We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic bed and breakfast in Bologna”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic bed and breakfast in Bologna”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is a little gem. It has the wow factor as soon as you step in. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. The free wi-fi comes in very useful. The breakfast is beautifully laid out and offers a great start to the day. As we were staying there for 7 nights they put us in a room towards the centre of the hotel which meant it was very peaceful as it did not look out onto the busy cafe across the street. The room was very clean and spacious and the complimentary teas and coffees were a lovely surprise. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDW_lover_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    512
    107
    22
    7
See reviews for
265
592
119
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Girona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel fede years ago and we wouldn' stay anywhere else in Bologna. The location is perfect for shopping and going out in Bologna, it's less that 5 minutes walk away from the main square and easily to find from central train station.
The reception staff are very helpful, the rooms are very clean, wifi perfect.
Breakfast super.
Ciao

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, MD
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The location of this hotel was superb. Just off of the main street in downtown Bologna. Easy to walk to everywhere. The people at the front desk were simply wonderful. They made the stay very nice. A small complaint: wi-fi was not working well at all, to the dismay of my teenage daughter. We used the lobby to access but it was a hassle. We didn't eat here at all. Had a cute room with a separate alcove with a twin for daughter. Our bedroom was a step down and I missed it a couple of times, but luckily didn't fall. Part of the "charm" of older hotels! Would I stay here again? Yes, indeed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stay here regularly on business, and it is always a pleasure. The staff are always charming and helpful, it really makes a different to see a friendly, smiley face when you return from business in a foreign city. The rooms are amazing, the suites in particular are just incredible. I always have a great night sleep. The cleanliness of the hotel and the attention to detail is just impeccable. I will always request to stay here whenever I visit on business, and would certainly choose to stay here when travelling to Bologna for pleasure. A great location, surrounded by great shops and a 5 min walk to the main square that has some lovely restaurants nearby. Thank you Hotel Metropolitan!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Excellent location in the heart of the city. Everything is within walking distance. The staff was helpful and courteous. The room was clean and in excellent condition. The breakfast was good with many options-probably more than most. Wifi was a bit slow and cut out from time to time. Otherwise very pleasant stay and would return if back in Bologna.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel with good internet, this is not the hotel for you. The internet is slower then a snail. And when you ask about solutions they don't have a proper way to help you because there English is pritty broken and they don't understand you properly

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Omer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmetro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest
My apologies that a technical problem has ruined your stay with us.
Our connection works very well, we are not aware of any black-out nor technical problems in our wi-fi net, all the customers’ devices worked perfectly, it’s really strange if "your " device didn’t work, but sometimes it happens, it’s not always our responsibility, it could be also due to your device settings.
The staff is always at disposal of the customers for all problems and they speak perfect English, at every check-in they give to all guests the written instructions (both in English and Italian) for the wi-fi connection. What our staff cannot do, is to solve the possible technical problem of your device: we can help you in suggesting some technical shop, nothing else, we are not allowed to put our hands into "your" device, this needs particular competences. We hope to have the chance to give you a second opportunity to try our structure and services.
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

From the friendly, helpful staff to the comfortable room, great location...Would definitely stay again. Breakfast was a good European spread...hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, breads/rolls, meat, cheeses, cereals, juice, coffee/cappuccino...Room and bathroom was cozy but very clean with good amenities. Easy walk to anywhere we wanted to go. We requested and got a quiet room on the top floor-no view but very quiet.

Room Tip: Stayed in quiet room at the back of the hotel-no view but nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiebeeonmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
869 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Touring
#6 of 103 in Bologna
1,581 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 103 in Bologna
452 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#9 of 103 in Bologna
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing