We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, if a little worn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savoia Hotel Country House
Ranked #48 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel is effectively a self-sufficient annex to the nearby, larger, Savoia Hotel Regency. I stayed here for 4 days during a corporate event in the Bologna area.

The location is quite a way out of town, so a visit to the fascinating Bologna city centre will require a taxi or bus ride. The Country House is just opposite the road from the Regency and feels quite intimate and secluded, set in its own grounds with mature shrubs and trees and comprising a number of low-rise buildings in the local style that house the bedrooms, reception and breakfast room.

Check-in was efficient and in good English. My room was quite small but had all you need for a comfortable stay. The bathroom contained a shower cubicle that was a touch too small though, requiring some deft manoeuvres to accomplish an all-over clean.

A bit more worrying was that door to the room which appeared to have, at some point in the past, been kicked in (or this had been attempted) as the strike plate for the lock catch was bent inwards and screws to various locks and plates were slackened. This meant that it required careful alignment by applying pressure to the (closed) door to allow the locking latch to be turned. Once locked, it was secure, but my colleague in the room opposite had the same situation and they could not lock their door.

Breakfast was served in the on-site breakfast room and was perfectly adequate with the usual continental buffet affair (and an on-demand fresh orange squeezer). The setting was tranquil and calm, making breakfast a nice way yo start the day.

The facilities of the Savoia Regency (such as swimming pool, bar, terrace etc) were available for use and the attached restaurant was excellent.

Overall I liked the setting and charm of the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank figbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Savoia Hotel Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

the basics were there. but here's the thing: when I want to sleep on a couch-bed and not be offered coffee for breakfast i consult couchsurfing.com, not a 4 star hotel.-sincerely, the third person.

overall ok, the stuff was very indifferent and unhelpful. not to mention the poor breakfast choice with its stale cold fruit and old boiled eggs.the hotel is otherwise 15 min away by bus from the city center so that spared us the search for parking places.the room was spacious enough and surprisingly quiet,although located on a main street. most of the guests at the hotel were italian.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archisauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

this was our first time staying at this hotel, and we stay in bologna 2-4 times a year. the country house was a nice facility, a good rate, and we enjoyed all of the amenities of the large hotel. the staff at registration as well as the pool bar were rude, indifferent and unwelcoming. later in the evening for drinks amd the next morning for breakfast they were nicer.

Room Tip: some rooms have been renovated, some not. ask for a newer room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teppyvalkchiampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is an easy hotel to access if you are travelling by car. Although it is close to the main road it is surrounded by trees and very beautiful and quiet. Opposite is the Savoia Regency which residents also have access to. The room was clean and spacious. The restaurant is huge and offers a great wine selection. You have to try the Bolognaise - (ragu) - which was the cheapest on the menu and delicious. We were the first couple to sit for dinner and were put off, initially, by having all 12 members of staff come over to us. One with cheese, one for bread, one for water, one for wine etc etc. The pool area was brilliant and open throughout the day and added to what was a great relaxing stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Thesundancekid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were travelling by car so the fact the hotel was located not in a central area didn't disappoint us. The hotel buildings are surrounded by a beautiful park where it's nice to spend evening time. The room was superb, we enjoyed our stay. The spent there only one night so we were very surprised to find out that the room was clean on the day of our check-out during the 20 minutes we spent on breakfast. Normally the rooms are cleaned after the check-out. Breakfast can be served on a outside terrace that's very romantic. It lacked ham on breakfast, but we were ready that Italians served mostly pastry and cheese in the morning.
We had dinner in a park restaurant, which we enjoyed very much. Delicious food, several free
"compliment" dishes and good wine. The only one thing disappointing us was the fact they didn't allow to have a glass of vine in the hotel's park, though we promised to get the glasses back. And the restaurant seems to be the hotel's. It's possible to have dinner in a Savoia Regency's restaurant that's located not far away and look a bit more daintily. Anyway I recommend this hotel to those who are travelling by car and love boutique type hotels!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsyaIllinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very pretty layout, quiet (even though close to the ring road, many trees ensure that), neat and comfortable, and at the same really very easy to reach any place in Bologna and in the surroundings. The restaurant (Patrick and ?) is great, worth trying out (even tagliatelle a ragu, which is pasta with THE famous bolognese sauce is great), and the breakfast is good. The coffee machine at the reception and the young man that operates it produce a great cappuccino or expresso any time of the day.
The staff is pretty off-hand-ish, but they do what you ask them to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissgabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and clean, rooms are simple but enough. People that stay in the hotel have access to the pool, bar and restaurant at the Savoia Regency (200m walk) which is amazing! Only sad thing: most of the staff is unkind, unwelcoming and unfriendly. Overall a good place to stay.
PS location is pretty good!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmvpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Savoia Hotel Regency
#7 of 102 in Bologna
1,317 reviews
San Donato
Novotel Bologna Fiera
Novotel Bologna Fiera
#40 of 102 in Bologna
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navile
Hotel Centro Turistico Citta di Bologna
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoia Hotel Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoia Hotel Country House

Address: Via San Donato 161, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £54 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoia Hotel Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Savoia Hotel Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing