We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, modern interiors but in keeping w/ traditional Bologna.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Hotel Novecento
Ranked #41 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I don't know why I kept getting lost, it is right behind Piazza Maggiore. Bologna is a gem of a town that is off the conventional tourist track and should NOT be missed. Prices lower than Firenze, which is only 40 mins away by fast-train. Considering it is built in a palazzo that's been standing for many years, they have done a marvelous job of restoration. Every comfort available, including cookies at teatime. Delizioso colazione. It was hot even in mid-September but I didn't mind taking many showers because of all the gorgeous marble. One day my room was not done until after 3, and I was recommended a rather poor restaurant that was pretty far away on my first nite, but those are my only minor complaints. Mille grazie to Christine and Francesco who catered to my every whim and answered so many questions, and to the lovely blonde who tried desperately to get me CNN on 11 Sept -- and succeeded! Internet pc extremely convenient for emails. Would stay again, would recommend w/o reserve. Belissima!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumpsturdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is an excellent hotel--beautiful rooms, perfect central location, hip atmosphere, great breakfast. The only downsides are the hard-as-rocks mattresses.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lim0nata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The hotel is just a few blocks from Piazza Maggiore and within easy walking distance of most of the major sites. Our room was on the small side, but had all necessary amenities including free wifi. The bathroom was large, modern, and very comfortable. The leopard bathrobes were a treat. The hallway rugs and walls on our floor looked a little worn, but everything was very clean. Breakfast included meats, yogurts, fruit, cereals, cheeses, etc., and was ample. The staff was not particularly warm, but were very helpful whenever we asked them for anything. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albagianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Fantastic hotel. I went there with my little group of 4 people and everyone loved it. The hotel is super centrally located and all the highlights are within walking distance. The hotel is really a jewel, with beautiful art works made by local artists. The rooms are very nicely furbished, peaceful and extremely clean. Free internet connection in the rooms. I also loved the fact that there were books on the shelves in the rooms. The breakfast is fantastic too, with fresh pressed orange juice, homemade cakes and a big variety of salty and sweet food.
The 2 staff members I talked to, Francesco and Christine are amazing: always very helpful, smiling and ready to answer all my questions and satisfy my requests. Very reliable with their suggestions about things to do, where to eat and what to do!!!

Among the best hotel I've ever been!!! Loved it and hope to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalla1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Bologna is a surprisingly beautiful and captivating city. Its food is superb and the covered walkways are a real pleasure. The Novecento Hotel is a great hotel located in the heart of the city. It allows you to absorb the pleasures of Bologna day and night. The room was spacious and the bathroom was immense (not your typical comment for hotels in Italy or, in fact, Europe). The breakcast room is cozy and the buffet breakfast was plentiful and VERY GOOD.
We were driving and our GPS was able to guide us to the hotel. Parking is available at a reasonable rate (9 euros/day) in a public parking lot one block away. The train station is about 10 minute walk from the hotel.
We will definitely return to Bologna and we will stay at the Novecento AGAIN.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmignuzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This is a good hotel near Piazza Maggiore. It has a lift from the ground floor, is clean and comfortable and has a pleasant breakfast room. Also free internet and a safe with clear instructions, maps etc are provided. I also stayed at 'Orologio' which is a little cheeper, both hotels are central and an easy stay. Only difference is Orologio's lift goes from the 1st floor so you have to carry luggage up two flights of steps. However, if $$ are a concern and you can walk and carry luggage without any problems then stay at Orologio. Both Hotels are centrally located in Bologna are good and in the Art Hotels group.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DahliaBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

After a very enjoyable 2 day visit here, i certainly concur with those giving this hotel an excellent rating. Starting with an ideal location, within walking distance of all major monuments in Bologna and also from the main train station, there was very little noise at time even in the center of the city.

apparently part of a small, innovative hotel group in Bologna, the Novecento has created a very pleasant mix of modern comfort and traditional materials, lots of marble and stone, superb beds and linens, and in our case, a large bathroom and double shower area. everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained. the Wifi worked all the time. the breakfast was very complete, with a good selection of fruits, cold meats, breads, juices and much more.

some have commented that the staff seemed indifferent or cold. we found them to be very pleasant, and always ready to help. i think anyone who didn't get enough attention from the staff should think about what they are expecting in a hotel, efficient service trumps a circus act of attention in my opinion.

summary: an excellent choice in Bologna, no surprises, and it delivers what it promises and more!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veteranworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Art Hotel Commercianti
#12 of 102 in Bologna
553 reviews
Art Hotel Orologio
#13 of 102 in Bologna
497 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 102 in Bologna
839 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,469 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Novecento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Novecento

Address: Piazza Galileo 4/3, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bologna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#33 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £106 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Novecento 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whoever said that new hotels are all alike has never seen a design hotel--moreover, they have never stayed at the Hotel Novecento, the ideal haven for those who won't settle for an ordinary hotels but are looking for something special. With its unmistakable Viennese Secession style, this exclusive hotel of only twenty-five rooms integrates seamlessly into the medieval context of Bologna's historical centre, and its location on Piazza Galileo offers incredible views of Bologna's scenery. A dive into Europe of the 1930s, its rooms and suites are characterised by a design that blends the sobriety of form with the richness of substance, with a result that is rich with personality. And also.. At the Bologna Art Hotels you will have the opportunity to enjoy the city in a unique way. In an ancient building (XVI-XVII Century) in Piazza Galilei, a few meters from the Art Hotel Novecento **** - which you can refer to for all your needs - two superb De Luxe Apartments welcome you in the city center, offering the highest level of comfort and a refined and original design, in which technology and art are combined to reach perfection. The Suite de luxe are the flagship of Bologna Art Hotels where the owners, who have shown a remarkable interest in art, offer exhibitions of paintings and statues from the most exclusive galleries. Moreover, in the Suite deluxe "The Court", during the renovation works, wood ceilings and frescoes of the sixteenth century have been brought to light, and thanks to a careful restoration and enhancement, they add a special charm and an impressive touch of the past . Arts, recreation, technology and contemporary design combine to make your stay unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Hotel Novecento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing