We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just in the heart of Bologna”
Review of Il Canale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Canale Hotel
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“just in the heart of Bologna”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It's a small old hotel just in the center of Bologna. Rooms are always clean. Breakfast is satisfying and people are friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a comfortable bed in a quiet place just in the middle of the city at a walking distance to everywhere this is the place you are looking for.

Room Tip: If you ask for the rooms looking at the canale you will have a nice morning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caztrompet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    168
    46
    20
    13
See reviews for
84
127
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We arrived in Bologna by train and when we got to this hotel we were told that they were overbooked. They had already made arrangements to transfer us to another hotel close by. Obviously, I didn't actually stay at the hotel so can't add much, except to say that the overbooking was actually an error by our booking agency, rather than the hotel, and I think that it's to the credit of the hotel that they recognised the error, took responsibility and had the whole thing sorted before we arrived. The hotel they moved us to was in their own chain and of a higher standard to the Il Canale, so no complaints here! This hotel is tucked away in a fairly small and quiet side street, but very close to the main street and quite convenient, about half way between the main station and the City square.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euroamer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phildadelphia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Finding this hotel was a bit challenging when we arrived in Bologna. When I went to check in I was told we were moved to another hotel by the staff. She gave me a map, created by the hotel, to direct us to the other hotel and their respective parking. The streets were not accurate and she was not very willing to direct us. We were lost and could not find parking for over an hour. When we called the hotel to advice us, the staff seemed less than helpful. My husband asked for a refund to which they kept inquiring why. When pressed, they refused as we booked via Expedia. I do know that is a policy and just wished they were forthcoming with that reason.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hreed973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I have just arrived home from a four nights stay in Bologna at Zanhotel Il Canale. The rooms are small but very clean, as is the bathroom. Clean sheets and towels every day. The staff are very helpful and accommodating and always greet you with a smile. Breakfast was adequate for a start to your day.
It is positioned in a good location with an abundance of good bars and restaurants on your doorstep and you really do not feel as a tourist around this area, which we liked. It is a 2 minute walk to the main streets and centre of town. As the hotel does not have it's own bar we appreciated the small local places around the hotel for a late night drink or ice cream! They have two small courtyards, one on the reception floor and one on the third floor with views over roof tops, especially good if you smoke!
We would definately stay there again for a weekend as we do not usually want to stay in our room for more than to sleep. The price is very good for what you get we think, as it works out less than £50 pounds per person per night this time of year and we feel you can have so much more fun and shopping for your money than just paying for a hotel you hardly use. I recommend this hotel even if you are, like us, used to a higher rated hotel with more facilities for the simple reason that you come to Bologna for the sights, ambiance, food, shopping and just feeling Italy!

Room Tip: We stayed in number 22 and it was quiet but no view apart from the centre courtyards. This did not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koke57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We spent two nights at Il Canale. The hotel is extremely well located, just a few steps away from Via Indipendenza and Piazza Maggiore. Our room was quite small, hot, rather dark, but quite. The bathroom was large and clean. Breakfast was fine, though quite standard. Service staff was very helpful and efficient. Parking is an issue. All in all, a good option for those who are more concerned about location than frills.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxou1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at Il Canale Hotel for almost a week and found it very central, very quiet and very pleasant. The room was spacious, had shower (and no bath) and was nicely decorated,
The heater worked perfectly and that was very appreciable as it was anormally cold outside...
We had a nice view on Il Canale and on old buildings of Bologna and this made our stay even more traditional (See pictures)
The breakfast is served in a little room downstairs and not really what we enjoyed the most...
It was really not that nice ...

Wifi does not work from all the rooms, so it is better if you need Wifi in your room to tell the front desk, otherwise you will have to come down and work from the lobby.

A very attentive team that has always been very professional, helpful and has recommended us good places to visit and to have good meals at.
Thank you Miss Giovanna and to the Team, it was a pleasure staying in your hotel

See you soon, Il Canale ;o)

Room Tip: Try not to have a room on the ground floor ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laorence2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

cosy room, helpful, friendly staff! The best was the location - near all the best restaurants in Bologna!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,457 reviews
San Vitale
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#13 of 103 in Bologna
731 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,150 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Canale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Canale Hotel

Property: Il Canale Hotel
Address: Via Bertiera 2, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Canale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Canale hotel is situated in the heart of Bologna city center and it overlooks the Aposa river with one of the most evocative glimpse in the city. Just far 300 meters from FS train station and 200 meters from Piazza Maggiore, Il Canale is an enchanting and cosy hotel where thanks to an authentic hospitality and a calm and resting ambience you really feel at home. Recently restored, the hotel has 16 different rooms divided in smoking and not smoking, family and business some suitable to lodge disabled people equipped with every comfort. It 'also a suite with a room entirely suspended on the channel. The buffet breakfast is served in a characteristic vaulted ceiling room where you can see an unusual view of Aposa river. A big terrace, at guests' disposal, offers a breathtaking view of Bologna roofs. In the rooms is available free Wi-Fi. Pet allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Il Canale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Canale
Il Canale Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing