We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pool after a hot day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savoia Hotel Regency
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Spent 2 days here after having spent 2 days in central Bologna. The attraction was the pool and it was lovely to come back to after a days sightseeing. Getting into town was easy on the short bus ride ,with the stop very close to the hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly. Our request to be moved from our allocated room because it smelt strongly of cigarette smoke was dealt with effeciently and without any fuss
Our previous hotel in the center of town whilst lovely and with easy access to the center was considerably more expensive and i think the benifit of that lovely pool is worth the easy bus ride

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Another lovely holiday in Bologna and wonderful stay in Savoia Hotel Regency
Perfect location short drive to City Center and 15 minutes by bus
Our room excellent balcony and flowers all really nice
Swimming pool perfect for a relaxing day and bar food all good
Staff all very nice and extremely helpful
Looking forward to our next stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We booked the Savoia as a stopover before catching an early flight. Arriving around lunchtime, there was plenty of parking and it was then a simple bus ride into Bologna's historic centre. (Number 20, just outside the hotel). Our return later in the evening provided probably our best meal of the week in the hotel restaurant that I can't recommend highly enough. During our brief stay the attentive staff couldn't have been more helpful, the room was spacious and comfortable and breakfast was plentiful although no hot menu which may disappoint some.
We will definitely be returning to the Savoia next time we are in Bologna.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mushypeas63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Really nice hotel - very friendly staff who go out of their way to help you. The rooms were good, especially the balcony rooms and we were even lucky enough to be given a suite for one of our short stays - it was very stylish and a great start to our holiday. Pool and poolside are very useable - the hotel is good value and without being particularly smart, makes you comfortable and relaxed. Good breakfasts with wide range of pastries - I presume from their twinned patisserie - and restaurant makes a good venue to enjoy the evening. Restaurant not cheap, but food is generally interesting and we had a couple of good nights there. Also have complimentary bicycles for a very doable ride into and around town. Would look forward to staying there again anytime.

Room Tip: Upgrade for room with balcony - the extra space and sitting area is worth it. Suites were fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisfamily271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A good quality hotel with pool (albeit small). Very good value and staff very friendly and helpful. Incredibly easy to get to the airport without feeling like you are on top of it and biding time before flying out. The restaurant was very good - both in terms of service, variety and quality of food. Breakfast was a little disappointing - self-service cold buffet, with a machine for hot drinks (would have been ok but so out of kilter with quality of rest of facilities). Mattresses incredibly comfortable and bathroom toiletries good. Only gripe in relation to this was the number and quality of pillows - which again would have been ok but for the contrast with the amazing mattress. All in all I would definitely recommend the hotel - particularly as a stop-over hotel. Be warned though it is not in the city centre and will require a car or use of buses/taxis to access city.

Room Tip: We had a family room which has extra space (for the two additional occasional beds) , double aspect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Myself and my friend had stayed in this hotel in 2010 and thought it was wonderful . We were afraid this might not be the case second time round but if anything it was better . The staff are courteous and helpful especially Giovanni on the front desk who had both very good English and a great memory , remembering our room number and dinner reservation times without prompting. The restaurant in the hotel is exceptional both in food and value. We had a room with a balcony at the front of the hotel overlooking the fountain. It was a lovely bit of extra space for very little extra cost. (deluxe suite ) The pool is gorgeous in this hotel and has a poolside bar where you can sit in the cool of the evening . It is restful and relaxing as was the whole experience. We will return!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tossersguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Savoia Hotel Regency for a week at the start of August and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is out of the city centre but you can easily catch the number 20 bus from the bus stop on the main road just round the corner from the hotel. Single use tickets cost €1,30 (sold at hotel reception) and the bus passes by that stop about every 10 minutes. It is a simple journey into the city, taking about 10-15 minutes.

There are plenty of restaurants within easy reach of the hotel and a supermarket and shopping centre are about a 30 minute walk - we didn't have a rental car but the walk there is very pleasant. We also took advantage of the free bike rental provided by the hotel, which was great fun.

The room was spacious and clean. The bed was quite firm but extremely comfortable. The pool was a good size and, though a little cold on first dip, was a welcome refresher during the lovely hot weather that week. There were plenty of sun beds and the bar staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was nice, basic continental, with a lovely selection of pastries, fresh fruit, yoghurt etc. it would have been nice to see a bigger selection of meats/cheese/bread as only type was offered but what was there was tasty and there was plenty for everyone.

Overall we were really pleased with our choice of hotel and would definitely go back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,222 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,543 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoia Hotel Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoia Hotel Regency

Address: Via del Pilastro 2, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bologna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#6 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £65 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoia Hotel Regency 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SAVOIA HOTEL REGENCY, where classical and linear designproduces special effects in a refined and elegant environment. Every detail is devides to satisfy any demand: the real art of welcome!SAVOIA HOTEL REGENCY surrounded by a 2 hectares Park , with a swimming pool and a kids area, is located in a privileged area closed to the Exhibitions Center and represents a preference point for Business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoia Hotel Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Bologna
Regency Hotel Savoia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing