We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few Days in Bologna”
Review of Savhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savhotel
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Few Days in Bologna”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel itself was easy to find (we were driving) and has underground parking for guests (with charges). When we arrived the front desk staff were helpful and although we were early they found a room for us.

The hotel was very modern and rooms were clean & comfortable. It had everything we needed for a few days stay.

A complimentary drink was a nice touch, and the breakfast (included in our rate) was very good - offering both hot & cold food.

I would agree with earlier comments that the location is a bit odd, being stuck out on the Northern outskirts of the town - but the train station is within walking distance and we found buses cheap and ran frequently.

One complaint I do have is with the "Roof Deck" situated on the top floor directly over rooms (including ours)... while there isn't much up there it does seem popular with some guests in the evening and the noise was a problem.

Would be happy to stay again!

Room Tip: be aware of potential noise from the roof/deck if you are on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IpswichDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSavhotel, Responsabile reception at Savhotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your precious review, it means a great deal to all of us!
I am sorry you were disturbed by the guests on the roof deck, there was actually a party on the roof garden that evening, I am very sorry they couldn't contain the noise.
I hope to see yoy soon at Savhotel!
Kind regards,

Marco Salimbeni
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,383
    687
    93
    16
    3
See reviews for
271
842
101
599
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is nice hotel in a strange neighborhood. Lots of townhomes and grafitti. That being said the rooms were clean and nice with modern emenities. Staff were very helpful and recommended nice dining options. The bus route to downtown is a block away and despite hesitation, easy to get around. Close taxi ride to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulips65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were visiting Bologna for a day and chose the Savhotel based on the fact that it had good reviews, was very reasonably priced and had a parking garage. Arriving to the hotel I was a bit surprised it was in an area that did not really seem fit to house a four start business hotel. The hotel however was very sleek and modern, the rooms were small but modern, the breakfast was good, the wifi worked good and there is a nice little rooftop terrace. On the negative side it is rather far from the centre, took us around 20 minutes to walk to the centre in the heat, the pillows of the bed were some of the most uncomfortable I have encountered in a while and the gym, which is described by the hotel as a "modern gym" consists of one old treadmill and exercise bike and a couple of rather light weights, so rather far from what I'd call a modern hotel gym. The hotel advertises to offer bikes to its customers free of charge, which sounded like a good option considering the distance to the city centre, but every time we asked we were told they weren't available. All in all this is however a good hotel considering the price, good value for your money in other words.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great place. Very helpful front desk. Took in the sites of bologna before flying home the next day.
Very helpful when inquiries made as to best means of getting to the hotel from the airport or train station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hey1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great, modern and beautiful. Our room was perfect though on the small side, very nice bathroom. The breakfast buffet was one of the best, with a wide array of offerings. There is not much in the neighborhood, except for a large supermarket and an empty shopping center. The only drawback is the distance to the downtown, though there is a bus stop right there which takes you downtown in 20 minutes. I still would return because after staying in historic, ancient hotels, it was refreshing to be back in the modern world.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a brilliant time. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Very clean and modern, rooms were spotless and the waterfall shower was amazing! Brilliant location, near the bus stop (no 25 takes you straight into the centre of Bologna, taxi under 10 euros) Ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner and both times the food was of an excellent standard.The roof garden and gym were brilliant. Very quiet and no disturbance. Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank highflyingbird_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A lovely friendly hotel. Spotlessly clean rooms. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. We spent both evening on the roof garden which we had to ourselves.
We ate in the hotel restaurant both evening where the food was good.
The hotel is quite a walk from Bologna's historic region - a 30 minute walk in the heat.
We managed to catch the bus into town each day but could not work out the return trip or for some reason the bus was not running!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inge_crane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,437 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 103 in Bologna
1,501 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Touring
#6 of 103 in Bologna
1,583 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savhotel

Property: Savhotel
Address: Via Ferruccio Parri 9, 40128 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bologna
#2 Business Hotel in Bologna
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#6 Green Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Savhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savhotel is a 4-star hotel in Bologna with a modern style and the latest in fittings and equipment offering impeccable service. Located in a strategic position just a few meters from the Bologna Fair District and the Congress Centre, only 5 minutes away from Bologna's historic centre making it the perfect choice for both business travelers as well as for international tourists and families. Savhotel offers high levels of comfort including: Wi-Fi in the lobby, cable in all rooms, 24-h ultra-modern Fitness Point, LCD TV and cable in all rooms, covered private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Savhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sav Hotel Bologna
Savhotel Hotel Bologna
Savhotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing