We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great staff!!”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great staff!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

To my surprise, this hotel is a charm!! The lobby is very inviting and the staff is super friendly! The hotel is modern and very cool!! Check in was done in a matter of minutes and the hotel staff helped us to get our luggage to our room. The room is just sweet. The view from our room is beautiful. Love those big windows. Very clean room.

This hotel is in the center of Bologna. 15 mins walk to the train station. 10 minutes walk to Piazza Maggiore. Very convenient!! Hotel staff is very helpful. We asked for recommendations to local eateries and we got great suggestions every night!! When asked for day trip to Venice, the hotel staff offered to print out train schedule and make train ticket arrangement. Very cool.

Will definitely stay at Metropolitan Hotel in my next trip to Bologna.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    496
    105
    21
    7
See reviews for
253
577
119
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Friendly hotel with great staff who really know their city. Nothing was too much trouble. Good choice at breakfast. Don't hesitate to ask for restaurant recommendations. Spotlessly clean, well equipped and a great city centre location. Rooms spacious for a city like Bologna. Tremendous value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - those overlooking the internal courtyard are quiet, but can be a little dark, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearofswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel itself is very clean and modern. I loved having wifi and working ac in the room. The staff was great and very helpful whenever we asked for restaurant recommendations or directions. The hotel is in a great location. They have a couple of bars right next door, and it is a short walk to the major attractions of Bologna. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on our honeymoon. Room was a decent size by European standards. Very clean, nice bathroom, mini bar, good a/c. Staff were wonderful- spoke great English and were very helpful! Really enjoyed this hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nic_817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were upgraded to 2 apartments which are a couple of blocks away. Gorgeous, slick accommodations. Helpful staff when inquiring about dinner reservations. I would definitely stay here again. We walked fro the train station and many restaurants close by.

Room Tip: When offered the apartment I did ask to see the room accommodations in the hotel and the apartment b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smtanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is a beautiful blend of modernity with European history that Europeans do so well. The rooms are not huge, but are very comfortable and extremely clean. The early 20th cent building is furnished with in contemporary style. Great interior design - great form and function. Dont miss the patio next to the breakfast room.

A 10 minute walk to the Train Station or to the Pza. Maggiore (main city center).

The Bologna "canal window" is only 2 blocks away (it's worth the stroll for the photo op).

Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Hotel staff was wonderfully helpful and responsive. We had 2 rooms for our family of 4 (2 teen boys). We were very very pleased and would recommend to anyone.

If you're going to Florence also, check out First of Florence.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a side street, so you dont get noise from Via Independenzia. We had rooms 102 and 110...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KNAP3133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is a little gem. It has the wow factor as soon as you step in. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. The free wi-fi comes in very useful. The breakfast is beautifully laid out and offers a great start to the day. As we were staying there for 7 nights they put us in a room towards the centre of the hotel which meant it was very peaceful as it did not look out onto the busy cafe across the street. The room was very clean and spacious and the complimentary teas and coffees were a lovely surprise. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDW_lover_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
843 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Touring
#5 of 103 in Bologna
1,548 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#6 of 103 in Bologna
432 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing