We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best suite room ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Hotel Novecento
Ranked #42 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Turkey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“best suite room ever”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I wasn't sure when I booked at novecento hotel because I know italian standard for the hotels which is very bad. When we arrived to the hotel, they told us that the hotel room was full and they offered us a suite room outside of the hotel. First we were disappointed, then we decided to check the room. It was in an apartment and when we enter to the room we saw perfectly decorated room with Italian modern style. The room was very big, with 2 bathroom, 1 kitchen, with a plazma tv in front of the bed and the living room. We accepted to stay there and we felt soooo lucky. If you have a budget just book that room because it's very close to everywhere. You are in the heart of the city, and if you are a gourmet you can buy many delicious food and store in the big fridge. Also I have to mention the breakfast was the best breakfast I had in Italy. It was surprisingly good.

Room Tip: The hotel is very compact I think only suite rooms is good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choufleuris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    132
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
176
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Novecento faces a large peaceful square. The location is perfect. a short walk to Piazza Maggiore, and close to restaurants, shops and other tourist attractions.. The hotel is very arty and the staff was very nice and professional. Our room was on the top floor facing the back street of the hotel. We got a double deluxe room and it was great!! Very roomy, alcoves and a fantastic bathroom with a huge walk in shower. We found the buffet breakfast had enough choices and the bakery was delicious. In the evening they also have some wine and snacks in the sitting area.
The hotel was very clean. We loved it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of the hotel are quieter and upgrade to a deluxe double
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealtOr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The hotel is located in the centre,facing a large,peaceful square,quite cool with some nice works of art all around the building.
My room- on first floor- was really very small,probably never slept in my life-and I travel a lot- in such a tiny space..pity..the bathroom was almost bigger then the bedroom,very nice,confortable.
The breakfast is very good,everything fresh,tasty,excellent selection of prosciutto/salame,fresh fruits,nice cakes,juces

Room Tip: Ask the size of the room to avoid to get one as small as mine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ennio36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The Novecento is a very arty hotel - there are lots of objets d'art around at the entrance. But it is a compact hotel, very compact. But the greatest reason to stay here is because of its location. It is bang in the centre of the tourist part of this beautiful city. The main piazza as well as the famous statue of Neptune are literally a stone's throw away. It is really a brilliant place if you want to explore the historical part of the city, as all the other monuments are within walking distance.

It is so compact that I am surprised that this hotel is not in Japan but in Italy. I stayed in two rooms over two days and both rooms had only a small street view from the narrow window. If not for the window it would be claustrophobic. The room is dominated by a wall unit that has various little pieces of sculpture and plenty of books. The walls have framed paintings as well. It has a small bed that can also function as a sofa - if you know what I mean. The bathroom is quite nice despite the dimensions.

Breakfast is served in a very small place behind the reception area that also serves as a waiting zone. It is a basic dry breakfast, so don't expect much choice. But there are terrific places close by for eating out anyway... The first day I stayed there was a lovely satin bag with padded slip-ons that said 'with compliments'. I didn't bother taking it then and the second time I checked in, it wasn't offered. Never mind. So if you are offered one, do take it!

Room Tip: Take the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srinik69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Very nice hotel located in the middle of the city, just a few steps from the main piazza. The staff is glad to help and give good recommendations. The room was very comfortable, without noise and quite big for European Standards. The breakfast is also very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcossio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is central to all the major points of interest in Bologna. We stayed on the top floor and had a cool room that felt like it was in the attic. The hotel was super clean and nice. I wasn't disappointed.

Be sure to take a walk at night and get gelato at Sorbetteria Castiglione.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottSD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I have traveled quite a bit in Italy, and I find the reviews of this hotel overrated. The location is excellent I have to say, right around the corner from Piazza Maggiore. Staff weren't so friendly though, especially in the breakfast room the first day, where pickings were quite slim and items weren't replaced, although we arrived right in the middle of the breakfast hours. It seemed to me that they really weren't interested in providing good service and all seemed pretty bored, except for the staff member who checked us in. Our room was mediocre considering the price tag and looked rather tired. I cannot understand why dirty 20-euro rugs with cigarette stains next to the bed cannot be replaced more frequently. The furniture and the walls clearly showed signs of long use. The bed was spotless though. This was our first time in Bologna, so I really cannot compare the Novecento to other hotels in this city. Should we ever return, we will not stay at the Novecento again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank iterfacere101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Art Hotel Commercianti
#8 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#12 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Art Hotel Orologio
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Novecento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Novecento

Property: Art Hotel Novecento
Address: Piazza Galileo 4/3, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bologna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#33 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Novecento 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whoever said that new hotels are all alike has never seen a design hotel--moreover, they have never stayed at the Hotel Novecento, the ideal haven for those who won't settle for an ordinary hotels but are looking for something special. With its unmistakable Viennese Secession style, this exclusive hotel of only twenty-five rooms integrates seamlessly into the medieval context of Bologna's historical centre, and its location on Piazza Galileo offers incredible views of Bologna's scenery. A dive into Europe of the 1930s, its rooms and suites are characterised by a design that blends the sobriety of form with the richness of substance, with a result that is rich with personality. And also.. At the Bologna Art Hotels you will have the opportunity to enjoy the city in a unique way. In an ancient building (XVI-XVII Century) in Piazza Galilei, a few meters from the Art Hotel Novecento **** - which you can refer to for all your needs - two superb De Luxe Apartments welcome you in the city center, offering the highest level of comfort and a refined and original design, in which technology and art are combined to reach perfection. The Suite de luxe are the flagship of Bologna Art Hotels where the owners, who have shown a remarkable interest in art, offer exhibitions of paintings and statues from the most exclusive galleries. Moreover, in the Suite deluxe "The Court", during the renovation works, wood ceilings and frescoes of the sixteenth century have been brought to light, and thanks to a careful restoration and enhancement, they add a special charm and an impressive touch of the past . Arts, recreation, technology and contemporary design combine to make your stay unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel Novecento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing