We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2014 in Metropolitan Hotel”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After 9 days on the road from Brindisi to Bologna we arrived to Metropolitan - the best hotel we could imagine.
The were most helpful finding solutions for packing up and storing our bikes for transportation to Denmark.
The staf is very skilled, kind, helpful and they knew just how to make our stay straordinario in Bologna.
I will not hesitate to recommend Hotel Metropolitan to friends and family - and I look forward to stay in Metropolitan on our next trip to Bologna. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Søren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,528)
There are newer reviews for Metropolitan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

I recently spent three nights in one of the Mets Apartments with my husband and young daughter (she is almost two). We would highly recommend it - the location is great, just a short walk to the centre. The apartments are a short walk from the hotel and are on a quiet side road. When we made our reservation we were offered a studio apartment. We asked whether there was one available with a separate bedroom (easier for putting our daughter to bed) The manager kindly replied to say there was but it would be 30 euros per night more - but said if it was still available when we checked in we could have it at no extra cost. When we got to our apartment it was one with a separate bedroom and we paid nothing extra as promised so were really pleased. The decor and facilities in the apartment were excellent and there was a travel cot set up for our daughter as requested. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful - the whole place had a lovely feel to it. Would definitely stay there again if we are ever back in Bologna.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I had booked a superior room as a treat to the end of a holiday. I had been upgraded to a junior suite with its own outdoor space. Air-conditioned, 4-poster bed and spacious. Everything included and well-stocked. Even the slippers are very comfortable. It is the thoughtful touches like a rolled up mat ready to put down beside the bed...clean for each new guest.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a wide-ranging buffet and extras were produced when asked for, well worth 12 Euros.

Room Tip: Room 604 for real luxury!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is extremely clean and staff very friendly. Air conditioned Neely refurbished rooms. Boutique minimalist style all white decor with changing lights in the glass fronted wet room. TV mini bar all the mod cons. Not noisy considering proximity to ygr main road. Great location for shops bars and restaurants and only ten minutes walk from main square in your city. We received free upgrades on the rooms being a quieter midweek booking - splendid!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatyBlakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This lovely, modern hotel has good service and a wonderful location on a quiet street off the via Galeria in center city. The hotel is a short walk from the train station. My room was spacious and beautifully appointed, with air conditioning, modern bathroom fixtures, travertine floors, and chic styling. The staff was helpful and welcoming. My room was situated off a rooftop courtyard and had a small semi-private patio area attached. Traveling alone, I thoroughly enjoyed this outdoor terrace in the evening after a day of walking the city. The breakfast was exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It was about a 15 minute walk to and from the train station. We used Bologna as a base for day trips, and this hotel worked out well for us. When we first arrived, we had to ask one of the waiters at the nearby outdoor lounge where Hotel Metropolitan was located. He laughed and pointed, and said "right over there." We passed by it. The sign reads: Orso 6 (no mention of the word, "Metropolitan"). Check in was easy. We were lucky that our room was exactly like the one featured in the Hotel photographs. It was modern, elegant and very clean. We did speak with other customers who were not happy with their older rooms--nothing like the rooms featured on this site. I don't know how the hotel assigns rooms, perhaps first come, first serve (since we made reservations well in advance), but you might want to request the more modern, up to date rooms if that is an option. The hotel was gracious to make reservations at three restaurants on our behalf, and we had no problems at any of the restaurants. We also took Alessandro's Food Experience tour (a must in Bologna), and they arrived promptly at the hotel to pick us up. The hotel is also close to notable streets: Indipendenza, Ugo Bassi and Rizzoli, so quite easy to navigate to local attractions. The Metropolitan Hotel is a good choice for a stay in Bologna, not too far from the train station or anything, for that matter.

Room Tip: Please realize that not all the rooms look like rooms featured in the Hotel Photos; check the photos...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caterina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The situation of the hotel is excellent. It's near the station and the tourist spots. We visited the nearby towns such as Parma, Modena, Ravenna, Rimini, Ferrara and San Marino. What I would really recommend is a visit to the Ferrari museum.
In the evening you really 'come home' to a clean and nice bed- and bathroom. In the morning, you get a real treat at breakfast: every item of food is in a mini version and it is all very attractively presented.
I really appreciated the staff. They were friendly, precise, professional and made everything go smoothly.
I'd really recommend anyone to come visit the hotel and enjoy the city Bologna.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
885 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Touring
#6 of 102 in Bologna
1,601 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
472 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £99 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing