We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful small hotel”
Review of Hotel Touring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Touring
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Hotel Touring is in a terrific but quiet location in the heart of Bologna. Lovely roof terrace and great room on the 4th floor with balconyand wonderful view of the city skyline including the soaring Torre Asinelli. Well worth the upgrade to these rooms. Friendly, clean, welcoming, service in the rooftop bar a bit erratic but a delightful hotel, the nicest - though not the grandest - we stayed on in a 2-week tour of Liguria and Emilia Romagna.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ED C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Touring
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

we went there "last minute", only for a night, and it was really very good price-value! we had a nice big 3-bedroom with a huge bath. it was quiet in the night, the reception was very friendly and helpful... for being on the edge of the center of bologna it is really not too expensive, clean and also cool, since they have a nice roof-top-terrace with resto. the only a bit annoying thing was, that the bed was "squeaking", everytime one or the other was turning around in sleep... well, but really, that was all :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Great choice for my needs (short periods in the city centre for job and family transfer), moreover close to the most important attractions of the city centre, pleasant and nice staff, clean rooms, very good price/quality rate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fabio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Touring. It is well located close to the city centre. The hotel is authentically Italian, which is a nice change from standard chain hotels. The room was clean and a reasonable size - stayed in Room 507, which had a vaulted ceiling. The bed was comfortable, with the blackout curtains and air-conditioning adding to a great sleep. Wi-fi worked without any problems. Breakfast was good. Staff were professional and courteous. Only some slight down sides - (1) lots of TV channels but only CNN was in English; (2) there's little information in the room for guests to read - a street map would have been a useful touch as would details of breakfast timings (7.30-9.45), wi-fi password, etc. However these are minor issues, so would definitely recommend. If you're arriving from the airport and it's your first time visiting Bologna would suggest getting a taxi (14-15 Euro) ... Aerobus from the airport to railway station is a reasonable option but a bit of a trek (6 Euro).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The WIFI is not working. I needed to be connected to do some work. When I pointed to the owner that the wifi wasn't working, she blamed it on the bad weather (...) When I said that nowadays free wifi is a pretty standard feature offered by hotels, she replied that trains also offer free wifi, however the internet not always works on trains. At this point I gave up...

Beware of the pictures on the website, they are pretty deceptive. I required a triple room, and I even chose the gold room instead of the standard room expecting more space. We ended up in a small double room with an extra bed attached to the main bed. We couldn't even move.

When we arrived, the main preoccupation for the receptionist was to try and convince us to upgrade to the suite. When we said we weren't interested, she changed her tone and gave us the key. She didn't mention any of the standard things you'd expect when you check-in. We had to ask for everything - how to get to the room, what time and where is the breakfast, etc.

The location is great but the service was below basics. When we asked for some advice (a good restaurant nearby, public transports, map of the city, the wifi) we felt like the owner and her family were annoied by our very standard requests. (The only nice person was the foreign girl serving breakfast.)
I wouldn't recommend this place to a friend and I won't come back.

Room Tip: the room close to the lift is very noise
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ml g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTouring, Direttore at Hotel Touring, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest,
I'm so sorry for what happened.
About wi fi: we wrote about it also on our official website; in the FAQ page.
It's up to the Ipad version or auto-fill.
Did you try to up-date your tablet?
I'm really sorry if you got something to do on internet, in august-during holiday-the only night that you been in Bologna, and you could't made it.

However we had an high speed connection in the lobby, and an internet point.

About the service I'm really sorry. We are famous and popular for this, and our position and story proves it.
Since 60 years I'm proud to help and serve my guest.
If you can send us an email. It would be very helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The room was nice (not too big but clean, modern and well equiped) and the service was very good.
Even so, the best of the hotel is the superb location, 5 walking minutes from the center!
On the other hand, the breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eusebio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and were very happy with both the room and the price. It was around a half an hour walk from the train station to the hotel but on the way back to the train station we took the 30 bus from very near the hotel and were at the train station within 10 minutes or so.
The receptionist was friendly and able to point us on the map in the direction we wanted to go in and give us a few tips on what to see. Don't forget to take the lift up to the top floor early in the morning/sunset to see the excellent view they have over all of Bologna.
Our only complaint was the free wifi which cut on and off so often it was almost impossible to use.
Clean and tidy room in a well decorated hotel. Would recommend this place if you're looking for somewhere relatively simple, quiet and where you'll be content

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 102 in Bologna
1,523 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,465 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,203 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Touring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Touring

Address: Via De' Mattuiani 1/2 | Piazza Tribunale, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#17 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £90 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Touring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Touring is a 3 star hotel in Bologna, situated in a quiet location in the old town a short walk from Piazza Maggiore, the Church of San Domenico. A few steps from the Galleria Cavour, the temple dedicated to international brands and made in Italy, as Gucci, Luis Vuitton, Prada, Cartier, our bed and breakfast remains within walking distance from the main touristic places as Piazza Santo Stefano, Torre degli Asinelli. Garage and Traffic Restriction Pass, WIFI area, Wonderful rooftop terrace, well maintained and green. Among the offers of services during the summer, the charm of our bologna hotel bed and breakfast is completed with the opening of the magnificent Jacuzzi on the 5th floor.A moment of pleasure that will make your stay unique in Bologna, whether from us for businees and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touring Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing