We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of casa ilaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
casa ilaria
Ranked #5 of 284 Bologna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

What a fabulous experience. Casa Ilaria is a beautiful B&B right in the heart of Bologna, a 5 minutes walk from the city center or the University of Gelato! Tiziana was a gracious and wonderful host and made me and my colleagues feel right at home. When I travel on business, I generally stay in 4 and 5 star hotels, but decided to book this location since 2 of my girlfriends had already purchased their rooms here. I will never stop recommending this place. The rooms are spacious and comfy, bathrooms modern, and there's always pastry cooking in the kitchen! I have never had a good, full night's sleep on my first night in a new country and this night was the best I slept the entire trip. I will have a difficult time staying anywhere else when I'm in Bologna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs, the double suites have their own private bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    45
    11
    0
    4
See reviews for
44
108
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Casa Ilaria for four nights and it was a great experience. Ilaria is a very nice hostess. She gave us a lot of useful tips on where to go and what to do in Bologna. The rooms are nice and clean and the breakfast is great. The house is situated in the middle of the student area of Bologna but we didn't have any problems with outside noises, so the location definitely is a huge plus!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Tiziana was an amazing hostess. She is accommodating and friendly, a tremendous help in telling us about what we could do during our stay in Bologna. Centrally located, clean rooms, quiet, homemade Jam from Sicily! It was a pleasure to stay at her B&B.

Room Tip: Check your email, Tiziana will ask for a confirmation on your arrival time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Casa Ilaria is located in a very nice university area near piazza Verdi. We booked with them based on Tripadvisor reviews, knowing that warm and helpful service is one of the things that make a trip special, and that often B&Bs offer more personalized service than hotels. Unfortunately, we were wrong.

The B&B itself is rather charming, nicely decorated and clean, with good wifi. We had a room with an outside bathroom, which was ok.

Ilaria herself was nowhere to be seen, and maybe our experience would have been different with her there. When I made the reservation via a booking site, I requested the private parking for our car and asked for a confirmation. When I saw nothing coming I thought it was a bad sign. It was. I would also have appreciated receiving directions about how to arrive, since driving is nearly impossible in Bologna, and there is only one street that can lead you to the hotel.

A very nice man working on his laptop in the dining room helped us to rent bikes for the next morning. We were quite surprised when we had to pay 50 euros for two bikes for 4 hours, which is higher than in any other European city; however, we were very glad that he helped us find this place, because otherwise it would have been impossible. (if you plan on exploring Bologna by bike, find a hotel that offers complimentary bikes. At 130 euros (cost of Casa Ilaria + bikes) you will have a much better hotel offering free bikes, e.g. Astoria, Porta San Mamolo or Art Hotel Novecento).

Breakfast was good, although it felt like eating in someone's office while they are working behind your back (it is an open space including a dining room, office and kitchen).

We were very surprised when we were told that check-out was at 10AM. We were hoping to bike in the city and come back at midday to take a shower and check out. This was not possible because "the next check in is at 2PM", and since we were already late, we checked out immediately and left unshowered. When we came back in the afternoon to get our luggage, we asked to use the bathroom and were told that the room was already given to the next guests and that there was no other bathroom we could use. Apparently the owner goes home everytime he has to pee.

Add this to the nonworking elevator and nonworking credit card machine (we had to give all of our small cash and coins and then had trouble to refuel our car since the self-service stations open on Sunday do not give change nor accept credit cards), the experience was not a bliss. Fortunately, Bologna is a wonderful and beautiful city that makes up for any inconvenience you may experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This guesthouse has an excellent location around 10minutes walk from piazza maggiore but was very quiet and spotlessly clean. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful, and breakfast was an excellent spread of bread, ham, cheese, yoghurts and homemade cakes. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
196 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Apart from the difficulty of finding the place - we were looking for a grand hotel entrance and we found a lovely simple Bolognese door plate - it is a superb, value for money, very friendly, brilliant location, comfortable B & B. We won't repeat all the nice things everyone else has said but we agree with them all! Being in the university district, there are pubs and restaurants galore. And the Opera House is 50 metres away too. Tiziana is the perfect hostess. Giving help and advice but in a non-intrusive way. Her home-made cakes should be banned - they are dangerously, wickedly gorgeous! Stairs are good exercise so you need to be a wee bit fit. We would unquestionably go back. PS if you go by car and tell her in advance, they have a brilliant, safe and secure little car park right at the back of the hotel.Thoroughly recommend the place for anyone wanting to be in the heart of the town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Where else in the middle of a vibrant, busy city can you open your bedroom windows onto trees and birdsong? It has to be Casa Ilaria right on the edge of the edgy university quarter in Bologna. The delightfully decorated bedroom was lofty and capacious - plenty of hanging and storage space for a week's luggage at least. Large ensuite shower room was also stocked with hair dryer. Convivial breakfast with delicious home bakes was a highlight - you even meet people from the place where you are born! Eggs were offered and coffee was in a blissfully large mug. Casa Ilaria is perfect in every way with perhaps one exception which may be important to some. When we arrived the lift up to the apartment was not working and had to be carried up wide stairs. Inside the apartment there is a further very narrow staircase up to some of the rooms and we were lucky that when we arrived Tiziana's kind husband and a friend took our cases up the stairs on their heads. However, descending with luggage on the very narrow stairs required two hands and was very unsafe. If you anticipate difficulties with your luggage maybe ask for a room on the lower floor (no stairs) or request help. Jacqueline www.needleprint.blogspot.com

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#12 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to casa ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about casa ilaria

Property: casa ilaria
Address: Largo Respighi 8, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 284 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who would like to enjoy a stay in Bologna taking in its special atmosphere, Casa Ilaria, with its elegance and quiet, is the place you're looking for.Casa Ilaria is located directly in the heart of the historic city, just a stone's throw away from the Two Towers, the world-renowned symbol of Bologna.Inside an ancient palace opposite the Opera House, Casa Ilaria is not only a peaceful place to stay but also an ideal location to discover the city and experience its nightlife. Virtually all of the city's sights can easily be reached on foot, with the railway station only a 10 minute walk away. The Marconi Airport can be reached by taxi or bus in just 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your casa ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing