We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative!! Who knew Mozart was a student here?”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Museum of the History of Bologna
Ranked #23 of 329 things to do in Bologna
Attraction details
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Very informative!! Who knew Mozart was a student here?”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

And he almost flunked out but for his teacher changing his grade!! :)
Among notables who called Bologna home in addition to Marconi, Luigi Galvani was here too. (Galvanized steel anyone?)
The medical displays and models of childbirth and/or its defects were awesome.
Spend at least 2 hours here, Euro 7 pp. for seniors is well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tatliturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    148
    30
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington,DC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“More informative and fun than most museums”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Don't miss this museum during your visit to Bologna. New with fabulous multimedia presentations. Even if you think you don't care about the history of Bologna you'll learn that the Italian flag, created in homage to the French Revolution, started here, that Mozart took an exam here to get a music degree ( and made significant errors the examiner overlooked understanding he was in the presence of a genius), that Cervantes studied here, that Marconi is a favorite son, among other things. The lifesize exhibits and the 3Dmovie would delight older children and teenagers but are fun for adults too. An easy and pleasant way to absorb lots of information about Bologna and Italian history. Plan on at least two hours--the time flies by. And definitely get the audioguide--it's included in the admission, 10 euros or 7 euros for seniors. Every museum curator should come here to see how it should be done for the contemporary visitor.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosetana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Give it a visit”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Visited this as I had the Bologna Card and I like to make the most of these cards. Museum was really interesting - was so sad I only encountered 5 other people in there! I know October is out of season, but it was deserted. It is a self-guided museum (you can have a free audio guide to carry round) covering the history of Bologna and is very well laid out. There is a nice little 3D movie which is worth 10 minutes of your time - I watched it alone!

I spent 1.5hrs here - worth fitting into your itinerary.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank loxias27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Outstanding example of what a museum can achieve”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I only spent 3 hours in this museum; I could easily have spent all day. It has received praise from experts more knowledgeable than I for its architectural accomplishment of placing an ultra-modern glass structure inside an historic building and creating an impression of their co-existing aesthetically and practically, but it is the quality of the exhibition itself that demonstrates the Italians' supreme skills in curating and design.
I could imagine Bolognese visiting to learn the history of their city, and I would think that history teachers in schools would organise excursions for pupils of all age groups and be grateful that this museum could demonstrate the history of the city from Etruscan times to the recent past in such an imaginative and comprehensive way. Labelling is complete and the free audio guide ensures that non-Italian speakers lose nothing of the exhaustive narrative that expands the information provided visually. The short 3D film with English sub-titles is thoroughly delightful and conveys a resume' of the history in a thoroughly intelligible and light-hearted manner demonstrating the use of cartoons to communicate effectively at many levels.
As a value for money exhibition it must rank very highly in any assessment and it could stand as an example for any tourist officer or local historian thinking of how to promote their locality or enlighten and educate the local population both adult and school age.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gi0vanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth visiting, but doesn't cater well for foreigners”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I did use the English audio guide, but even then, clearly better suited to Italian speakers, which is a pity. I did feel I missed a lot, but still happy I went. It's just frustrating when there's obviously much more than I understood.
There's not actually a lot of things displayed, and much of the multimedia (videos etc) is purely for Italian speakers. Pity, because it looked like an interesting museum. I have mixed feelings about it because of this, though think it was worth it overall. The order is a bit odd - started off chronological but then about 1/2 way through seemed to start jumping around a lot. But one of the exhibits had stuff about Emilia Ars - group started in Bologna which produced the most glorious paintings and lacework, responding to the art nouveau times. I'm glad I went for that alone, thou damn I wish I could have understood more!

Oh, and a lovely cafe with lovely young woman serving good food and drinks in a lovely central light filled area. Cannot say the same about the ticket seller, who was far more interested in her phone than anything else.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticW0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of the History of Bologna also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Museum of the History of Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing