We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location at a reasonable price”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

As others have said, the Metropolitan is centrally located & within easy walking distance of most things - restaurants, bars, museums etc. We stayed for 3 nights in the main hotel in a double room. It was simply furnished and very clean and considering the great location we thought the price was extremely reasonable. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel but there are many cafes nearby for a coffee & pastry. Bologna is a charming city and we enjoyed our stay. By the way, if you are coming from the airport, there is a bus for €6 which takes about 20 minutes and stops across the street from the hotel (on weekdays only). On the weekend the bus stops a few blocks away - maybe a 10 minute walk - not awful but do check with reception for directions. If you purchase a "Bologna Welcome" card for €20 at the info desk at the airport you can get 2 bus tickets to the city plus free admission to almost all the museums for 2 days. Well worth it if you plan to do that sort of sight-seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsHacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed there recently and this had the largest hotel room in my two week trip to Italy. I was in the main building which was well located near the center of Bologna. The room had a double bed, small kitchen facilities and a nice bathroom. Would stay there again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank MAC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel in Bologna. All of the people we spoke to at the front desk were very helpful. Like others on this site, we were offered a studio apartment that was a short walk from the hotel. We accepted the upgrade and really enjoyed it. The studio apartment was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. It also had plenty of space, which is something that is unusual for European hotel rooms. We would stay here again if we are in Bologna.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank first_replay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Spent two nights here. Travelled with a friend and we got a room with double bed. The staff was very helpful and remade the beds and separated them immediately. The bed was also really comfortable. The hotel was clean and modern, located on a quiet street. Very nice and fresh breakfast. Free wifi worked perfectly. Close to city centre. There were some really good restaurants on the next street. This would definitely be my choice again if I go back for a weekend trip to Bologna.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordgloben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked this hotel last minute. We were greeted at reception by a lovely lady
Sarah who was extremely helpful. As it was the holiday period for the locals many of
the restaurants were closed. Sarah recommended a few choices and all were very good.
She also assisted us in getting faxes back to Australia. The room was small but adequate.
Location was fantastic (worth the small room) Close to all the tourist attractions, all walking distance. Would recommend for value for the tariff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMC022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

If I was to choose a hotel just based on location, this would be it. Factor in the price, and it is a no brainer.
Then add in the experience from the front desk at check in. We arrived tired and jet lagged, to be greeted by a smiling receptionist. We were staying for 2 nights, and she offered us the double we had booked, or a studio apartment a few minutes walk around the corner, just as close to the main street. We were able to look at both rooms before deciding.
Easy choice for the studio apartment.
If we return to Barcelona, this will definitely be the hotel we stay at.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sakillik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Small room, we noticed some dirt near our bed, unconfortable pillows. Our room were not beautifully decorated like the rooms on the photos.

The shower is not so powerful, and the shower place is opened so the bathroom floor were always wet, no big problem if there wasn't a stair between the room and the bathroom. The stairs were wet too and became dangerous. The hairdryer were placed on the wall next to the stairs, not very clever. So you have to be on the stairs to dry your hair.

Staff were not so friendly, and one member was almost rude on check-in.

Location is great, only 5 minutes walk from city centre.

We didn't have breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,283 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,568 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 102 in Bologna
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
934 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bologna
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £92 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing