We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money!”
Review of Grand Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Elite
Ranked #48 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We were in this hotel in April. This is a 4star hotel and it is really beautiful. We got an apartment and it was very spacious with big beds and a kitchen. The hotel is very quiet, and close to the Centrum (we walked to the Centrum). Near the hotel you can park a car with no charge. The breakfast was really rich, tasteful and there were a lot of choices. The internet WAS NOT FREE. That I can’t understand!!! The staff - very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniella1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

I spent 4 nights at this hotel with 5 friends. The transfer from the airport to the hotel is easy (15minutes) but it was cheaper, quicker and more convenient to take a cab for 15 euros per cab than for all of us to pay 6 euros each on the aerobus. The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly and helpful, most were muti-lingual. The rooms were comfortable, with everything we needed. We had a quiet nights sleep as we were situated at the back of the hotel, i do not know how quiet the rooms overlooking the road were. The lift could be heard from the sofa bed in the sitting room though, so it was a little disturbing last thing at night and first thing in the morning, for the person using that room. Breakfast was good, but i would advise going out for dinner. There is a really nice reasonably priced place to eat called Gigi on Via Saffi, 10 minutes walk from the hotel, where we ate 2 nights as the food and the service was good. The hotel was quite good value for money, but it is a fairly long walk to the centre, although there are a number of busess, that go from a bus stop just up the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, at the back. The suites with 2 bedrooms also have 3 tv's, a full size sofa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank holidaysjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel with our kids, aged 10 and 14. We were lucky enough to receive an upgrade upon check-in because we had used credit card miles to book it. We ended up in a fairly nice, but dated suite with it's own bar. I'm sure this was a very fancy hotel in the 60s and 70s. The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful. There is internet access on a computer in the lobby. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in four countries. The location is not ideal as it is not located within the historic section, however you can easily travel there on a city bus that picks up right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SS1LaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I spent 10 days in this hotel and there were a lot of good things to say about this hotel and some not so good.

Good things:
The safe was friendly and able to answer most of my questions or concerns, especially when the shower was not working properly and giving boiling hot water and was able to get me and my children another hotel room right away.
I was given a nice parting gift when I left.

Bad things:

The hotel staff did not know where the closest laundry mat was, also, they say in their little pamphlet that you have access to homelike facilities for extended stay. What is their terms for extended stay, I mean, most people stay a few days, I was there 10 days and had to hand wash all my clothing and hang it up to dry in various places in the room. Not fun with 3 kids.
The breakfast was usually cold, even the hot items were cold.
The internet that I was paying for was down or dropped more times then I was on.
There was nothing in this hotel, and not able to find a place to do anything (ie pool, or anything)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acjsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I traveled with three girlfriends, and we traveled cheap. I had no expectations for this property at all. We were VERY happily surprised by beyond gorgeous views, by far the largest hotel room we had on our trip, and super cool room perks, like two deep closets, a full seated bar, mini fridge, gigantic bathroom, and expansive deck outside. We would have stayed a week had we known what we were getting for such a low fare. The front desk service was very nice too, and helped us get train schedules and transportation.

I don't know the name of it, but there is a shop a few hundred yards away with the BEST gelato ever... mascarpone and fig! To die for.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel3202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

i found this a rather quaint hotel,which at first looks a bit dated but is quite charming.the wood panelling may not be to everyones taste.however it is really good value,the breakfast buffet was excellent,though i did not use the restaurant.the downside is that it is a good 15-20 minute walk into the centre of bologna.the rooms were on the small side but cosy and very clean.the lift was a bit noisy but being a heavy sleeper it was not really a problem.the staff are really efficent and quite helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigerdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The hotel is a 20 min walk to the centre so great for exploring the city there are also good bus links, the staff on reception were very helpful and polite and showed us to our room on arrival. The room was beautiful, it was large and clean and it was great having a balcony!
We had the buffet breakfast, there was a large selection and was of a good standard.
We loved the room and the staff made us feel very welcome, we would definitely stay here again, Bologna is a beautiful city and this hotel makes the stay even better.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoatEnki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#22 of 102 in Bologna
1,980 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#28 of 102 in Bologna
284 reviews
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#20 of 102 in Bologna
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amadeus Hotel
#45 of 102 in Bologna
678 reviews
Ramada Encore Bologna
#16 of 102 in Bologna
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Elite

Address: Via Aurelio Saffi 36, 40131 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £42 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Grand Hotel Elite for 50 years does not betray the wishes of its guests by offering even today the same refined atmosphere donated by precious materials, elegant details, the quality of living in spacious comfort rooms, unique in the functional solutions, a real its objection in the hotel reality. luxury 4 star hotel, high quality cuisine, perfect spa area for their physical fitness and meeting rooms where you can gather for the demands of work: you will find all this and more at the Grand Hotel Elite, 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Near Marconi Airport and Central Station, not far from the Stadio Dall'Ara, the Fair and the city center, this beautiful hotel suite gives you a unique stay with many plus and daily attention to your service. Inside you'll find a furnished room in vintage style, where furniture and decorative elements recall perfectly the elegance of the '70s: a luxury of the past, which the Grand Hotel Elite is brought to light, perfectly combining it with good facilities and staff always attentive to your needs. A choice of this property with the view to preserving the unique character of the structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing