We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel but with problems.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at Best Western, San Donato, Bologna on our way back to Milan. The hotel was very hard to find even using GPS because of a maze of one way streets so we were eventually guided by phone, talking to someone at the hotel. The actual location of the hotel is good, being a short walk from the Duomo and many restaurants and there was free, secure parking. We were checked in promptly and the receptionist showed us how to find a restaurant and the next day's exhibition location. Our two linked room were spacious and clean with a large central bathroom. We had aperitivo on the roof deck with a nice view looking out over the roofs to the towers in the main piazza.
Unfortunately, once we went to bed it was difficult to sleep, especially in one room where there was a loud, intermittent mechanical banging inside a wall. Eventually one of our group who had to go to work the next day, rang reception and was given another room to sleep in but by then we were wide awake and found it difficult to get back to sleep. The next morning the buffet breakfast was good.
Best Western need to find out what the problem with the noise in the rooms was. After all, the main reason for spending one night in a hotel to have a good night's sleep - something we didn't get.

Room Tip: Try to get a room without banging in the walls but I don't know how this can be managed!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel San Donato
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

In my thirty-plus years of traveling as a banker and a diplomat, I've stayed at five star and expensive boutique hotels; in the last five years, I've been staying at three and four star hotels as well. The Bologna San Donato hotel is a high-end Best Western which other Best Westerns should emulate. Right in the heart of the historic city centre, the location is superb for sightseeing. From the hotel roof, you can see some of the historic sites. Cafes and restaurants of various price ranges abound in the neighborhood. Check-in and departure were pleasant experiences, with helpful and knowledgeable reception staff who also provided guidance on various places to see in Bologna.
The guest room was of reasonable size considering the hotel is in the city center; the amenities were in good working order, and the bed was comfortable. The hotel provided me with two extra pillows .

During this trip to Italy, I stayed at four hotels (Bologna, Varenna, Ravello and Capri). Breakfast at the San Donato in Bologna was the best: it was really an American brunch -- scrambled and boiled eggs, prosciutto, croissants of different types, cakes, cereals etc etc. And the multinational staff of Italians, Philipinos, Bangladeshis and Eastern Europeans served with efficiency and friendliness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIKKAVON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Fantastic quality, amazing roof terrace with views across he city and right in the heart of where you want to be to explore Bologna in a day. We found it a little tricky to find on a motorcycle and the streets are confusing in Bologna...and cobbled, but we put it down to the torrential rain that soaked us through. Rain was literally pouring out of our gloves when we stopped. We soon dried out in the beautiful, sunny evening that followed it though. Perfect for the roof terrace and bar!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmskiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The location is absolutely superb. Close to the major sights, and also to restaurants and Bars. There is a gelateria right opposite the Two Towers that was excellent. The staff was wonderful in every respect. They were solicitous and helpful.
Breakfast was excellent. Both breakfast and a nice bar with a balcony had great locations and views. The view from the rooftop terrace was stunning.
The room was quiet, and the bed comfortable. Occasionally one could hear neighbors, but no more than usual.
My only complaint was that the WiFi was flaky. Hardly the worst fault.

Room Tip: I had a courtyard room. Try asking for them.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel San Donato for two nights in July 2013. Very good location near the two towers and within a walking distance pretty much every where in the city. The breakfast on the balcony was good and it included freshly brewed espressos or cappuccinos which was nice.

The rooms where of good size and one of our rooms (we had two) had a very nice view of the two towers. This room was in the corner towards the little piazza outside the hotel.

Recommended and was very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

A hotel located very close to Piazza Majore offering quite a good service. My stay was brief but happy for the money I paid, I would not say though it is a 4 stars hotel.
The service and the offerings are more like a 3 star hotel.
The breakfast was nice & the staff were very helpful as expected from a hotel reception.
I would recommended.

Room Tip: If noise is a problem askfor a quite room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panathinaikos-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel provides good value and is ideally located. It is within 1 minute from Due Torre and 5 minutes from the Piazza Maggiore and Santo Stefano. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient and the views from both terraces are fantastic. Some advice - do eat outside of the main tourist areas. We found some great places to eat within 5 minutes of the hotel in the Jewish quarter.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room located away from via Zamboni.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italophile2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 102 in Bologna
816 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,443 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#12 of 102 in Bologna
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
885 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 102 in Bologna
1,528 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#30 of 102 in Bologna
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel San Donato

Address: Via Zamboni 16 | CENTRO CITTA', 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#30 Family Hotel in Bologna
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £75 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel San Donato 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel housed in 17th century structure, situated near main theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Donato
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing