We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value hotel in Italy”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #39 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

Great hotel and a fantastic deal at 40 Euros a night. So easy to get around on the buses. This hotel can put some of the other big chain hotels in Italy's larger cities to shame - it has personal, attentive
Service! Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MermaidNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Ran across this one while looking for an inexpensive (E40 double) one-night stay in Bologna with an early flight out the next morning. In all but location relative to city center, It is an excellent choice. We would stay here again even if for a longer period.

The hotel was clean, comfortable and modern, with good wifi, nice-sized fridge & safe in the room, & larger-than-average (especially for Italy) bath. Location is sort of rural, which means quiet & safe, but nothing of interest or convenience nearby, as best we could tell (maybe use your bus pass to go a few stops back towards town if you need to buy something). Communications before our arrival, including arranging a very early airport shuttle (..E20 for two) were efficient and friendly, as were the staff during our stay. We left too early for breakfast, but the desk guy made me an espresso at the bar...probably would have rustled up a few croissants or something, if we had asked. On request, they printed out our boarding passes the night before. We noticed some people having dinner in the small restaurant area that night & it looked good...don't know the price.

If you arrive in Bologna by train, Bus 25 towards the Gomito end leaves from one of the spots ACROSS THE MAIN STREET from the train station, and a bit to the right (with your back to the station). Be sure to take the number 25 bus with NO letter after the 25. You won't have any trouble figuring out which stop is Gomito, as you'll quite possibly be the only people on the bus by that point, the hotel is right in front of you & the driver actually shuts down the bus for a few minutes & takes a break, so you don't have to rush to get your luggage off. Coming back in, that same bus makes stops near most of the center-city areas. As you exit the train station, go around to your right & look for the small bus ticket office in the front of the building (left front if you're facing the station). Buy a 4 euro 24 hour pass if you plan on using the buses more than a few times in that period.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I was very impressed with this hotel. The hotel itself is very clean, presentable, modern and friendly. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and really added to our stay. The room we had was very comfortable, although not overly spacious it was pleasantly decorated and fitted, lovely bathroom, nice view and balcony and the beds were surprisingly comfy! I have to say the location is slightly out of the way of the town centre BUT there are regular buses that are very cheap and stop directly outside the hotel. The staff were very good at recommending places and advice for us too. plenty of car parking on site which is free and secure. The best bit is it was so reasonably priced! in my eyes it was too cheap but definitely not complaining!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Excellent and profesional hotel! Very good price! Very helpfull and friendly staff! Next to a bus stop and with big parking area. Free internet and buffet breakfast! A hotel that you want to stay for days! I definatelly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makedonasgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I am writing this review from the hotel lobby where there is a free use of a computer with wifi. This is teh best value hotel froò our trips in Italy. Only 50 euro for a triple room with breakfast included and free parking! The staff is also very nice. My daughter received a toy as a gift in the restaurant.
Breakfast was coòplete -omlete, ham, cheese, gems, cereals, cakes etc, very good for Italy, where usuqlly just receive a packed slice of bread zith jem and nutella..
Air conditioned room, very clean. Bologna was a great experience for restaurants - we tried two. Trattoria Sole Mio and San Giovese, plus great gelatteria Sorbetteria Castiglione near the center.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dydy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Location: Less than 10 minutes from the airport, by cab (around 10-15 euro), 10 minutes by bus from the Railway Station (Stazione Centrale, the bus station is right across the street, from where the Airport Shuttle leave you, in front of Star Hotel Excelsior!!!) or 15 minutes also by bus from downtown (Piazza Nettuno).
The bus ticket from the automatic machine in the bus is 1.5 euro, bought from the reception of the hotel is 1.2 euro, and can be used for a period of 70 minutes, and the tickets for 24 hours cost 4 euro and you can find them at the red kiosk with newspapers and magazines, downtown. The bus station is right next to the hotel and the program is until 12 at night.

Rooms: the room we’ve got was big enough for a hotel room, pleasant and cozy, with good working air conditioning, excellent beds and mattresses and everything you need for a few days stay, plus the free internet working very good. In the reservation email we sent in advance we asked for a silent room, and when we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist smiled at our request. All the rooms are quite, partly due to the location of the hotel (somehow at the outskirts of the town). Even we got a room right next to the elevator, it was no problem. The elevator is Otis and makes not sound whatsoever.

Cleanness: 10 out of 10. Exactly how you wish for a hotel room to be: spotless. They have a note you can hang outside your door, if you want your room to be cleaned, but there is no need to use it. They clean your room every day anyway. For the first time in so many years I found no bad remark to make about the cleanness of a hotel!

Staff: Excellent! All the receptionists and other personnel of the hotel were absolutely wonderful. Helpful, nice, respectful. Perfect!!!

Breakfast: Way above a 3 stars hotel! Plenty of choices (scrambled eggs, cheese, tomatoes and cucumbers, small sandwiches, all sorts of bread, butter, ham, fresh fruits, croissants, cakes, muesli and cereals, yogurt and milk, tea, coffee, hot chocolate ), everything fresh and nice presented and served. And no need to be afraid that you go to have your breakfast a bit late; they fill the empty plates all the time and they don’t mind or act badly if you are a bit late. On the contrary, they all have a smile and a nice word to say to you when you come and when you leave the dinning room.

Service for the money: Excellent. All the hotels downtown or even close to this one are at least double priced.

Tips:
They welcome you with cold water and juice (if summer, of course). If you are not so dehydrated, chose the juice. It’s very good and refreshing.
If you travel by bus, buy tickets from the hotel, they are a bit cheaper.
If you think you will need shampoo, bring yours. They offer you only some liquid soap in the bathroom.
If you leave from the hotel directly to the airport, take the hotel minibus offer. It's worthwhile (15 euro) and you will save few euro and at least 20 minutes. By taxi you will get exactly the same thing.

I loved the hotel and while in town, we were saying, “let’s go home” instead of saying let’s go to the hotel. They make you feel so welcomed and good that you feel like home. I would go again there anytime and I highly recommend it to everyone having a trip in Bologna.

Room Tip: i believe any room will be just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinergetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank sofia363
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Ramada Encore Bologna
#15 of 102 in Bologna
1,836 reviews
Navile
Arcoveggio Hotel
Arcoveggio Hotel
#61 of 102 in Bologna
216 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amadeus Hotel
#46 of 102 in Bologna
714 reviews
Navile
Hotel Centro Turistico Citta di Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Via del Gomito 16, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Bologna
#22 Business Hotel in Bologna
#27 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £39 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Fair ground and to the centre of Bologna, in a quiet area away from the city traffic, the Hotel Imperial offers a great solution for a business trip or a relaxing holiday. We take care about your comfort and do our best to give you a wonderful stay. For that reason we look out our guests opinions, we like to listen and wish to know what you really think about us. Our staff will be glad to answer to your reviews with the same kindness and cordiality you can find at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Easy Market Spa, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing