We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albergo delle Drapperie
Nearby Hotels
US$293
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bologna Airport(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
I Portici Hotel(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Maggiore(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ramada Encore Bologna(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Suite Hotel Elite(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$80
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
124
156
46
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
156
46
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfruit and vegmarket stallsgreat locationbalcony overlooking the marketpiazza maggioreearly morning noisefirst floorfood sceneamazing architecturemain attractions arethe upper floorsperfect base for exploringthe heart of the cityheavy bagsopening the windowbars and restaurantsstayed here for four nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We only stayed in Bologna one night. I was glad it was at Albergo delle Drapperie. First off, it was a very hot and humid day, so the air conditioning was great. Also, the rooms were very spacious, and the decor was very cute. It gave it a home kind of feel. It is also in the center of town, right in the middle of the market place. The bad part was the stairs to the lobby. There was no elevator. And since it was a very hot and humid day, taking heavy luggage up the stairs was not fun. Another bad part was the staff did not have a helpful map. I asked directions to a popular restaurant, and they gave me wrong directions with a very bad map.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubidoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

The Albergo delle Drapperie was our second Bologna hotel, the one we stayed at for two days at the end of our trip.This hotel has a lot going for it. It's on a wonderful pedestrian street in the middle of one of the city's oldest neighborhoods. It has a helpful, friendly staff. The breakfast is delicious and copious and is served in a beautiful interior space on the second floor. Rooms are admittedly on the small side (every guidebook mentions this) but they have beautiful ceilngs, fashionable drapes, and modern bathrooms. The problems are more in the details. A recent renovation of the hotel apparently has created problems of its own. As another reviewer on this site mentioned, the smell from the bathroom can be overwhelming. While that reviewer thought it was a mildew odor, to us it was clearly a sewage problem. A three-star hotel shouldn't leave that condition untreated. Less odoriferous, but still detracting, the malfunctioning showerhead when in use constantly sprayed water onto the wall just above the tile, causing peeling paint and wall stains, and water frequently spilled out of the shower onto the bathroom floor. In the living quarters of the room, there was no comfortable chair and only two tiny tables near the bed. The tv and a small refrigerator were in the closet. While we knew the room would be small, it was far smaller than those of any of our other five hotels in Italy (most of which had fewer than three stars) and we weren't quite prepared for the lack of comfort. As mentioned previously the breakfast room is quite attractive, but its interior setting with no windows made it a bit warm when we were there. All in all, there are good things about this hotel, but the lack of attention to detail (and to fixing problems) made for a sometimes unpleasant experience and giving it an "average" rating is being very generous. The Albergo Centrale on the other side of Piazza Maggiore, where we stayed at the beginning of our trip, was a much more pleasant (and less expensive) experience. While our stay at the Drapperie had its bright spots, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

The hotel is located near San Petronio and the statue of Neptune(city center), and the train station is about a 10 minute walk away. You can pretty much walk to most places. So, the location is pretty good.
The rooms are large , neat and clean as are the bathrooms... but the lighting is not too good.
Service is limited. So don't expect too much on that front. Staff is not terribly friendly either and they keep tiny photo-copied maps of the city (so be sure to carry your own-- since you will definitely need one)

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kavzchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed here. We stayed in 2006 and loved the Hotel and Bologna. After reading several reviews that seemed less than positive, I was a bit nervous about booking this hotel again.

We stayed in room 302 for 4 nights. There were no bad sewage smells or ants as others had mentioned and the room was large as we had experienced before. We looked out over the wonderful little markets below our window which we really love. The bathroom was huge and has a large tub with a handheld shower. In Italy, be sure to request a room with a shower or you will get a room with a bathtub and handheld . The room is fairly basic and not luxurious, but has charm and character.

The bed is firm but we have found this to be the case at all hotels we have stayed at in Italy. Do not bother to pay extra for the breakfast. Just outside your door there are wonderful shops, bakeries and our favorite spot to start the day is the Caffe delle Drapparie. This hotel is clean, has a small lift, great prices, location and we found the front desk helpful and friendly.

Bologna is an incredible city and I aspire to live part of the year there and part at home in Canada one day....

The food scene is to die for and I highly recommend La Teresina, Rosa Rose for a great lunch, Trattoria Leonida and Zanarini for aperatif and buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank speedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

We loved the hotel our room, it was nice and overlooked the side street where the small shops were located. This hotel is close to many attractions and was easily accessible by foot. The only drawback was, the nights were cold and the heat operated from 8pm - midnight then again in the a.m. from 7-9.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews