 4, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavour 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing