We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have to agree with all the other positve reviews about this place. We had a great stay. Rooms are very comfortable and clean (and a decent size too!) with a mini bar fridge, and hot drink facilties. However what really makes this place special is the staff. They are, without exception, fabulous (although I had a particular soft spot for Roberto!). So friendly and helpful (both front of house staff, breakfast staff, and the lovely man who showed us our room.
We stayed 3 nights, then left for one night (to stay in Ravenna) before returning for another night. They were happy for us to leave most of our luggage for that one night, and, when we returned it was already in the room for us.
We were lucky enough to be put in the junir suite for the last night which was beautiful.
The hotel is in a great position for exploring the area, we spent a couple of dayas in Bologna (which is overlooed, but beautiful. It feels vibrant and safe), but the hotel is close enough to the train station for days out too. We went to Modena, Ferrara (well worht a day out) and Ravenna (stunning!).
If you fancy a short break in Bolgna, don't look any further, just book here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySalfordGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    513
    108
    22
    7
See reviews for
265
595
119
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I called the day of arrival to book at last minute. As the apartments were not available try offered us a hotel room

Upon arrival we were upgraded. The lady ( apologies as I forgot her name but she had brown hair) was amazing. She warned us where to and not to park and assisted us with our parking ticket. She have us a map and recommended a few places. She always had a smile and was very helpful- probably the best customer service we received in the whole of Italy

We had a room in the olive free garden. It was spectacular. A great comfy bed. Walk in shower with three heads. A deep bath tub.

A great buffet breakfast full of great options.

Overall a fabulous stay. We will be back if we return to bologna

Thank you for the great service!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

If in Bologna, stay at Metropolitan! Very nice, helpful staff, impeccable room, great location, what else would you wish for? The restaurant nearby we were recommended for lunch was also a very good choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrk011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a very nice, somewhat trendy, hotel with a great location. We stayed for four nights in a Junior Suite in the Olive Garden and it was very peaceful. Room was lovely and it was great to have our own private, outdoor, seating area. Loved the breakfasts! Staff goes out of their way to accommodate.

Room Tip: If it fits your budget, reserve Jr. Suite in Olive Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful with a very good command of English (we don't have Italian). Hotel location is excellent - a 5 minute walk from the central square and a 10 minute walk straight down from the station. There is actually an Aerobus stop right outside the alley that the hotel is on if you are coming by bus from the airport. At the weekend the central city is off-limits to cars (including the street outside the hotel) which makes for a nice atmosphere. The double room was quiet and reasonably sized. The TV had BBC World News as well as many other domestic channels. There were tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The reception area was smart and public areas in general were clean and well maintained. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjohare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Having spent several days in the Metropolitan I have no hesitation in recommending it. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly & accommodating, & they provide a breakfast to set you up for the day. One personal accolade for Sara on reception who was fantastic - her restaurant recommendations were excellent & nothing was too much trouble for her :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

To my surprise, this hotel is a charm!! The lobby is very inviting and the staff is super friendly! The hotel is modern and very cool!! Check in was done in a matter of minutes and the hotel staff helped us to get our luggage to our room. The room is just sweet. The view from our room is beautiful. Love those big windows. Very clean room.

This hotel is in the center of Bologna. 15 mins walk to the train station. 10 minutes walk to Piazza Maggiore. Very convenient!! Hotel staff is very helpful. We asked for recommendations to local eateries and we got great suggestions every night!! When asked for day trip to Venice, the hotel staff offered to print out train schedule and make train ticket arrangement. Very cool.

Will definitely stay at Metropolitan Hotel in my next trip to Bologna.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
871 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Touring
#6 of 103 in Bologna
1,583 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 103 in Bologna
453 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 103 in Bologna
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing