We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, comfortable”
Review of Hotel Cavour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cavour
Ranked #34 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is located within a few minutes' walk of the centre of Bologna. My room was comfortable, without being particularly stylish. Staff were helpful and English speaking. Private parking is possible, though I managed to find a blue (public) space right outside the hotel. I did, though, find driving out of this central area a nightmare, with rising bollards blocking my way. In the end, a kind Italian lowered them for me with a code.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeflloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cavour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

My cousin and I were very satisfied with this hotel, walking distance from the train station as well as the sights (and sites!) in the old city.the front desk staff was both efficient and friendly and the breakfast was both plentiful and well-organized. Our split-level room was quite large and attractively decorated. I especially appreciated the large shady, open-air terrace on the ground floor. I imagine it is a great place for a cocktail, but in my case, I just wanted a quiet, open-air place to read for a couple of hours. This was ideal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MinersDaughter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is excellent, great value, and the rooms are clean and well appointed. Staff are very helpful and give great advice and assistance, going the extra mile to find what you need. The breakfast is exactly what you want to stock up for a day of sight-seeing. Just a few minutes from the centre and the historical areas of the city, walking is the best way to see what's on offer. We found the hotel on TripAdvisor following the reviews, and it lived up to everything we read. Thankyou to the staff, Mary Ann and her colleagues. We had a great five days and will be coming back to the hotel to continue our exploration of Bologna.

Room Tip: Room 97 is at the back, quiet and spacious, great to relax. Everything is just great. Also, get a ta...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank matt_leggatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in Bologna for 5 nights in May 2014. We explored the city and used it for a jumping off point for side trips to Ferrara and Verona. Our room for 4 was comfortable and the location was most convenient to the city sights and the train station. The only glitches were that the wifi was a little spotty and the hot water in the shower was not very hot and the volume poor. the staff was great and the breakfast was very good. We even had a small balcony.

Room Tip: The lock on the bathroon door in room 94 is finicky. One friend was trapped inside for 20 minutes...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharkdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very good value hotel and rooms spacious. This 3 star hotel is close to the centre of Bologna (5 mins walk) and is in an excellent position for exploring the city. The staff are very helpful and the breakfast is good and what one expects in Italy.
Lots of good bars and restaurants close by - very good food everywhere and reasonable prices. We loved the covered porticos in Bologna which allow you to shop and walk to the various churches, museums and eateries etc in the dry - it did rain all of one day when we were there but not a problem. No traffic allowed in the centre at weekends but taxis can get to the hotel via the back streets. Would recommend the Hotel Cavour.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor - only 5 rooms on that floor so no external noise. Lift fine and no waiti...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bryan10king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Came here with expectations of small rooms and tiny corridors and no lifts...like in Rome. Boy were we suprised. huge entrance and our room was very large with a big bathroom also. The breakfast buffet is crammed with sweet and savoury delights. Love the location, service is great place is extremely clean, hots of steaming hot water.... Exepptionaly reasonable prices....we will definitely come back to this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone coming to Bologna

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank sonya1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were impressed by the reviews of this hotel and decided to book it. We were not disappointed. The staff are amazing! They are so knowledgeable and so kind. Mary on reception gave us excellent advise on which cities we could easily travel to - Ferrara and Ravenna-which we did and were richly rewarded in the process. They also recommended really good restaurants such as Tony's Trattoria. The rooms are large and the beds really comfortable . Our towels and bedding were changed regularly and all the bathroom complimentary shampoos etc were replenished, daily. A rug on the floor would have been good, though.
Breakfast was buffet style and although it was cold there was a generous selection and it went on until10.30am.There is a lovely courtyard / patio which is a [pleasant place to sit and have a drink.
It is the location of this hotel which scores most highly as it really is in a most convenient location for the main sites and the for all transport links. The hotel is clean and smart and above all I cannot help but repeat what charming and affable staff they employ at the Cavour.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back (No.82) which overlooked a small road. It was quiet and huge.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank franksept1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
BuonHotel
BuonHotel
#44 of 102 in Bologna
254 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
470 reviews
Albergo Centrale
#24 of 102 in Bologna
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Panorama Hotel
#30 of 102 in Bologna
267 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 102 in Bologna
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavour

Address: Via Goito 4, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range: £74 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavour 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing