We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 26 April 2014

In the center of Bologna's Due Torri sector, within walking distance of the University of Bologna, is this gem of a hotel. It is in the Centro Storico, within walking distance of shopping areas, Santo Stefano Church, and not that far from the train station, Bologna Centrale. The view from the terrace on the 2nd floor is magnificent. You see the rooftops including the two towers, one leaning, one straight, that give the area its name. There is a piazza in front of the hotel, where youths gather which is the reason you will find earplugs as part of the bathroom amenities. However, we felt no need to use them. On the contrary, part of the allure of Bologna is that you can feel its vitality and its youth, while being in the most ancient surroundings. The staff at the hotel was very accessible, fluent in English, and very very helpful. The dining recommendations were outstanding. But then again, it will probably be very difficult to find a bad meal in Bologna! The hotel's breakfast (whcih is included) was varied and the staff will make you the most wonderful coffee, as you request it. The bathroom shower has great pressure and hot water. This is an area we definitely want to come back to, and we will surely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We had a great room for a family of 4. Lots of good space. Unfortunately we were woken up both nights from the bars downstairs which was no fault of the hotel. The breakfast was very complete and the staff were wonderful. The front desk manager while we were there called several restaurants because my youngest loved vegetable soup and she wanted to help us out. The roof deck bar is also amazing!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank mateo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here for three nights. The rooms are small and have a funky smell. Like stale cigarettes. The breakfast is very processed, but it's included which is good. Coming from Australia, the coffee was terrible, but the enthusiasm made up for it - the staff in the dining area are overly kind... I think they must be students trying to get permanent jobs ha ha. Cheap and great location. Bologna is a beautiful city. Single rooms are definitely single rooms - oh and the lift kinda sucks ha! Rooftop at night is a delight to have some quiet time. Would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rustykiwinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Booked in as part of a group & had a fantastic stay. Loved the old style bedrooms, buffet breakfast was super with the choices available. Great location for touring the city . Great restaurants/bars/shopping - just a short walk away. If you dont feel like walking the hotel offers a nice retreat for a quiet drink in the many nooks & cravens in the hotel or if you want just go out & go with the flow with the local students & have fun. Great Irish Bar just around the corner. Excellent value & service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have to say I stayed in this hotel a few years ago and the I don't remember it ever being so noisy. The church bells finished at 11pm and started back again at 6am. Between that you had the students singing, screaming and shouting. Was the worst nights sleep ever, on rock hard beds.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank BradshawLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

a very good and central hotel all in walking distance of bologna.very clean rooms.very good breakfast with terrace and fantastic view of towers.staff very good and helpfull.very good bar and you can use the terrace for your drink too,day and night when weather is good.coffee shops and restaurants all around the hotel.very good choice.

Room Tip: third floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nico k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Very well located hotel, convenient for all places of interest, about 15 minutes from train/bus stations and if you are visiting for the opera, just a 2 minute walk away. The hotel is very well maintained, spotlessly clean and all the staff were very polite, friendly and extremely helpful. There is a lovely roof terrace for relaxing after a hard day's sightseeing and a breakfast terrace on the 2nd floor with great views across the city. Would have had no hesitation in giving the San Donato 5/5, but Bologna is a university town and the hotel is in the main university district so during term time the students are very rowdy all night until almost sunrise! The hotel thoughtfully include earplugs with the bathroom toiletries which do help to mute the otherwise unbearable noise, but I would suggest requesting a courtyard room for an undisturbed night's sleep!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandlesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.3 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Commercianti
Art Hotel Commercianti
#11 of 102 in Bologna
582 reviews
0.5 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#25 of 102 in Bologna
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Al Cappello Rosso
Al Cappello Rosso
#10 of 102 in Bologna
857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#30 of 102 in Bologna
292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel San Donato

Address: Via Zamboni 16 | Centro Citta', 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £68 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel San Donato 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel housed in 17th century structure, situated near main theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Donato
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing