We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Ranked #45 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We found the Hotel San Donato to be a good choice for our family of 10 – ages 10 to 75.
The location is ideal - steps away from Due Torre, shopping and restaurants.. as well as the Piazzo Nettuno (where we watched Spain – Italy in the World Cup Finals) . There is a spectacular panaromic view of the city from the 4th floor terrace. The hotel is family friendly – the breakfast buffet had something for everyone. The staff was very helpful – particularly Martina and Nicoletta

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrayHairedGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    325
    159
    41
    27
See reviews for
110
267
79
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We have stayed here twice now at the San Donato which is within walking distance of most of the sights.. On each occasion the bar / breakfast staff have been very efficient and friendly. The rooms are quite basic but comfortable and clean. Terrific views from the 'breakfast terrace' and the roof terrace. Best breakfast we've had in Italy with amazing choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Location, location, location would be enough to recommend this wonderful best western hotel. Add to that an easy access on site parking lot and an embarrassing array of wonderful nearby restaurants, all the familiar tourist attractions, theaters and the university and a breakfast room with a view right out of Merchant Ivory films and you have the ideal spot for your Bologna experience. The city's famous loggia makes walking about easy and I pervious to the weather.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogwood50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

At first I thought about giving this hotel a 3 out of 5, but then decided to be a little more generous because there are some things that the hotel can't fully control.

Why the disappointment? We were unlucky to have had some very inconsiderate people in the room next to us. At one stage our neighbour was yelling into a speakphone so loud it sounded like she was in our room. That said, the rest of the hotel seemed relatively quiet.

Forgetting our bad luck, this hotel is good value, and in a perfect location right in the center of town. The hotel has a good breakfast by Italian standards, and nice balcony on the second floor with a bar, which gets good sun just in time for appertivo. There is also a roof terrace, although there is not much up there to do but lie in the sun. The service was okay, and we were given a very good recommendation for dinner by the lady at the check in counter.

If the hotel reinforced their walls with a little soundproofing, and added a bar to the roof terrace, it would deserve a 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odeydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

So we had an ok stay here despite the cold shoulder we received from the registration desk the first day we arrived. Be prepared to surrender your passports to the desk And your room key! The breakfast was included in our rates but was more catered towards th Brits and Germans. The waitstaff was very polite and nice. This hotel is not a four star... Property is old and the rooms need remodeling and updating. Also, you are in the heart of the university district which gives you access to the city center, and interesting bars!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DCPRPRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Very happy with this hotel. Good value and excellent location couldn't have been better. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Good breakfasts more than we were expecting and freshly made choice of coffee. Yes it could be noisy at night but it's a trade off for the central location. Excellent having the various terraces also free tea and coffee available during the day. We had absolutely no trouble with the wifi and had in our room with no interruptions. Small balcony on the room and would have been nice to have a couple of chairs on it. I would definitely stay here again. Level of cleanliness excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfan202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We were very happy with our choice of hotels in Bologna. Parking at the hotel, nice rooms and good breakfast. The price was fabulous and so was the staff, very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful in making reservations for dinner. All in all we would recommend it to anyone traveling to the area. The location can't be beat. The terraces on 2 different levels made for a nice place to have cocktails, breakfast and a relaxing afternoon on the roof overlooking the city of Bologna....doens't get much better than that!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Al Cappello Rosso
#12 of 103 in Bologna
791 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#11 of 103 in Bologna
499 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 103 in Bologna
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
860 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,479 reviews
Hotel Touring
#6 of 103 in Bologna
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel San Donato

Property: Best Western Hotel San Donato
Address: Via Zamboni 16, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#30 Family Hotel in Bologna
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel San Donato 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel housed in 17th century structure, situated near main theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Donato
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing