We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old but good hotel for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Elite
Ranked #48 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old but good hotel for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed in Bologna for two nights and we chose Grand Hotel Elite because it had a good reputation in the net and the price was right. Just like people have written, this is a hotel that has seen it's glory days. Couple decades ago Elite was probably the poshiest thing in Bologna. If you still want a piece of that, I guess you should pay more and try the Suite Hotel Elite that is just around the corner. Having said that, Grand Hotel Elite is the perfect choice if you are travelling on a budget.

Our room was super spacious and tidy. Air conditioning worked just fine. Only thing that didn't work at all was wi-fi. Thankfully the nice people at reception gave us a cable for the LAN network and we had access to internet. It seemed that other rooms had the same problem since there was always someone using the working wifi in the lobby. So either be prepared to use the internet near the reception or bring a device that has wire interface.

Room Tip: The wifi might not work, so bring a device that has wire (LAN) if you need internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anolmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    487
    219
    73
    53
See reviews for
261
352
54
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is old and used but very well managed and clean. Bravo for the people who clean rooms and other facilities. Hotel is seriouslly 20 minutes wlak from the centre and is well located for trips with car from Bologna. It offers a garagewhic will need to be paid but hey what is for free these days.
People at reception speak languages and are very helpfull. Thehotel has some strange room policies but it is theirs not mi e and let them manage the hotel while we are guests only.
We had some problems with parking but we hope this will be solved as it should be (we will change the review if necessray) but the poplemoving the car in garage should tell if they damage the car isn't it. Well the management of the hotel sais they will solve the situation with insurance.

Room Tip: We were i 6th floor which may help in noise levels from city road below the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JurijKobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Old style hotel, a bit far away from the center but can reach by bus. However; the room was quite big. The breakfast was extra so we rather took it outside at another place. The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beste D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

There is nothing to write exciting about this hotel. Proper accomodation with a little old style. But for people visiting Bologna it is a relly good choice. Proximity to bus stop. Ample family room. You can submerged in Bologna history and come back late night by bus. Very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

A little out-dated yes, but why not look upon it as old-school glamour? There are tassels on the room keys, that deserves points. I stayed in the Grand Hotel Elite for 7 nights and had no complaints. The room was cleaned daily and a fair size for two with a little sofa and plenty of storage.

The walk into town is about 25 minutes, but every night on the way back we broke it up with a stop at a lovely cremeria (gelato shop) just up the road. Most of the way into town is covered by Bologna's famous porticos, so it's not too hot. The hotel breakfast seemed overpriced, so if you don't fancy it, there is a supermarket on the way into the city where you can pick up bread, salami etc. for a few euros.

Overall this hotel didn't have all (OK, most) of the modern conveniences, but if you want to go exploring, get back late and up early, it is a reasonable price and perfect just to rest your head.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank writingwaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We arrived and went to check in, where we were met by a fairly old man behind the desk. He could barely speak English, but we managed to work out that he wanted us to pay upon arrival. I haven't stayed in many hotels, but thought this seemed odd?

We were 3 people staying for a week and were given a small room with a double bed and a sofa bed and a small bathroom which didn't smell too nice. On top of that, the drinking water was not cold, and the refrigerator didn't work. Worst of all - the air conditioning didn't work. I went down and complained and it seemed like he didn't believe me. He went to check on a screen the temperature of our room, and told me that it is working. I thought to myself that it must just take time before we notice it. Nothing happened. I then went again to complain, and he went back to check. He told me it was 24 degrees in the room (later he told me 25), and I was confused if he thought that it was normal. Is it normal in Italy to sleep at these temperatures in a small room? It was on the main road side as well so windows couldn't be opened as it was a busy room. Anyways he told me he would write it down and they would check it out in the morning. I told him that we couldn't stay for a week in a room like this, and he told me all the other rooms were full. We hardly slept.

Why the 4 star?
Well, we were getting ready the next morning, and we received a call from reception telling us that we could change rooms. We were very interested in seeing if all rooms had this temperature problem, and if it was the norm in Italy and we got into a new room that was so much cooler. We were happy to find this out. Not only did we get a room with working air conditioning, but we also got a much bigger room with a long balcony, bigger living area, and a decent sized bathroom. We were happy, and stayed more or less happy during our whole stay. The refridgerator was weak, it barely felt as though it was on - but it we left water in for a couple of hours then it got colder than room temperature. Had we not been given a room with a faulty air condition system on the first night and a man who didn't seem to believe me or couldn't communicate well enough, we would have given it a 4 star review, so I decided to be generous :-)

Very nice and helpful staff (especially 2 of them, a man and a woman working together), big room compared to the standard hotel, quiet, internet that worked most of the time, a bit slow but better than no internet.

Oh, and i wouldn't recommend the breakfast or the restaurant, it seemed a bit pricey and there are good places to go in the area! I think I have covered everything. 15-20 minute walk to the city centre. No way a 30min walk unless you are window shopping and taking it slow (which we did a few times as there is lots to see!) Would definitely go back to this hotel, because you REALLY get your money's worth here, this was a lot cheaper than the other hotels we found that were close to the city centre. 13-14 euros to/from airport.

Room Tip: We were 3 people and stayed in 021 (second floor) after complaining about a faulty A/C unit. Very ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Talk about a dated hotel in need of a facelift. Booked this as a 4 star hotel online, more like a 2 star. Hotel wanted us to move rooms three times over 4 night stay, asked if we could leave and if they would refund NO.....

Not a happy customer... customer service lacking

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GettingStamped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#35 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#23 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Ramada Encore Bologna
#15 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Hotel Il Guercino
#29 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Elite

Property: Grand Hotel Elite
Address: Via Aurelio Saffi 36, 40131 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Grand Hotel Elite for 50 years does not betray the wishes of its guests by offering even today the same refined atmosphere donated by precious materials, elegant details, the quality of living in spacious comfort rooms, unique in the functional solutions, a real its objection in the hotel reality. luxury 4 star hotel, high quality cuisine, perfect spa area for their physical fitness and meeting rooms where you can gather for the demands of work: you will find all this and more at the Grand Hotel Elite, 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Near Marconi Airport and Central Station, not far from the Stadio Dall'Ara, the Fair and the city center, this beautiful hotel suite gives you a unique stay with many plus and daily attention to your service. Inside you'll find a furnished room in vintage style, where furniture and decorative elements recall perfectly the elegance of the '70s: a luxury of the past, which the Grand Hotel Elite is brought to light, perfectly combining it with good facilities and staff always attentive to your needs. A choice of this property with the view to preserving the unique character of the structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing