We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located for last night before flying back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera
Ranked #35 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We wanted to be close to the airport. We wanted to be close to the city center. We got both. The hotel was comfortably located, the rooms are nice, clean, aesthetic, with good wifi. You'll need a car though. Breakfast was a typical, hard to swallow breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvigdorGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLQFA, Direttore at Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear AvigdorGal,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I'm delighted to hear that we met your expectations and learn your appreciation about our Hotel location, cleanliness and good wifi service.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Bologna Fiera on your next visit to Bologna !

Kind regards,

Fulvio Danesin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

A one night stay on a business trip, after arrived late in the evning in Bologna

The Holiday Inn express is everything you would expect, about 10 minutes from the airport, check in was quick and efficient, and the rooms while small had everything you needed and were clean and tidy

a good stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for a trade show. 5 nights. It was eye watering expensive for a 3 star, however it was cheaper than anything else about. Welcome to Italian trade shows. As a hotel it was very clean and the staff were very good, Edouardo, Giuseppe and Habib deserve mention. Rooms were fine, clean. Beds a little small for a couple, but standard for Italy. Then ran a courtesy shuttle to the trade show in the mornings and evenings, which were a bit if a free for all, but got you there. The restaurant was surprisingly good, standard Italian food, pasta and more pasta. Though the atmosphere is a bit canteen like, after a trade show we just wanted to eat quickly, which we did and it was very reasonably priced.

My only faults, would be the breakfast food was a little limited, but the had nice fresh fruit daily. There is no gym or pool, which would be great. The lobby leads straight on to the ground floor room corridors, so if people are partying you can here. My biggest gripe is the is 60 TV channels and not one English speaking entertainment channel. However bologna city center is close by with plenty to do.

This seems a lot, but I would stay again, rooms clean and functional, the staff are great, it's very convenient to the trade show, food is good and it's close to airport.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

"Bologna capital of food", I am agree, but in this case this hotel is outside of the capital. Don't waste you time, money and appetite. By the way personal and service in the restaurant are nice.
Last public bus from city centre to hotel is at 20:00, later you should pay around 20euro for jurney by taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -Mkrtchyan-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Mkrtchyan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your positive feedback about the restaurant service. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of product. I am very sorry that our location was not up to your par. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Midway between the airport and downtown. Doing the annual children's book fair. Staying 6 nights. Price is fair and the bed is great! Large shopping mall across the street with a huge sporting goods store -Decathlon

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed 6 nights there during an exhibition in bologna. The location is really not great in the middle of a commercial and industrial zone. Access by bus from station takes 30 minutes.taxis 10 minutes. Free shuttle to the fiera at least.
The rooms are on the average size for business hotel but have all amenities. Apparently air conditioning is turned off on winter so room temperature is not constant. Too hot in afternoon when the sun is shining on the window.
Restaurant has NO charm at all in a big hall but food is actually quite good and they change the menu daily. But how can this type of hotel close its bar and restaurant on Sunday???

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank PatrGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear PatrGG,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the temperature of the room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed 4 nights. We booked this hotel at a fabulous rate online, requesting 2 non-smoking rooms for 2 people each with one bed per room - the rate was an advance payment rate for IHG members. In addition to the rate, location and pet-friendly were factors in selecting this hotel, as well as the brand. Before we left for Italy everything was in order for the reservation. Upon arrival, however, we found that for some reason the reservation was changed to 2 separate reservations, one for a room with three people and one for a room with 2 people, and 2 beds per room. We were told that they would change it to 2 people per room and get us one bed per room, but that one of the rooms would be a smoking room. This turned out to be interesting for a couple of reasons - we were both given third floor rooms, and the floor is clearly marked "No Smoking" as were both rooms - the one that was supposedly "nonsmoking" had clearly been used as a smoking room, it reeked of smoke, and had not been cleaned when we checked in. The room that was supposedly "smoking" (though marked otherwise) appeared smoke free. The person on duty said our room would be cleaned immediately. We checked a couple times and there was a maid in the hall on her cell phone each time doing no work. After 45 minutes no one had started on the room - when we inquired he said he would have someone do it right then and that there were staffing issues due to it being a holiday when we checked in. There was a lengthy discussion in Italian with a recalcitrant head maid who seemed to be arguing about whether the room was on the list or some such - he explained he could give us another room but not one with one bed so it would be better if we waited. We did wait - and he did get some action, it was then cleaned - unfortunately they doused the room with perfume, perhaps to cover the smoke smell. it was overpowering and we had to leave the window open for some time in order to be able to stay in the room that night. Check in person confirmed the rooms were prepaid.

They did seem to have housekeeping issues - there appeared to be some kind of strike with picketing on day 2 of our stay (a one day strike, apparently), and housekeeping seemed to come quite late in the day. That said, if you can get them in your room, they do a decent job and the room was reasonably clean and well maintained, with beds, etc. in reasonable conditions. No room safe. The window in our room appeared to be broken - when we checked in, window was wide open and absolutely huge so the room was freezing - but this may have been to dilute the smoke. The closing mechanism appeared broken though and after we aired the room out of perfume we had trouble closing it; it took a great deal of effort and some climbing so once we got it closed we didn't open it again; it appears it should only tilt open but instead swings wide open.

The hotel restaurant was the only place open for dinner due to the holiday - this proved unfortunate. This was one of the worst meals of our entire trip - over-cooked pasta, very bad food, and excessive cost, and it took a long time to be able to get the check. 83 euros for 4 people - we had meals at very nice restaurants in three cities in Italy for less; it was really a shame. Another night we were looking for a place and I asked the woman on duty at the desk for a list of local places to eat nearby - she instead handed me a brochure for attractions in Bologna which advertises several places in city center - not nearby. She was totally unhelpful. If you want someplace decent within walking distance, I recommend Trattoria San Sisto or Osteria della Pieve (a bit farther but walkable). The included breakfast here was typical of Holiday Inn Express hotels except for the notably bad coffee. It seemed the milk had spoiled or something, anything from the coffee machines was undrinkable so we used the instant in the room. (However, never could have more than one cup of tea as the used tea bags were not replaced in room - ah well).

On the plus side, the front desk was helpful about options to get to city center and where to park - though it helped we had someone with us who spoke Italian. I did appreciate the desk staff all spoke a little English but as always you get farther when you can communicate in Italian. Also a plus - there is a nice area to walk dogs nearby,

Every night the hotel was packed with sports teams and tour buses - and unfortunately this meant kids running up and down the halls, people smoking in stairwells, and lots of noise, as well as floods of people at breakfast. Did not see any effort by management to curtail the noise. When we tried to call down to the front desk the in room phones did not work. The large groups would stack all their luggage in the lobby making it very difficult to get through each morning and evening - again staff made no effort to ensure there was a safe path in and out of the hotel and due to all the luggage and straps everywhere it was challenging. And loud.

No in room safe. Some issues with wi-fi off and on but it usually worked.

At checkout, the woman insisted the rooms had not been paid for. I did not have a receipt but assured her I'd paid in advance for the best rate and that this was confirmed at check-in. She insisted that "her colleague" had neglected to make the charge. As there was a little language barrier, I finally paid for the rooms, making sure I was paying the advance purchase rate, and resolved to check the issue with my credit card company and resolve it when I got home if there was a double charge as that was clearly going to be easier than dealing with her. Upon return home it does seem they never charged it in advance - but there was no way to tell on the road of course.

Overall, although the facility itself was reasonably clean and well priced, there were just so many little issues that appear to be management related...whether with staff, restaurant, etc. This was the worst of the Holiday Inns we stayed at in Italy and I would think hard about booking again - though I admit I might do it for the good rate. A bit disappointing overall.

Not too far to explore the city from - convenient to highway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear DAEsmae,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. Rest assured that your comments about the restaurant service as well as the housekeeping services have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Ramada Encore Bologna
#16 of 102 in Bologna
1,773 reviews
Savena
Best Western Plus Tower Hotel Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Donato
Novotel Bologna Fiera
Novotel Bologna Fiera
#40 of 102 in Bologna
1,172 reviews
Grand Hotel Elite
#49 of 102 in Bologna
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera

Address: Via del Commercio Associato 3, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Bologna
#34 Business Hotel in Bologna
#38 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £42 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bologna Fiera is an over-standard three-star hotel complex providing services well above those normally associated with its category. 156 bedrooms with large outdoor car park and a location in the centre of the trade-fair area and only a few minutes from the city centre, the Airport, the ring road or the motorway, and the destinations you want to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera Hotel Bologna
Bologna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing