We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping needs attention,but excellent location and great concierge staff.”
Review of Hotel Touring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Touring
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Housekeeping needs attention,but excellent location and great concierge staff.”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The location of the hotel is phenomenal, in a quiet area of the center of the city. Walking distance from S Petronio and the towers. The front desk staff was excellent. The girl was a good resource for suggestions and was very, very polite and prepared, and explained the premises of the hotel very well. During the summer this hotel would be perfect, having a spectacular rooftop. Check out the restaurant Osteria De' Poeti that she recommended.

Room was ok in appearance. Only thing, the mattress was not a queen size, but I believe they were 2 single size mattress,coupled. Not a big problem though, and you can upgrade the room if you desire. We had the basic one and we were very ok with that.

What really needs attention is housekeeping. I noticed my nose being clogged soon after entering, and having problems breathing during the night (I am particularly sensitive to dust)
The morning after we checked, and we found clots of dust present not only under the bed, but also besides the drawer, very visible. Same thing we noticed on the carpet outside the rooms.
Bahroom cleanliness was good, though.

good hotel, but the housekeeping staff must be reprimanded.

BTW, breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emattei777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    536
    86
    20
    18
See reviews for
222
600
146
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Hotel Touring is just an excellent place to stay for the money. The only reason I would suppose it isn't a 4 star hotel is that it doesn't have a restaurant on-site other than the breakfast area located on the lower level of the hotel. Everyone I encountered were just really nice and would help a guest to make sure there stay was a great one.
My room had all the comforts and was quite large. Free wi-fi worked well in the room and I didn't hear a soul from any other room. Location is within easy walking distance to most of the sights and located on a quiet street. If traveling by train though I would recommend taking a taxi unless traveling light, as it is quite a walk to the hotel. If traveling by car, as I was, they have discounted parking available for 9 euros on the street. If you want your car parked in their private garage, you should book when booking the room.
The rooftop area is nice and since I was there in winter didn't use, but in Spring, Summer, Fall, it certainly looks to be a great place to relax and have nice views of Bologna and the surrounding area. this is one place that the pictures on their web site are correct!
Definitely should be near the top of your list when looking for accommodations in Bologna.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EUROPEEXPERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you so much to appreciate our job! So...see you soon!
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

staying in Touring hotel Bologna for a weekly business trip was absolutely a lovely experience. The hotel boasts an excellent location in a quiet corner of the city centre, with all restaurants and shops at easy reach. I love the style of this small family run hotel as well as of my room`s which was spacious and extremely comfortable. What I was most impressed of, was actually the people working in there: professional and friendly at the same time, passionate of being a perfect host . I would like to recommend this hotel for those ones seeking personalized service effectively delivered in a lovely and cozy atmosphere. Don`t miss the hotel terrace!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossano b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel was beautifully situated in a small cobbled side street within easy reach of the city centre's main attractions and restaurants. The room was small but comfortable, the breakfasts of high quality and the service excellent. Highly recommended both for business travellers and those seeking a short break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidanrankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Douglas,
your words are so important to us! tks you so much for appreciate our hotel and job.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We came to Bologna so my husband could visit the Ferrari & Lamborghini factories and fell in love with Bologna. This hotel was perfectly situated to explore the city. Elena (spelling?) made wonderful restaurant recommendations that gave us a true Bolognese culinary experience. Their service was terrific and the accommodations were very nice! Great breakfast as well.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank McTravelingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

As a senior couple traveling with a lady friend (she stayed at the hotel only one week), we found the Touring Hotel very adequate. Her room was extremely nice and spacious, with a wonderful balcony (admittedly best during spring or summer), ours quite comfortable, even if the furniture was lacking in drawers. As we were saying in Bologna for two weeks, this was a slight inconvenience. The hotel is marvelously located, in a very quiet street, but it is strategically placed, with all the tourist destinations - market, main shops, museums, monuments and churches - within short walking distance. Everything seems to be just a few minutes away. If I got up in the morning with a little extra time before my wife or our friend were ready, I could walk for two minutes and refresh my eyes with the great paintings at nearby San Domenico. The hotel is also wonderfully located if restaurants are your main interest, and the cheerful, very nice staff are ready at all time to get you reservations and give you advice. The people working at the hotel give you a warm, family feeling, remaining politely discreet unless you need their intervention: then, they are always efficient in their help. The rooms seem to be extremely clean; there was a smell in our bathroom, which promptly disappeared after we mentioned it. Breakfast was served by two very kind and efficient staff members, who were also very friendly and jovial. The choice of breakfast food was very wide, and a previous complain by a guest who missed fresh fruit seemed to have been answered to. Everything was fresh and plentiful, and the staff were always ready to supply you with the extra espresso or cappuccino. A great place and a great find.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eduardo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Very nice location & frindly staff

The hotel is situated in the centre of Bologna with a lot of good restaurants nearby. The staff is friendly and very helpful. You will find a true cozy atmosphere here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rasmus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 103 in Bologna
1,498 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,437 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
871 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#11 of 103 in Bologna
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Touring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Touring

Property: Hotel Touring
Address: Via De' Mattuiani 1/2 | Piazza Tribunale, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#17 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Touring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Touring is a 3 star hotel in Bologna, situated in a quiet location in the old town a short walk from Piazza Maggiore, the Church of San Domenico. A few steps from the Galleria Cavour, the temple dedicated to international brands and made in Italy, as Gucci, Luis Vuitton, Prada, Cartier, our bed and breakfast remains within walking distance from the main touristic places as Piazza Santo Stefano, Torre degli Asinelli. Garage and Traffic Restriction Pass, WIFI area, Wonderful rooftop terrace, well maintained and green. Among the offers of services during the summer, the charm of our bologna hotel bed and breakfast is completed with the opening of the magnificent Jacuzzi on the 5th floor.A moment of pleasure that will make your stay unique in Bologna, whether from us for businees and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touring Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing