We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, close to train station.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #50 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, close to train station.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

For the price you pay, you get a nice, clean, secure room in a hotel a short walk from the train station, and relatively close to the sights of the city. Staff were courteous and helpful. The hotel will let you leave your luggage, which, while not locked up, is next to an office that is occupied by a manager or other staff member.

Rate included 12 hours of complimentary internet, and breakfast, which was large and of good quality.

Bathroom was nice, and shower had adequate hot water. No downsides that we saw.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Canad1an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    218
    151
    44
    12
See reviews for
59
138
20
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

all you have to do is ask. maybe they don't smile a lot. but BOY OH BOY, all you have to do is ask - ask nicely, - and they honestly do help you. this is not just one person, it's all of them. the entire staff is terrific, a bunch of "personal assistants". Truth is - we couldn't ask for more . we have been going there for business for a couple of years, and they WANT TO HELP. they go out of their way to be helpful and ask if what they did is correct. and ask if they can do more. plant them in a fancy - famous place, and you'd have a seven, maybe eight-star hotel experience !!
barbara + Stuart

Room Tip: the windows are tight, so even if you sleep on the street side, it's quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjktrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
214 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Located few minutes by walk to the main train station, with easy access to the centre, either by walk or by transport.

The hotel price was cheap, around €55 per twin room, including breakfast which wasn't bad. Rooms are served by a lift, clean and spacious, with an hour of wi-fi given for free. Beds are average, offering good quality of sleep.

For the priced we paid, honestly I expected a lower standard., I recommend this hotel and wouldn't bother to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noble-taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami fl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Large room, large bed, clean, great location.
Just blocks away from the Stazione (Train Station) but far enough so you are in a safer, not so busy place. Near the red City Tour bus station, and the shopping district.
I read here in the reviews that most American people find a problem with the front desk people; this is all about culture.. yes, of course, you might find very cool,refined and professional people in the front desk of a 4 star hotel in Berlin or even in Italy. But these guys and ladies at the Front Desk were knowledgeable and were trying their best. Italians will be warm or upset very easily going from one extreme to the other in a minute sometimes. As an American/Brazilian I can handle this behavior maybe better than most Americans. The Hotel downstairs is gorgeous with dark brown wood doors, golden moldings and, different than most 4 star Hiltons, it's got personality. Flavor.

Room Tip: We were in a front room, 2nd floor and we were happy Bologna is a busier city, you can't expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bemamimiamifl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed in a double room twice during the month of October 2013. The first time on third floor and the second on first floor both times facing the street and it was NOT noisy at all. Small rooms, two twin beds, clean, no bugs. The had small bottles of shampoo/body wash, expect separate shampoo and body wash in four star hotel. Only one pair of slippers. The hair dryer was very bad, I might as well have had tried to dry my short, fairly thin has with a manual sun fan. Staff unfriendly, breakfast just OK. Situated in a boring part of the town, no shops or restaurants. You had to walk 10-15 min to get to nice areas. Only 5 minutes walk to the railway station which is great if you are taking the train

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bitteusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for a few nughts recently. The room was a good size, with a huge double bed (mattress quite hard, though, might not be to everyone's taste), and the room had a safe, which was great because it meant we could travel around very light. We had free wi-fi, which was great for checking in online on the return journey. The staff were very helpful, especially the cleaning staff and the women on the reception desk.

It's near the station, so journeys to nearby towns and cities are very straightforward.

But boy was the room noisy! We were on the first floor and seemed to be just above conferences, dances, parties, you name it. It might be worth asking for a quieter room to see what they can do.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormpetrel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I've seen better places for less money. The hotel was extremely noisy, particularly during the night. The staff was extremely disorganized for the payments. Everything was clean, but the bathroom's tiles are broken and you can be in company of bugs. Breakfast was ok. This hotel could be a 4 stars 10 years ago. It's not worth the hype.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bologna hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
Millennhotel
Millennhotel
#64 of 104 in Bologna
672 reviews
Mercure Bologna Centro
#51 of 104 in Bologna
1,943 reviews
UNA Hotel Bologna
#26 of 104 in Bologna
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Excelsior
#24 of 104 in Bologna
1,553 reviews
Royal Hotel Carlton
#18 of 104 in Bologna
716 reviews
NH Bologna De La Gare
#37 of 104 in Bologna
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Cesare Boldrini 11, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#35 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing