We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rooftop with a view...”
Review of Hotel Touring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Touring
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
CH 1030 Bussigny-près-Lausanne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A rooftop with a view...”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Certainly there are cheaper accommodations in Bologna, but we can thoroughly recommend this charming hotel; it is clean, comfortable,well situated and quiet considering it is so near the town centre.... and of course the terrace on the roof is a bonus ! the view is superb. The breakfast buffet is rich, the staff friendly and efficient...we did enjoy our stay there ! the restaurant was not operational....but there are plenty of typical Italian restaurants nearby

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    898
    531
    85
    19
    15
See reviews for
218
587
141
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I travel a lot and know hotels well, and I really found this hotel special. The quality of the building, rooms and courtesy of the staff easily reaches four star level. The great value is being central in Bologna and yet being on a silent street. I slept like a baby. In addition, the prosecco on the amazing roof terrace in the evening with the view of the city was amazing. Looking forward to going back in the warm season to take advantage of the Jacuzzi on the terrace. I would strongly advise this hotel both for business travellers on the run (like myslef) and for couples on a relaxing touristic visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Francesco,

thank you very much for your review; we try to provide a high quality service to give our guests an experience and not just a hotel stay.

see you soon.

Marianna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My wife and the two children and I stayed for a week in late August. The transfer from Bologna airport was by taxi and very easy, costing under 20 euros each way. We stayed in a ground florr mini suite which was clean and well appointed. The staff were always pleasant, helpful and courteous. The roof terrace and its beautiful view was a little gem. Bologna itself is a very good base to explore from. It has a pleasant medieval centrewhich warrants a couple of days exploration in its own right but we also used the excellent rail links to visit Venice, Florence and Verona and found Bologna to be cheaper to stay in for the level of accommodation we were looking for and pleasantly quite in comparison. The hotel is a twenty minute brisk walk to the station and only five minutes from the historic centre. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend the city and the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a mini suite, I cannot comment on the other rooms. There was a separate lounge area from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euan_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My wife and I have visited the Hotel Touring many times on regular visits to Bologna, most recently in September 2012. We have always found the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the hotel is spendidly situated a few minutes walk from San Petronio, the Duomo, the two towers and other major attractions of the medieval city centre. The rooms are not large, but very well furnished and equipped. An abundant breakfast buffet is served in a charming basement room. On the roof of the building is a terrace which offers stunning views of the roofscape of central Bologna, and of more distant iconic builings such as the convent of San Luca on its hilltop overlooking the city. On our last visit we discovered that (weather permitting) it is now possible to dine on the rooftop terrace, watching the sunset bathe the old domes, spires and rooftops in a golden glow - an unforgettable experience! Driving and parking in central Bologna is now a nightmare, but the hotel staff are very helpful in helping with parking arrangements.

Room Tip: The "gold" rooms are a bit more expensive, but the two we stayed in on different visits ea...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This hotel is well worth the moeny, with friendly and helpful staff, beautiful and clean hotel, great breakfast and the best bit - the roof top terrace! It makes the hotel.

We arrived by taxi from the airport, it cost €16 there and €19 on the way home, it is done on a meter, so depends on traffic etc. We were given a twin room, as requested, room 114. It was 'cosy' but big enough for us, bathroom was huge! Very clean and comfortable beds, fan, windows with big shutters, tv, hairdryer (no kettle etc), wardrobe with plently of hangers and extra pillows/blankets. Just what we needed. Lift to takes to you all floors (2 person lift) and the roof top, which makes this hotel. The roof has a cover so you can sit out in any weather, the peace and tranquility you get from being up there is incrediable. We spent any spare time up there.

Location is great, out of the hotel, turn right and left, there are 3 great restaurants about 10 steps away! Plus a cafe and supermarket. Turn left then right, walk down 2 streets and you are practically in the middle, with shops, restaurants bars (2 mins). Staff helpful with recommendations and places to go.

Breakfast is great, toast, cereal, rolls, ham, chesses, sauages, boiled eggs, yoghurts, pastries, fruit, and at least 4 different types of cake. Plus tea, coffee and juices. It is downstairs, in a lovely little room, again with great friendly service.

Could not fault the hotel, the only thing i would WARN visitors of any Italian city, is of their tourist tax!!! You are required to pay €1.50 for each day of your stay, this moeny goes to the government to pay for the city and the maintence of it. There is a form to fill in if you dont want to pay it, but we paid, as the form looked a bit scary, with a threat of getting their money from you anyway. No where did it say that this happened, so wanted to warn people, so they dont get a shock!!!!! Obviously not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay_kay_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Lovely hotel overall: 5 minutes walk to the medieval town centre passing one of the poshest shopping arcades in Bologna by the looks of things.

Not only that but it boasts a gorgeous room-top terrace with views across the roof-tops.

Breakfast also good. The only downsides were first of all the cost of the drinks: I was 16E for two Camparis and soda, and I think we must have had the smallest room in the place, perfectly ok but not the kind of place Lucy Honeychurch would describe as a "room with a view" I'm guessing - unless she was particular to looking out onto a featureless wall.

Room Tip: Don't take 223!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We had mixed feelings about the Hotel Touring. Certainly, there were things to praise but also less satisfactory aspects. The position of the hotel was ideal for the tourist sites that interested us but also for local restaurants. The staff were extremely pleasant: friendly, helpful and informative. We liked the roof terrace and the wonderful panoramic view. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast, served in the basement, was generous and well balanced.

We had come from staying in Ravenna and found that in Bologna, on some nights, the tariff was three times as expensive. Admittedly the other place had no roof terrace or sitting room but in its other facilities it was superior. We felt, therefore, that the Hotel Touring was over-priced. There were few toiletries, no stationery, and an absence of cupboard space for clothes. The shower pressure was just slightly more than a trickle. On two nights we were disturbed by very loud partying from a property behind our room. There were a couple of occasions when the breakfast room was occupied by groups who shouted and roared from table to table and locusted up all the fresh fruit and sausages, items that were not replaced while we were there.

The charming staff and roof terrace and other positive features did not balance the less favourable ones.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggiatoreinglese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest,

by your nick name we didn't understand in which room you stayed in, because we prefer to first solve the problem (the shower in this case) and take note of your comments to improve our service, so thak you for your review.
We try to offer the best, but in some cases we need the cooperation of the guests and their education (sorry, however, for the group "very quiet") ...
We apologize for any inconvenience and hope to see you soon for another stay in one of our best room without any problem.
Best Regards,

Marianna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,378 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,460 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
843 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#10 of 103 in Bologna
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Touring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Touring

Property: Hotel Touring
Address: Via De' Mattuiani 1/2 | Piazza Tribunale, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#17 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Touring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Touring is a 3 star hotel in Bologna, situated in a quiet location in the old town a short walk from Piazza Maggiore, the Church of San Domenico. A few steps from the Galleria Cavour, the temple dedicated to international brands and made in Italy, as Gucci, Luis Vuitton, Prada, Cartier, our bed and breakfast remains within walking distance from the main touristic places as Piazza Santo Stefano, Torre degli Asinelli. Garage and Traffic Restriction Pass, WIFI area, Wonderful rooftop terrace, well maintained and green. Among the offers of services during the summer, the charm of our bologna hotel bed and breakfast is completed with the opening of the magnificent Jacuzzi on the 5th floor.A moment of pleasure that will make your stay unique in Bologna, whether from us for businees and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touring Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing